We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good houseboat experience”
Review of Gowri Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gowri Residence
Ranked #133 of 217 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We only stayed one night in the main house which was fine. There was no hot water but they bought us a bucket of hot water in the morning on request. We organised our houseboat through them after speaking to another guest over breakfast, which was very easy and convenient. We made it clear that we would not hand over any money until we had seen the boat so one of the lads came with us (the rickshaw to the boat is included so dont pay him!) The boat cost 7000 INR which is alot of money but it was what we were expecting and we were very happy with the boat. The food was really good and there was plenty of it, the chef was very attentive. (take your own booze) The only downside was the chef following us all the way to the rickshaws demading a tip. Ok the food was good but we had just paid near on £100 for the boat and thought that that was plenty enough to cover everything. The boat stays to the main open areas and does not cover a great amount of ground but it was still a treat and a very relaxing pleasureable trip.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabrielle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 89 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2011

This was our cheapest night's stay during a 16 day self created tour of Kerala. It allowed us to see Alleypee and take a house boat the following day. The room was very basic with no hot shower facility and a noisy air con, not enough bedding either. That said it did provide us with air con and a basic room which on the outside looks nice. The food was very simple and average but you get what you pay for. For the price I can't really knock the place so if you are on a budget and need a decent location in Alleypee then take it on.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ross K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Stayed at the Gowri based on a review in our guide book and traveller word of mouth.
We found the rooms a bit depressing (we were in an aircon cottage in the garden) and very very basic. There were no real sheets on the bed...just some sheets covering the mattress. The main house and garden is lovely...they could do so much more with it.
Staff were generally ok (one guy..youngish with beard..was really nice; helpful and spoke good English)
The menu in the cafe was limited...especially for breakfast options.

We took the easy option and went with the Gowri's own houseboat cruise (a bit of a gamble) as time was tight and we didnt want to spend all our time in Alappuzha shopping around)
The boat was surpisingly nice - comfortable outside space and good bedroom ( with ensuite shower). The food was also good. One gripe is that we only spent about 4 hours cruising. An hour moving then we stopped for lunch for two hours (crew fell asleep) - then about 3 hours cruising before docking for the night.
In the morning it only took about 45mins for the boat to get back to Aluppuzha so obviously we hadn't gone very far and also the boat seemed to move a lot quicker when they wanted to get back to dock.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farmerdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Gowri. To start with, the staff were super-accommodating, absolutely nothing was too much trouble for them and the atmosphere was laid back and fun. The Gowri staff organised a lovely houseboat at a good price and allowed us to have a wonderful time on the backwaters - one of the highlights of our trip. The rooms were OK - nothing you'd write home about, but clean and air-con wasn't that much more expensive. The chai was also lovely. I highly recommend this place if you are happy to kick back with the locals and enjoy some Kerala hospitality.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D_elle_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

Here might be the best place to stay in allapuzah and gowri themselves know it very much. Food wasn't good, though juices are alright, we stayed 4 nights in tree house and took their boat as well. It was 5500 non a/c, we didnt go far at all and after lunch they fell asleep for nearly an hour we had to wake them up to move! Before going to bed, they asked if we want a bit of a/c to cool down and we said no since we don't like it but they went on anyway. Next morning it took less than hour to go back to the pier,it made us think how close we parked from the pier.when it came to pay they said that it was 6000 with a/c...we said we didnt want to use it and had to go through uncomfortable explanations about what happened. It was so expectable n cheeky thing n we didn't want to fall for it at all. We ended up paying 5500 but it ruined all good memory on the boat (good food, views etc) have a look around the boat first as they can do whatever they want to do and make sure how much it is n what's included. It was nice but not fantastic, they could do so much more with the money we paid.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank montajune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We stayed just one night in the treehouse which was small, basic but cheap and fun (no sheets were provided but mosquito repellent was). There was a toilet & shower and while there was running water, the showerhead didn’t work very well and we had to use buckets of water. The food was ok and we were warned that there would be a long wait before ordering. Sumesh organised a great houseboat trip for us at short notice and a taxi for our onward destination. This place is very popular and a good place for meeting people.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stinaandjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Gowri's residence is a nice backpackers resort where you will meet travellers from all over the world. The Balinese styled bungalows in the garden are good value. Food is good at the atmosphere is great. The big plus comes with their houseboat. This boat is very well maintained. Excellent value for money. The staff is very helpfull and they are very kind people. The food is on board is very good. Last year we've travelled to Kottayam and this year we wanted something else (up river). So I've called Gowri's in advance and made the booking. And we must say that the captain did his utmost to please us. We were so far upriver that we didn't meet any other houseboats. So, for a tailormade and very comfortable experience, we recommend Gowri's houseboat.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Palmfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
0 mi away
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort
0 mi away
Lake Palace Resort
Lake Palace Resort
#5 of 71 in Alappuzha
414 reviews
0 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#7 of 71 in Alappuzha
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#4 of 71 in Alappuzha
851 reviews
0 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 71 in Alappuzha
789 reviews
0 mi away
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gowri Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gowri Residence

Address: near Uduppi Sree Krishna Swami Temple | Thondankulangara, Avalookkunnu PO, Alappuzha 688006, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 217 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range: $53 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gowri Residence is one of the oldest heritage properties in Alleppey - the main house was constructed in 1947. Its strategic location makes it an ideal property for holidayers; the boat jetty, the railway station and the beach are all within 15 minutes from Gowri. The tranquil and green environs of Gowri make it an oasis of peace and heritage in the heart of Alleppey town. We have wooden cottages, a/c and non a/c rooms, dormitory and a treehouse room - a wide range to choose from. Whether you are a backpacker, honeymooning couple, family or a large group, we have all kinds of accommodation to suit your needs. Our restaurant serves delicious local dishes and can be made to order to your specific taste. Our staff is well trained and is always there 24/7 for you. Come to Gowri and experience true Kerala hospitality and soak in a bit of culture and heritage too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Gowri Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gowri Residence Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing