We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ocean Hotel
Ranked #3 of 325 Hotels in Yiwu
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2009

Great hotel, great service.

This hotel is more like a 5 star. It has clean nice rooms. Nicely decorated. Nice comfy beds. Awesome shower. All is clean.

Breakfast was superb. The western restaurant has a decent menu and you can eat well for a decent price. It is right in the center of the commodity market and close to everything.

Most staff knew how to speak english and overall great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddie213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    154
    58
    21
    11
See reviews for
5
4
12
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2008

We stayed at the Best Western in Yiwu for 3 nights. First of all: The value for money is perfect. We payed some USD 85 per night in the executive wing. The rooms were spacious and clean, with very good facilities and a good king size bed. The rate included free breakfast which was okay at best. The Western restaurant was not as good as I hoped it would be (considering the reviews here). I tried it twice but the food was tasteless and not at all up to par with my (delicate?) European taste.

The service in the hotel was OK, I don't recognize the horror stories here. Best of all of this hotel is it's closeness to the Small commodities markets.

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CoenDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2008

Hotel located just in front of the Futian markets buildings but not in the city center. Rooms are clean and confortable,fresh fish food chinese restaurant very good located second floor. Stayed at executive level, rooms with computer, internet.

  • Liked — Computer with internet at rooms executive floor
  • Disliked — Sauna area need renovation
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank elplata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2008

We went to Yiwu for a buying trip and this hotel is by far the best position for the markets. The rooms are more than adequate for the price. Our room was 2 Doubles, TV, Shower and Bath, Internet access. Breakfast is usually included in the price. The western restaurant is not bad. Have not eaten at the Chinese restaurant as we are always eating out. I have stayed here twice and will return this month for our 3rd trip. The only downfall is the communication with the staff can be difficult at time and have required someone to inteperate twice (but hey we're in China in essence we should be speaking Mandarin).

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Hairdryer both times didn't work
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dunedinite-in-oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, GA
Level Contributor
179 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2008

I hated to give this hotel a neutral rating. The service at this hotel, the front desk and hotel management, was so bad I wanted to rate it terrible. However, for Yiwu, you wont find a better hotel to appease most of you Western needs.

Rather than going into all of my problems with the staff, I just want to warn you that dealing with them is like spending time in the bad twilight zone. What is worse is complaining to the Best Western customer service, which appeared to be run by the Ocean front desk staff. Don't forget that as nice as this hotel appears to be in Yiwu compared to the other hotels, it is still a Best Western Hotel. To say service was awful is an understatement. When you are a Westerner in China, particularly for the first time, the service at a hotel makes all the difference in the world. Here it will drive you crazy!

My next complaint was also mentioned in another review of this hotel. The smoking here is so bad. This includes the lobby, the elevators (yes they will enter with a lit cigarette or cigar) the dining rooms and especially the executive lounge. However, the smoking problem is just part of being in China. Nevertheless, this is a hotel that bills itself as delivering Western standards. They must at least do something about the executive lounge and the elevators.

My next complaint is the pitiful executive lounge. My recommendation is to not waste your money going to the executive floor at this hotel. The service is pitiful for those of us who are English speaking Western customers. The lounge is worse than a smoke filled poker bar except they smoke the real strong smelling brands. I saw that it just takes one person to clear out the nonsmoking side of the lounge. They offer a few stale Chinese cookies and some fruit displayed on about 5 small plates on a table, nothing else. They give you one free hot tea or coffee once a day only when you present your ticket. They charge for soda (more than $2US a can) and everything else. It is neither relaxing nor a peaceful sanctuary to retire to from a busy day.

The only other benefit from the executive floors is one faucet delivering potable water in the room and I don't know what else. Maybe one piece of laundry a day, and a kit kat bar at night shoved at you through the door at "turn down" service. You get the pleasure of being high up so it takes 15 minutes to get up and down the elevators in the mornings and at night. 15 minutes on a potentially smoke filled elevator.

The air in the rooms has a mind of its own and it sets to a sleep mode on its own every night. This means either very hot or cold. Oh, and the bed is typical hard. You must request a top sheet and pray they understand. You have to request Ice and also pray they understand. We found it helps to say "Ice - a - cubas" to make it easier for them to understand.

They have an OK buffet breakfast manned by tough ticket takers who jump you as you exit the elevators to the restaurant. The breakfast becomes intolerable after the 2nd day. I'd say it is below average compared to many other Chinese hotels I have stayed at. Check to make sure it is included in your rate.

The positives are that the hotel is clean. The hotel is connected to Futian Market. The Western restaurant and the Chef are a god send. Between the Chef and the Waiter Danny, they are the only two English Speaking people in the hotel that understands some Western culture, and try to make you comfortable. The pastas at the restaurant are great. They have about 3 English channels on the TV. They provide a few bottles of water a day for free. The door guys are very nice. Internet was very good although they have no idea who their ISP is or POP server. Your room should have a computer. Suites have a computer and on the executive floor a fax machine.

This unfortunately is the best it gets in Yiwu. I have either visited or stayed at most of the other top hotels here. See if your agents have a special rate.

  • Liked — convenience and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Service and smoking.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Stompper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elberon, NJ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2007

This was my first trip to Yiwu and I cannot imagine that anyone would go to Yiwu other than to go to the Yiwu City Shopping Mecca. The BW is connected to the main facility.

The rooms are spacious and clean, and service were fine. Good internet connection. Nice bathrooms. The only knock I have for this hotel is the front desk staff. They seem to be very disorganized and if your checking in and someone walks up and asks a question they drop what they were doing with you and help them.

So after the 2nd time this happened, everytime someone interupted me, i counted to 10 then intereupted them and it worked great.

The buffet is nothing to write home about.

I will defintiley stay here again.

  • Liked — Rooms and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Front Desk & Buffet
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dagindi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2007

Just stayed in Yiwu this past weekend. We requested a late check-in confirmed with a credit card because we wanted to ensure non-smoking rooms (I know that's a joke in China but you can't blame a girl for trying...). Anyway, upon arrival we were told our rooms were given to someone else. To say we were unhappy is an understatement. But as in China: never become irate or crazy...you lose face and they will not help you....so very calmly we told them how disappointed and unhappy we were.. after much time had passed...we got upgraded to the suites. They were spacious and very nice. It was unfornate it took so much effort on our part to get a room (that we reserved earlier) but in the end they did right by us. (Jake, a manager came through for us, we appreciate greatly).

The hotel location is perfect. It is attached to the shopping complex between G&F, so you can return easily mid-day with your purchases. Enough English is spoken so you can get your needs met. When we stay in Yiwu, this is the hotel we will stay at. The hotel food was okay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Fighting to get a nonsmoking room
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzhouLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yiwu hotels
Yiwu Marriott Hotel
#1 of 325 in Yiwu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Binwang market
Yindu Hotel
Yindu Hotel
#5 of 325 in Yiwu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kingdom Hotel
#6 of 325 in Yiwu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Ramada Plaza Yiwu
#7 of 325 in Yiwu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ocean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ocean Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ocean Hotel
Address: No 99 Futian Road | Yiwu, Yiwu 322000, China
Location: China > Zhejiang > Yiwu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Yiwu
#7 Best Value Hotel in Yiwu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ocean Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ocean Hotel is a 4 star business hotel owned by the Zhejiang China Commodity City Group. The hotel was built as an integral part of The International Trade City phase II. Located in the commercial hub of Yiwu, the hotel is only 15 km from the local airport and a short drive from the central coach terminal and the train station. Hotel housed 285 rooms and suites .Hotel also housed 9 conference rooms, a gym and game rooms. There are 2 in house restaurants serving chinese and western cuisine, a lobby bar and an executive lounge. All areas are Wi-Fi enabled. All rooms and suites are furnished for maximum comfort and full convenience for the conduct of business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ocean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Yiwu
Best Western Hotel Yiwu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing