We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for views, not for sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Kep
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Stayed one night, after not being able to secure a booking in 1st choice hotel in Kep. Concerned about the management's defensive responses on TA about any shortcomings or guest concerns but still giving it a try. Can confirm: the food was ok, service was slow, the mattress and pillows were smelling of mould, spoiling sleep, as was the heat: fans don't blow air through a moquito net well. Credit card service charge is a cost for the vendor in exchange for secure payment and should not/must not be passed on to customers. Great views but that is not much comfort during the night.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PVD111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KEPBDM, Propriétaire at Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2012

STRANGE AND WEIRD REVIEW
Strange since we have had no guest staying one night this year.
Bizarre to come to an hotel after reading the negative reviews (a very small minority).
We strongly advise our future guests to read positive reviews to have an idea of our approach which appears beyond the standards of classic hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 390 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2012

My wife and I have been doing voluntary work for several weeks on the Tonle Sap Lake and decided to have a few days in Kep at the end of our trip. It turned out that we could not have made a better choice.

The rooms,, which are individual thatched huts, are scattered around a lovely and colourful garden on the side of a hill with lots of native trees and shrubs. Access is up a steep path to Reception and when the staff realised we had arrived they came rushing and smiling down the steps to carry our luggage to our room. This room was a quite simple wooden construction with considerable atmosphere and charm - no a/c but a fan is quite enough, and a good mosquito net. You can sleep as we did with the windows open although it is perfectly comfortable with them closed as they are slatted. The en suite is simple with a hot water shower in an attractive stone lined area and a cold wash basin tap,
At the time of our stay some new building was going on but this was not remotely intrusive and will be of similar style - and we got a reduced price on booking as a result, an extra bonus.
We had a very good meal with good wine and a lovely chat in French to the owner the first night in the high up restaurant and bar looking out to sea - a perfect place for a drink at sundown as well.
Everyone without exception was charming helpful and involved. We will certainly go back as we visit Cambodia regularly. Do not go for 5* luxury, go for the atmosphere, peace, environment and the lovely people who work there.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mairangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

A bit late in this review. A wonderful place, quiet and pleasant. Rooms open to a terrace, made in wood, traditional style, overlooking the bay in the distance. (Clean) Shower and toilet (no bathtub) adjoining the bedroom. Very nice furnishings. I understand some of the bungalows may be renovated (always local style) in the coming months.
Outstanding cuisine (a bit slow to get to the table but well worth the wait) due to the owner's passion about cooking. The staff is all local, being trained by the owner. Very nice staff.
Many of the bungalows require climbing a steep step of wood stairs so if you cannot go up stairs, make sure you ask for a room with easy access.
6 mn tuk tuk ride to the beach. Suggest to take a boat (20$ RT) to Rabbit Island for a wonderful tropical experience (white sand beach, coconut trees, clear water, restaurants on the beach).
The little plus: I forgot my medicine bag and the owner sent it to me to Phnom Penh a few days later.
Overall a very nice place to go.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charles v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KEPBDM, Propriétaire at Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

Dear Charles V,
Thank you for your comments.
The 2 old bungalows have been demolished.
All our houses will be in the same style from next month : traditional Khmer houses on stilts with modern comfort.
None of our courses is prepared before you order : imagine you are at home, will you say to your wife that it is a long time to get it ?
See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

This place is a wonderful spot - nested in a lovely tropical garden overlooking the Bay of Thailand - at the very entrance of the Kep National Park (you get direct access to by simply walking out of the guesthouse).

The staff is very caring and the food is just one of the freshest and most delicious I had in South Asia (If you don't sleep there, make sure you have at least one lunch/dinner there during your stay in Kep - especially if you long for a quiet and cosy atmosphere).

Most private bungalows are nicely furnished and possess an outdoor private saloon overlooking the Gulf of Thailand - where you can take breakfasts and meals if you want more privacy (although I recommend to eat in the restaurant which has the best view of the Gulf of Thailand). I went there twice and cannot wait to go back again - most likely next year.

Room Tip: If possible, get the bungalows located at the highest point. That will guarantee you with a better v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank franckn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We had been travelling and sightseeing for nearly six weeks and we booked this hotel because we thought it would be the perfect place to relax in and to have a break from sight seeing. It was just that - perfect. We were in Holy and although there was no A/C this did not bother us at all. Nor did the absence of WiFi. The food was superb and I suspect cheaper could have been found elsewhere, but better? I doubt it. We used the pool at the at the hotel next door which was excellent. I noticed the have been complaints about climbing the hill to reception, but we found it no problem and we are in our 70's. We did lose power one evening but they managed to fix it and again it caused us no problems.
One slight idiosyncracy, we had arranged to be met at the bus station, and we were- by 2 motor bikes! I took 3 bags and the other 1 bag and my wife and I riding pillion. The first time we have been on a motor bike in our lives!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank milesHoiAn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KEPBDM, Propriétaire at Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review.
Just one thing : we do not have wifi because it doesn't work very well in Kep.
We have better : 3 G USB to be asked at the reception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

I stayed here with a couple of friends over the New Year, and had a great stay. The accommodating was stunning -- amazing views, the furnishings in keeping with the surroundings and all kept very clean. The staff were friendly. The breakfasts were very generous. Set in the hills overlooking Kep, it's really the environment in which these bungalows are tucked away, that makes this the place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We stayed here during the Christmas period and had a lovely time.

We had the Lola bungalow and a friend had one of the villas a little further down the hill. You could really see where the extra $15 goes with the villa - solid floorboards, fridge, beautiful bathroom, great bed and larger bedroom.The Lola was slightly more rustic but still lovely. It also had a larger balcony area with lots of seating space. The hammocks were also a big plus for us.

I would like to mention at this point, that we would definitely like to stay here again. The accommodation and peaceful surroundings really made our Christmas special. Having traveled throughout South East Asia for many months, we feel that we can justify our following comments.

Kep itself is famous for its seafood, and very tasty it is too. The food at Le Bout du Monde was good, BUT, in the context of Cambodian gastronomy, you can eat just as well or better elsewhere for much less money (there are a couple of places in town with justified reviews on Trip Advisor).

Whilst I am sure the owners will vigorously respond to this charge, I would suggest that they perhaps listen to remarks made by others, rather than providing what read like rather rude defensive comments. These strong responses only heightened our critiquing of the restaurant and our stay at this place.

Again, overall, we would highly recommend this place to others. Just don't criticize anything!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sota8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KEPBDM, Propriétaire at Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2012

Thank you for your review.
"I respond vigorously" to reviews that seem to me not true, unfair or even doubtful.
It is not the case with yours.
You are fully right to chose the restaurants that fit.
We treat our guests in the same way if they eat in our restaurant or not.
We are pleased you have appreciated your stay with us and you will be welcome next time.
Happy new year to you and your friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kep hotels
0.5 mi away
Knai Bang Chatt
Knai Bang Chatt
#1 of 18 in Kep
560 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tara Lodge
Tara Lodge
#5 of 18 in Kep
147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Raingsey Bungalow
Raingsey Bungalow
#4 of 18 in Kep
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Flamboyant Resort
0.1 mi away
Vanna Hill Resort
Vanna Hill Resort
#9 of 18 in Kep
209 reviews
0.4 mi away
Spring Valley Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge

Address: Preah Thom, Kep 10000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kep
#3 Family Hotel in Kep
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kep
Price Range: $29 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel-Restaurant at the top of the hill near Kep National park.Traditional Khmer wooden houses with modern confort.Botanical gardensKhmer and french inspired cuisine with view over the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bout Du Monde Hotel Kep

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing