We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The highlight of my trip to Cambodia”
Review of Kep Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kep Lodge
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Kep
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The highlight of my trip to Cambodia”
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Stayed at Kep Lodge 3 times in the last two months and each time was better than the last. The bungalows are spacious, very comfortable and exceptionally clean. The food was well above standard for Cambodia, very fresh and tasty (I highly recommend the shepherds pie). Great cocktails served by the very professional and smiley staff. The view from the pool, especially at sunset is absolutely beautiful. The general atmosphere is very relaxed and incredibly friendly. I met so many lovely people here that it was difficult to leave. Dan and his wife Cheang really went out of their way to make sure I had a fantastic stay. Definitely the highlight of my trip to Cambodia.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prunesqualler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    129
    51
    31
    33
See reviews for
91
194
64
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

Beautiful setting on top of hill overlooking the bay and mountains. From the infinity pool you can have a drink while watching the sunset which is amazing. The service is very good and the food just great. Don't visit during the wedding season though as the over-amplified music from the wedding venues carries up the hill towards the guest house and will keep you awake all night.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cowboyoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Kep Lodge Feb. 14 -19 2010, as part of a recently concluded two month trip through Cambodia and Vietnam. We loved the staff, food, swimming pool, ambiance of the Banana Bungalow, and the good natured character of the Lodge. The open air bar and restaurant pavillion, complete with pool table, is a great gathering spot on an evening, and a fine place to meet people. Best food in Cambodia, and the staff, particularly a young woman named Chanon(?) could not have been kinder or better. One young man even accomplished an emergency "frog extraction" from our toilet late one night. Favorite activities were early morning walks to the Crab market, accompanied by one of the resident dogs who also slept on our bungalow's front porch; a day at Rabbit Island; and dinner at Breezes Restaurant (free tuk tuk ride provided). Kep is hot, however, so the absence of air conditioning might be a problem for some. All in all, great, relaxing days at Kep Lodge.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2010

Just returned from Cambodia and a wonderful stay at the Kep Lodge. Had only planned to stay for 3 nights and then on to Sihanoukville, but after hearing more about S'ville that made it sound less and less desireable, we extended our Kep Lodge booking by 2 more nights. So glad that we did. As sleepy a town as Kep is, we found plenty to do during our 5 night stay. Rented a motorbike from the lodge a couple of days, which was a really fun way to see the countryside, the pepper plantation and made our way to the "Secret Beach." Spent a lovely day on Rabbit Island. Motored over to Kampot for an afternoon. Went to the crab market for dinner a few times. And just really, really relaxed.

We stayed in the Jackfruit bungalow. The beds were quite comfortable and covered with mosquito nets. There was no ac in the room, only two fans, and it did feel a bit warm at times. That being said, I probably slept the best there of all of the hotels on this trip so must not have been too hot. The bathroom could use a fan as it gets a bit steamy, but this is a minor complaint. The porch with a view to the sea was a lovely place to relax, as was the gorgeous pool area.

The restaurant was quite good. A bit pricey by Cambodia standards, though. One of the best parts of the stay was that the set up of the bar/restaurant area along with the lodge's small, intimate size, was really conducive to meeting the other guests. We met some really fun people that we had dinner and drinks with a few of the nights. Also, the staff were so attentive and warm. We really enjoyed talking with and getting to know the people who worked there.

All in all, a great stay at the Kep Lodge. Would love to go back someday.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shannon513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2010

We had a wonderful 3 nights at Kep Lodge, and wished we could have stayed longer. Our bungalow was comfy and spacious, the staff was very attentive, and the pool was warm and had the perfect view of the sunset every evening. The food at the restaurant is a little expensive but pretty good, and the happy hour drinks are great. The only potential negative is that the Lodge isn't walking distance from anything else in Kep, but we rented a motorbike from them for cheap (note: they only have manual) and really enjoyed driving aimlessly around the countryside surrounding Kep and Kampot. A great stay, and we hope to be back someday.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTWTripper09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2010

Kep Lodge is in Kep, once a playground of the rich before the dark days of Cambodia. Kep is now coming back to life among the ruins of burnt out villas from another era. Kep Lodge provides bungalows with a pair of queen beds and private bathroom facilities. The rooms are not air conditioned but you do not need them with ceilling fans and sleeping comfortably within your mosquito net. Each bungalow has a verandah with a couch and hammock where you can laze over looking a gorgeous sunset. It has a great bar with very cheap drinks and good food. The bar over looks the beautiful pool which cascades towards the sea. Great at sunset. Staff at brilliant and very friendly, we spent a couple of nights drinking and playing pool in the bar with the staff. Drinks and food are very cheap and they make a great cocktail. Try their Mojito or their own concotion the Kep Lodge special.

Kep itself is a sleepy little place, vert quiet and safe. The crab market is a 10 minute walk from the Lodge and you will get wonderful fresh crab, prawns and fish. The crabs are in pots just below the rest. Fantastic and very romantic to sit eating crab and watching spectacular sunsets. Cannot remember the best one we went to but it was the one recommended by the lodge.

The pepper fields are a good trip and interesting. We brought bags of fantastic Kappot pepper which was no problem bringing back into Australia. The owner spoke no English but our Tuk Tuk driver acted as guide and showed us round the pepper plantation, the fruit trees. The owner showed us his power plant! Electicity and cooking on methane generated from cow pooh out the back. He also runs a stil and makes rice wine. HJe will show you the opertaion if you ask.

Also worth a trip is rabbit island. Tuk Tuk drivers will organise a day trip for $7US a day. beautiful island with white snad and palm trips. You can eat crab and prawns right on the beach. You can walk around the island in 2 hours but there is not a lot to see as all the other beaches are set up for fishing and you cannot swim. You can get a great massage on the beach for $7US. In the shae right next to the lapping waves.

Kep and Kep lodge both delightful places, and none of the disgusting sleeze of Shinoukville.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murrpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2010

I arrived at Kep having spent the previous evening at Malibu Bungalow as recommended by Dan (Kep Lodge was full the previous evening). Dan did promise to give me a small gift for following his recommendation to stay at Malibu the previous evening but no such gift ever materialised. Not a big deal but slightly disappointing.

The staff are approachable but I must admit to finding them a little slow and mildly unreliable. I do hear Dan's comments that this is not Europe but having spent two months this winter in the area I do feel qualified to say that there needs to be a little more accuracy applied by the staff.

The grounds are undoubtedly gorgeous and the swimming pool has a view to die for.

But still - could just be a little better for the price. I would recommend Kep Lodge but with very slight hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChilledVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keplodge, Owner at Kep Lodge, responded to this review, February 9, 2010
Hello ChilledVagabond

Thank you for your review here on TA. I am surprised that you didn't get the small gift from the Malibu - maybe they must have forgotten it. I spoke to them today so it shouldn't happen again.

I am sorry to hear that you had some issues with our staff and I would like to apologize for it. As you mention it is not Europe, but you are right when you say that with the price you pay you should get a better service.

Rest assured that I will look into that and start another training of my staff tomorrow so the staff will be more attentive and provide a faster service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kep hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge
0.1 mi away
Tara Lodge
Tara Lodge
#4 of 18 in Kep
146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Raingsey Bungalow
Raingsey Bungalow
#5 of 18 in Kep
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Knai Bang Chatt
Knai Bang Chatt
#1 of 18 in Kep
554 reviews
1.4 mi away
Palm House Boutique Resort
0.4 mi away
Vanna Hill Resort
Vanna Hill Resort
#8 of 18 in Kep
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kep Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kep Lodge

Property: Kep Lodge
Address: Pepper Street 1, Kep 8888, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Kep
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kep Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kep Lodge will make your holidays as relaxed as possible. Our salt water infinity pool with a stunning view over the ocean, our well stocked lounge-bar, the pool table, the delicious food with some Swiss specialties, the private bungalows with hot water, minibar, kettle, private balcony, the lush green, well maintained garden, the nice and welcoming staff - all these things will make you never want to leave again. A warm welcome to you! Our brand new stylish Deluxe Bungalows with air con and fan, safe, TV/DVD with small sound system, tea/coffee maker, minibar, mp3 player, king size spring mattresses and a 15m2 balcony with sofa corner, hammock and one of the best views in Kep down to the Gulf of Thailand. Our newest edition is the extension of the restaurant with an additional floor, which gives you the fantastic sea-view everybody is writing home about, which can also used as a lounge or meeting room for small to medium conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kep Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kep Hotel Kep

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing