We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection in Kep”
Review of Kep Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kep Lodge
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Kep
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Kep Lodge is an adorable place to stay and relax in Kep. The owner, Dan from Switzerland and his charming khmer wife Cheang, do their best to feel you like home. They always provide you with all the necessary information for tours and travels, etc..The lodge is located on the hills, with a great view on the sea, especially from the pool (with has an extra corner for kids). Food is delicious, you can enjoy khmer dishes as well as European and Swiss specialities (like “rötschi” made out fried potatoes. If you are still hungry, there are plenty of good restaurants in town (like the Brezzes, Brise de Kep or others at the Crab Market). Kep Lodge has also free Internet facilities for guest and available to a reasonable rate for visitors.
The bungalows have warm water and are named according to fruit exotic fruits. They are clean and well-maintaines. The staff is helpful, you can rent motorbikes and pushbikes are available for free. You can also spend the day on Rabbit Island, just 20 minutes away from the coast. For those more adventurous, you can also cross the border to Viet Nam in Han Tien.
I would highly recommend Kep Lodge.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zh_kep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (467)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 467 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2009

Kep IS a sleepy little town and what better place to stay than up a track leading to the forest and overlooking the sea. Kep Lodge is a hotel with a personal touch, only a handful of bungalows and a wonderful pool. We stayed there for two nights, slept in, walked to 'town', enjoyed sunsets by the edge of the pool and at night enjoyed some good food and cocktails (including the potent Chi-Chi). The restaraunt/common area is friendly and relaxed and unlike similar areas in other hotels, encourages you to hang out - maybe play some pool or have yet another cocktail!!

Kep Lodge, the creation of Swiss owner, Dan is a labour of love and you can tell this when meeting him. He speaks enthusiastically about Cambodia, Kep and of course his hotel. The staff do a great job and everything is clean and functional. And no, there is no airconditioning, TV or designer art, the lodge makes up for this with its welcoming athmosphere which makes you want to come back again and again after a day wandering around or travelling to Rabbit island.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreqFlyerAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

No doubt Kep Lodge is in a great location and first impressions were everything we expected in so much as we immediatly extended our stay by one night on arrival. We never met the owners we were there for 6 nights so can not comment on their hospitality. The food was below standard in comparison to other restaurants we tried in the area. We had to ask for clean towels, our hot water was only luke warm and at one stage ran out. Advice on booking a tour to nearby Rabbit Island was inadequate and caused us embarrasment when we arrived without enough money, and also when we arranged for transport to Kampot throught the lodge we felt we were ripped off when only one motordop arrived and dropped us off at Kep Beach, leaving us to renegotiate another form of transport. The staff were friendly but lacked sufficient communication skills. After staying for several days I thought the staff should know which bungalow we were in, they didn't, mind you there were only four bungalows and the Lodge was never fully occupied the entire time we were there. The week we were there including the weekend, work was being done near the pool at the amenities block, so throughout the day the peace was broken with their constant chipping away. We realise that there probably is never a good time for such duties, but it did detract from our stay. We have travelled extensively throughout Asia and have stayed in many guesthouses granted Kep Lodge has a prime location, great pool and ambient restaurant, but did surely lack in other areas.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueCque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keplodge, Owner at Kep Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2009

First of all I would like to thank you that you took your time and wrote a review about our place. It is only like this we can learn and make our place better and better so that all our guests are 100% satisfied.

We are very sorry that your stay was so disappointing, but some explanation might help to ease your pain. Please let me address the different points you mentioned.

Since we try to conserve as much energy as possible we only change the towels when they are on the floor, otherwise, we presume that the guest reuse the towels. This is all over the world the same (and during my extensive travels I never encountered it differently), and since you are a long time traveler, it is funny that you don't know about this!
The hot water is produced from a gas heater, and it is regulated to give luke warm water, which is normally enough given the fact that the outside temperature in Cambodia is 30 and above. In 2 years of operation we never ever had one guest complaining that the water was not warm enough. Normally it is not cold enough ;-). But again, you could have asked our staff and they could have easily fixed it. Also that the hot water was running out, that was possibly because the gas tank was empty and need to be replaced. Nothing we can do about this.

You mentioned problems about money on the island. I don't know why you blame us, if you don't bring enough money along to Rabbit island. Maybe a miscommunication again?
I was wondering what could have been so expensive on the island that you ran out of money? Lunch is never more than 7 $ and even if you drink for the whole day - which I doubt - your bill is never more than 20 to 30$ and this amount of money is normally handy. But if you had not enough money to pay for the trip (normally 7$ per person) this can also be paid in the evening, when returning to the lodge.

The same for your trip to Kampot, which ended at the beach of Kep, it must have been a miscommunication. Normally that works totally fine - a lot of our guests visit Kampot during their stay.

I am well aware of the fact that my staff does not speak perfectly English, but if you speak slowly and don't use complicated words, they understand everybody and everybody understands them. Don't forget we are in a developing country and therefore people don't speak as well English as in Thailand, where the tourism industry is well established.

It is hard for me to believe that my staff didn't know your bungalow name. They are very good in remembering where the guests are staying in (not like me), so I don't know why this didn't work for you.

About the work around the pool. There are some renovations which have to be done, so May is off season with little guests, not so much rain, so a perfect time to do some work. I am very sorry that you felt disturbed by this, but we always try our best to keep the noise down. For example we only start to work at 9am or 9.30am and not at 7am like so other places. The sleep of our guests is holy.

If this noise disturbed you so much, I am asking myself why you didn't change guest house? It is always possible to change a reservation at no costs and especially when we have renovation work going on. Again if you would have asked our staff they would have helped you in finding another accommodation without noise.

One last thing about our food, that is something which I hear for the first time! All and I mean ALL our guests are very, very happy and totally satisfied with our food, so I don't know what went wrong there. Our kitchen caters mainly western dishes; great seafood can be found at the Crab Market.

Please don't forget the Kep Lodge is a guest house in the mid range price category and not a 5 star Resort. Therefore small mistakes can happen and that normally doesn't bother our guests at all.

If you expect everything to be perfect than you might consider staying at the beautiful 5 star resort Kani Bang Chatt starting from 160$.

I hope these explanations help you to forget this disappointing stay and that next time you are in Cambodia you will find a hotel or guest house which will make you and your travel partner 100% happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2009

I stayed at Kep Lodge for 8 nights, firstly with a friend, then alone for a further three nights. The location is wonderful, set amongst the trees overlooking the sea. The pool area is lovely, and there are free pushbikes, or small motorbikes for hire to be able to explore the local area. The huts are lovely, perfectly clean and cool with good fans, with great atmosphere. The real highlight are the people running Kep Lodge, both the owners and the staff. It is really sociable and they are friendly, welcoming and informative. The food is excellent, both the Khmer and western dishes. The Swiss Rosti's are yummy too!
All in all I would highly reccommend spending a few days relaxing at Kep Lodge, it was a highlight of my 3 week holiday in Cambodia.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Radders01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2009

We stayed in Kep Lodge for four nights and in fact my friend extended her stay as we loved it so much. The owners are so friendly, Dan, a Swiss guy and his Cambodian wife are so welcoming, the food was wonderful and we stayed in a beautiful little bungalow. There are stunning views of the sea and it is also a sociable place and ideal if you are you are either a solo traveller or with friends/partner. The place is a little gem. The Kep Lodge special cocktail must also be sampled!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bailey1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2009

We didn't stay at the Kep Lodge because is was fully booked, but we ate there many times during our trip to Kep. What la ovely atmospheric place to be - good food, comfortable restaurant, nice people and a warm friendly atmosphere.

They even have friendly dogs that walk you home at night. It is the life and soul of Kep.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Thank Nad_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2009

This place with its fabulous location and neat bungalows was just perfect. I loved the pool area and bar/ restaurant with cool music and very attentive staff . Owner Dan and his Khmer wife are the prefect hosts. The food was excellent and internet useful I just loved staying there.
Kep lodge is a very sociable place; with the the nice bar and hosts. The lack of in room TV was not a problem as Khmer TV is not worth watching anyway. The breezy location means that AC is hardly needed.

The only downside is that Kep is so popular with expats from Phnom Penh that advance booking at Kep Lodge is necessary; especially at weekends and holidays. I had to move on another hotel after a single night but went back most evenings for the atmosphere and food.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peaceofangkor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kep hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge
1.3 mi away
Malibu Estates Bungalows Resort
0.4 mi away
Vanna Hill Resort
Vanna Hill Resort
#9 of 18 in Kep
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tara Lodge
Tara Lodge
#4 of 18 in Kep
172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Raingsey Bungalow
Raingsey Bungalow
#5 of 18 in Kep
362 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Fortress Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kep Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kep Lodge

Address: Pepper Street 1, Kep 8888, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Kep
Price Range: $28 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kep Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kep Lodge will make your holidays as relaxed as possible. Our salt water infinity pool with a stunning view over the ocean, our well stocked lounge-bar, the pool table, the delicious food with some Swiss specialties, the private bungalows with hot water, minibar, kettle, private balcony, the lush green, well maintained garden, the nice and welcoming staff - all these things will make you never want to leave again. A warm welcome to you! Our brand new stylish Deluxe Bungalows with air con and fan, safe, TV/DVD with small sound system, tea/coffee maker, minibar, mp3 player, king size spring mattresses and a 15m2 balcony with sofa corner, hammock and one of the best views in Kep down to the Gulf of Thailand. Our newest edition is the extension of the restaurant with an additional floor, which gives you the fantastic sea-view everybody is writing home about, which can also used as a lounge or meeting room for small to medium conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kep Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kep Hotel Kep

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing