We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bags of character”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kep Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kep Lodge
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Kep
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Bags of character”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2009

Where else can you get a first-class rosti in Cambodia? OK, that may not be the main reason for recommending Kep Lodge but it helps to illustrate the character of the place. Dan (the Swiss owner) likes rosti, so rosti is on the menu, and it's perfect - and the Khmer food's pretty good as well.

On the boat trip to Rabbit Island we met several Brits staying at other, rather better-known, hotels in Kep. "Ah", they said wistfully, "Kep Lodge ... the place with the new pool", and a very lovely new pool it is too.

We loved Kep Lodge: the slightly basic (but good value) rooms, the open-air bar/restaurant, the pool, the friendly and enthusiastic staff (although not all of them speak much English), the free internet access, the wonderful owners. This is not 5-star accommodation, but it is 5-star character, service, and atmosphere.

  • Liked — Laid-back atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AandSKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    129
    51
    31
    29
See reviews for
89
192
64
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2009

This was such an excellent place to getaway after a week in Sihanoukville. Kep Lodge has great little bungalows which all have ocean views from the porch and other excellent scenery all around. Inside is everything you'd want for the area - it has comfortable beds, fridge, hot showers and comfortable verandas. this place helps you enjoy nature instead of sitting around inside watching tv (do that at home). This place had such a great feel to just chill out on your own porch or hang out at the bungalow restaurant with all the other guests and staff. I found all the staff excellent to deal with and very friendly. The food was terrific - even the western food which the owner would check on to make sure his staff prepared it properly (they always did). The pool was terrific for relaxing. The only problem was how busy they get with bookings. I didn't book enough nights and they fill up right away. Even then the owner found another hotel for me to stay at. I continued to come back every night for drinks and dinner because the atmosphere was the best I've experienced in Cambodia so far. If i come back to Cambodia I will be back!

  • Liked — The excellent atmosphere
  • Disliked — No mini store (only relevent because town lacks supplies)
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travellinman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
418 reviews
204 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2009

The pool, the sunset, the food (excellent) and the internet (wifi) make this place the best there is in Kep. We were at the Veranda but the construction at the hotel drove us away. The Kep Lodge kitchen puts out an excellent whole fish with veg. and their Brownie/fruit plate is addictive. The bungalows were very clean and the new pool was just what this tired, hot traveler needed. On the downside was the room (Banana) next to the bar. The noise went on past midnight and the owner has three friendly dogs that can go on a late night barking rampage. Other than that I would have no hesitation returning. Thumbs up. Do make reservations in advance. Dan (Swiss) will get back to you via email.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fdoamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keplodge, Owner at Kep Lodge, responded to this review, February 13, 2009
We know about the issue of the Banana Bungalow and we will soon make improvements that you won't hear any noise from the restaurant anymore.
As far as our dogs are concerned, they are normally quiet at night unless they hear something strange. The dogs you probably heard were from our neighbor next door and there is nothing we can do about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2009

As the owner of this guesthouse correctly suggested to me, writing about your good experiences is as important as writing about your bad ones. So, I have finally got around to writing my very positive review of Kep Lodge.
While we were only there for one night, our group of four had a great stay in September 2008. The rooms are fairly basic, but are clean, with traditional-style furniture and balconies with a great view.
I didn't eat at the Lodge, but one of our party did and spoke highly of the food. After a meal at the crab markets in Kep (at the particuar restaurant recommended by the lodge's owner) we came back to the Lodge for late drinks and badly-played pool in the bar. Lots of fun, and the staff are very friendly and accommodating. I would recommend to anybody looking for comfortable, welcoming, budge accommodation in Kep. The pool is great too!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lionhearted70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2008

Kep Lodge was a real oasis of calm with ocean views, delicious food, a stunning small pool and a pool table thrown in. The rooms are comfortable and clean with a great balcony complete with hammock and sofa to relax on. It was a real treat to stay here but be sure to book.. word is getting out!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kampucheaIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2008

When we pulled up the lane to Kep Lodge, my wife and I knew we found the perfect match for us. The property has one of the most amazing views of any place we have stayed. It definitely rivals that of properties along the caldera in Santorini, Greece. From there, everything continued to be wonderful. Our bike ride to the crab market and back, our relaxing in the pool, the jungle trek the next morning, the dinner served that night family style, and of course the welcomg feel from Dan, Cheang, and the rest of the Kep Lodge family. If you like nature, I can't imagine a superior location. We cannot wait to return.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — A little confusion at check out
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank depmode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2008

Definitely for fans of nature and exotic without pretence of comfort. The hotel consists of several different bungalows and a restaurant under a mango tree – all this looks great. From the restaurant and bungalow you can see the ocean, behind the hotel – the mountains. It’s very green and beautiful there. But at the same time you should be ready that there will be no a/c in the room, only fan, no TV (it’s a principle of the hotel-owner). Mosquito net hangs over a bed. During our stay there once we found a frog in the bathroom, different kinds of insects like grasshopper, so you should be ready to share your room with members of exotic fauna)). In a word, a bungalow is furnished very simple. The owner of this hotel is a very interesting man, a Swiss who has been living in Cambodia for long time, and this “Europeanness” displays in the approach to the managing. Restaurant’s menu consists of European and Khmer dishes, so you have choice, and is very good. Especially mango shake is made there perfectly. The only one thing that spoils the overall impression of the restaurant is the stuff. They are very friendly and they try their best, but it’s very difficult to explain them what you need, they often don’t understand what you mean. But maybe it isn’t so now, because when we were there, it was told that they were just studying, because they had been employed recently. As for hotel location: it is located at a distance from the street for cars and buses, and is connected with it with a narrow stony way leading uphill, so if you arrives with heavy baggage better take a tuk tuk.
So, if you want to be close to the nature – the hotel is a good choice in Kep.

  • Liked — view, food
  • Disliked — last of AC&TV
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank annschovis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keplodge, owner at Kep Lodge, responded to this review, February 13, 2009
Sorry to hear that you had problems ordering your food, but now the staff studied hard and they all speak good English and can deal with your requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kep hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge
0.9 mi away
Spring Valley Resort
0.5 mi away
Knai Bang Chatt
Knai Bang Chatt
#1 of 17 in Kep
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tara Lodge
Tara Lodge
#4 of 17 in Kep
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.3 mi away
Malibu Estates Bungalows Resort
0.4 mi away
Raingsey Bungalow
Raingsey Bungalow
#5 of 17 in Kep
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kep Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kep Lodge

Property: Kep Lodge
Address: Pepper Street 1, Kep 8888, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kep
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kep Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kep Lodge will make your holidays as relaxed as possible. Our salt water infinity pool with a stunning view over the ocean, our well stocked lounge-bar, the pool table, the delicious food with some Swiss specialties, the private bungalows with hot water, minibar, kettle, private balcony, the lush green, well maintained garden, the nice and welcoming staff - all these things will make you never want to leave again. A warm welcome to you! Our brand new stylish Deluxe Bungalows with air con and fan, safe, TV/DVD with small sound system, tea/coffee maker, minibar, mp3 player, king size spring mattresses and a 15m2 balcony with sofa corner, hammock and one of the best views in Kep down to the Gulf of Thailand. Our newest edition is the extension of the restaurant with an additional floor, which gives you the fantastic sea-view everybody is writing home about, which can also used as a lounge or meeting room for small to medium conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kep Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kep Hotel Kep

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing