We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unfriendly owner.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kep Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Kep Lodge
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Kep
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Unfriendly owner.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

The female owner was terrible, arrogant and impolite so we choose to find another place after 3 days. The rest of the staff were however very friendly, but could not make it up for the unfriendly owner. Peter, Denmark

Room Tip: The female owner was terrible, arrogant and impolite so we choose to find another place after 3 days...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keplodge, Owner at Kep Lodge, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Peter,

Thank you for your review and I am terribly sorry that my wife was so unfriendly to you! As I mentioned to other guests before my wife has a difficult phase at the moment and that is the reason why she isn't friendly towards our guests. Please accept my sincere apologies!

I will have a serious talk with her about how to treat our customers (which I did already a few weeks ago..) and will make sure that she understands it better this time.
I am totally aware that our guests are Kings and supposed to be treated like this and I am glad that you liked my staff.

Again, I am terribly sorry that the behaviour of my wife disturbed your holidays but hope that you still enjoyed the rest of your trip in Cambodia.

Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    129
    51
    31
    29
See reviews for
89
192
64
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Akbuk, Turkey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Beautiful grounds and nice relaxed atmosphere. The pool area is fabulous and just perfect to spend a relaxing few days lazing by the pool, cooling down with a swim every now and then. We had left a jacket in our bungalow when we left and the owner arranged to have it delivered the next day to our hotel in Kampot. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DavyM56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Our second stay at the lodge was as good as the first, this time booking the complete villa which was great fun. The pool area is great to chill out and felt relaxed at just staying put. Keep up the good work Pakaday and thanks agin to Dan and the team. See u in December we will be back again

Room Tip: Get the rambutan villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yum2man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

I wanted a relaxing break before a work engagement and treated myself to the Lychee bungalow. Lovely view, large veranda where you can hang out and read even if it's raining. The room is comfortable and offers a TV, fan, A/C, DVD player. The pool area is lovely. You can easily spend an entire day or two at the lodge and not get bored or claustrophobic. The food is good. The staff are friendly. It's worth taking a trip to town for sundowners at the Sailing Club and crab in one of the restaurants on stilts. Only downside: for one night there was a large group of young guest who spent many hours talking and laughing loudly into the night by the pool

Room Tip: It's worth choosing a room with a view and a veranda
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
165 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

We had a very pleasant stay at Kep Lodge in this great town. Tried to take advantage of the nice add-ons: salt water pool, good happy hour drinks, recommendations from staff. Room was large, clean, comfortable. All of the staff we encountered were cheery, kind and seemed happy to be there.

The one downside was no hot water for our 3 day stay. Not uncommon in our Cambodia travels, but for the price point did expect hot water here. Each time we mentioned to the staff the apologized but there was no resolution. Not a big deal for us, but something to be aware of. Overall very recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Talia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keplodge, Owner at Kep Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Talia R,

Thank you for your review and we are glad to hear that you had a very pleasant stay at our resort.

I don't know why it happened that you were without hot water during the two nights you stayed with us since I gave clear instructions to my cleaning staff to check the hot water every day (with the low quality batteries in Cambodia, it happens quite often that they are empty) and my front desk staff are taking these complains very seriously.
I am really sorry about this and we will try our best that this won't happen again.

Thank you for staying with us and we do hope to welcome you again during your next trip to Cambodia.

Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
149 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Drove down for a long weekend from Phnom Penh. The setting is ideal; beautiful pool overlooking the ocean, foliage surrounds the entire property, it is nestled on the side of Kep mountain. The dining area is equally scenic. The rooms are very nice and well-maintained. Each room gives you an incredible amount of privacy due to all the plants everywhere. A very beautiful place, I can't wait to go back! (The restaurant also has a nice happy hour from 5:30 - 7 every day.)

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keplodge, Owner at Kep Lodge, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Kimberly,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort and we are very happy to read that you did enjoy our seven years of hard work to make the Lodge a 'home away from home'.
In 2006 we cleared almost the entire property and now the garden has grown towards the shape we intended,
The privacy of our bungalows is something I value a lot, even if the ocean view from some bungalows did suffer a bit (not the Deluxe Double first floor bungalows) we consider the privacy and nativeness more important.
The recently completed 1st floor at the restaurant is to regain the original, breathtaking view towards the islands in the gulf of Thailand.

With the national road no 3 and the road from Kampot to Kep finally completed (the direct way road no 33 will be finished in a few weeks), Kep got much closer and is now only a 2h drive away from Phnom Penh.

We are looking forward to welcoming you - at home - again.

Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

I stayed at Kep Lodge with my parents. I stayed for one night and they stayed on for one more night. The rooms are big and spacious, hammock outside to relax in. coffee and tea maker in the room. was very nice.
the restaurant serves up some great food and the service is always with a smile.
the gardens and the pool area is such a nice place to relax and unwind after some time traveling.
Dan the owner is such an amazing host. Its one of those, home away from home places.
can't wait to go back

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peberpigen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kep hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge
0.5 mi away
Knai Bang Chatt
Knai Bang Chatt
#1 of 17 in Kep
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.9 mi away
Spring Valley Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tara Lodge
Tara Lodge
#4 of 17 in Kep
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
1.3 mi away
Malibu Estates Bungalows Resort
0.4 mi away
Raingsey Bungalow
Raingsey Bungalow
#5 of 17 in Kep
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kep Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kep Lodge

Property: Kep Lodge
Address: Pepper Street 1, Kep 8888, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Kep
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kep Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kep Lodge will make your holidays as relaxed as possible. Our salt water infinity pool with a stunning view over the ocean, our well stocked lounge-bar, the pool table, the delicious food with some Swiss specialties, the private bungalows with hot water, minibar, kettle, private balcony, the lush green, well maintained garden, the nice and welcoming staff - all these things will make you never want to leave again. A warm welcome to you! Our brand new stylish Deluxe Bungalows with air con and fan, safe, TV/DVD with small sound system, tea/coffee maker, minibar, mp3 player, king size spring mattresses and a 15m2 balcony with sofa corner, hammock and one of the best views in Kep down to the Gulf of Thailand. Our newest edition is the extension of the restaurant with an additional floor, which gives you the fantastic sea-view everybody is writing home about, which can also used as a lounge or meeting room for small to medium conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Kep Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kep Hotel Kep

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing