We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kep Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kep Lodge
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Kep
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

It's 3 years ago since we last visited Kep and we were keen to stay here having been recommended it last time. Kep thankfully hasn't changed too much, it's still very friendly and laid back, tourism hasn't destroyed it yet. The lodge is in lovely surroundings, we stayed in Papaya which was really nice, the pool area beautiful and the staff very friendly. We hired a moto each day for $7 and went for a mooch around the area, although the main road between Kep and Kampot is quite bad with lots of work ongoing. We only ate breakfast here as Dan recommended places at the Crab market which were too good not to return. We met some nice people here, all of whom had been given a recommendation to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joniboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    129
    51
    31
    29
See reviews for
89
192
64
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a wonderful retreat where you can enjoy views over the surrounding plantations . Rooms good and whilst the service needs to improve the whole experience serves to be a positive one .
A cocktail by the pool is not such a bad way to relax on holiday

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank FranR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

My wife and I have been coming to Kep Lodge regularly since 2008.

Our experiences in this tranquil and beautiful gardened boutique retreat have been second to none.

We've stayed at several nice hotels over the years in Cambodia and SE Asia. This would have to be one of our favourites.

The appetising menu and open kitchen produces some of the tastiest, freshest and realistically priced food we've had in Kep.

We love the 'home away from home' feel; with that little bit of indulgence. You really get a sense of a family run business where the owners Dan & Cheang have created and maintain a tropical gardened paradise with spectacular sea views from the comfort if your private balcony.

The staff are always very welcoming and willing to assist. The rooms are serviced and presented with a sense of pride and attention to detail. Any query or request has always been addressed and resolved with a smile.

We've met some interesting and positive people at the Lodge finding that it attracts people who are well traveled and readily embrace the cultural differences this small Cambodian coastal town has to offer.

'Kep-up' the good work.
Nick & Olivia.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEASIAGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We arrived at night by taxi from Phnom Penh Airport, arranged by Kep Lodge. We were welcomed and taken to our two floor bungalow, which was solidly stone built. The big rooms were equipped with two big day light bathrooms with warm water, a terrace and a balcony with big windows. We had to ask for toiletries, but this was indicated in the bathroom. On the first early morning, our first view from the balcony was amazing. Green forest in front and the calm sea on the horizon. Breakfast was served in the restaurant, also with an amazing view. It shall be ordered from the menu, there is no buffet. The general choice of food is a mix of local, international and swiss food. If you want you can have fondue at 35°C outside temperature. The walks are mostly paved and the entire property looks like a big nicely arranged garden.
We were travelling with two small children and had some doubts about coming to Cambodia. We directly came to Kep, no backpacker trip, now I have to say we are happy we did it. There was no inconvenience at all, a big advantage was the friendly staff, that loved to play with our children. This place is wonderfully calm and peaceful on a high level of kindness and comfort. We can fully recommend this place, as long as you do not expect a five star hotel. This place is called lodge.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxkraus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

You don't get for your money. Under the pretext of being Eco Friendly, there is no bathroom set (shampoo soap ... ) fortunately we had towels.. If you stay at the first floor room you can't take a shower if the guest in the room below you at floor level takes one. No water pressure. The staff does not speak English at all (or french) and is clearly not trained, despite doing his best. Breakfast was very long to be served and required many re-orders due to misunderstanding. The tenant dogs are sleeping on the pool deck chairs at days, and at evening dogs are scratching and grooming on the sofas inside which are becoming quite dirty. THIs hotel is overpriced and playing in the wrong quality category.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alain D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keplodge, Owner at Kep Lodge, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Alain,

We feel sorry that your two nights with us haven't been to your complete satisfaction.
It is true that we don't provide any toiletries in the bathrooms (there is a bar of soap however), but it is clearly stated on the bathroom wall that these are available free of charge at the reception.
We believe that most international customers come with their own and don't need additional toiletries.

That there is not enough water pressure on the first floor when a guest takes a shower downstairs is honestly the first time I hear about (we built this bungalow three years ago), but I will definitely look into this problem and if necessary increase the water pressure with an additional pump. Sorry for this inconvenience.

We had some changes at our reception in recent months and had to hire new, local staff; of course they aren't 100% trained yet and their english isn't excellent, but they are learning every day and are improving their skills.
However, our chef de reception, Mrs Chanon, speaks excellent English and I don't know why she didn't help when there were misunderstandings but please rest assured that I will raise this issue with my team.

Kep has now over 60 hotels (three years ago there were less than 20) and all of them need English speaking staff. Therefore we are experiencing a shortage of skilled labour in Kep.
Skilled Cambodians from Phnom Penh don't come to Kep because they would be too far away from their families and they don't like the quietness of Kep!
We all hope that the recently revived Don Bosco Hotel-School, Kep will help to provide more skilled employees for the Kep hotels.
That our dogs sleeping on the deck chairs is a problem and we are trying to educate them, which isn't an easy job. However we are cleaning the deck chairs and sofas daily in the morning.

Kind regards,

Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Saskatchewa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

I recently stayed at Kep Lodge in the Banana Bungalow for six nights and thoroughly enjoyed every minute. It was a wonderful respite after a busy two week tour of Cambodia. The grounds were amazing and the pool which was cleaned every morning was a refreshing relaxing place to spend the afternoon. I can't say enough good things about the staff. As a gal traveling on my own they made me feel so welcome and always had a happy smile and kind word. I also enjoyed the young fellow who has there learning English while doing some restaurant serving. My bungalow was clean and had everything I needed - the welcoming plate of fruit was a nice touch. The breakfast was lovely - I started at the top of the list and worked my way down and started over again!. It was all good. Any meals I had there were fine. Reading the review below about the dogs being bad? I guess because I love dogs having them about the place was a bonus...all I'd suggest is get them fixed so no more puppies!!! (as adorable as they were - I'm a believer in doggie birth control!) After walking or touring around Kep by tuk tuk it was always nice to come "home". I had been looking forward to my stay at Kep Lodge for months and it did not disappoint at all. I guess the only negative would be that people buying a meal or drink can use the pool so sometimes all the recliners by the pool were used by 'outsiders'. I just skulked in the shade and grabbed their spot the second they left. However it was a fabulous six days and as the tuk tuk pulled away from Kep Lodge I had tears in my eyes....that says it all! Keep up the good work Dan!!

Room Tip: The Banana room was close to the restaurant and pool. Those wanting a quieter room (it was fine for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We loved Kep Lodge- our room had an amazing outdoor living room with a tranquil garden setting- the salt water pool was soothing after traipsing around the area on the free house bikes- the only complaint we had was that we had to leave all too soon

Room Tip: We stayed in the lower level of the orange duplex unit although the folks above us said the view dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seweeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kep hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge
0.9 mi away
Spring Valley Resort
0.5 mi away
Knai Bang Chatt
Knai Bang Chatt
#1 of 17 in Kep
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tara Lodge
Tara Lodge
#4 of 17 in Kep
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.3 mi away
Malibu Estates Bungalows Resort
0.4 mi away
Raingsey Bungalow
Raingsey Bungalow
#5 of 17 in Kep
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kep Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kep Lodge

Property: Kep Lodge
Address: Pepper Street 1, Kep 8888, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kep
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kep Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kep Lodge will make your holidays as relaxed as possible. Our salt water infinity pool with a stunning view over the ocean, our well stocked lounge-bar, the pool table, the delicious food with some Swiss specialties, the private bungalows with hot water, minibar, kettle, private balcony, the lush green, well maintained garden, the nice and welcoming staff - all these things will make you never want to leave again. A warm welcome to you! Our brand new stylish Deluxe Bungalows with air con and fan, safe, TV/DVD with small sound system, tea/coffee maker, minibar, mp3 player, king size spring mattresses and a 15m2 balcony with sofa corner, hammock and one of the best views in Kep down to the Gulf of Thailand. Our newest edition is the extension of the restaurant with an additional floor, which gives you the fantastic sea-view everybody is writing home about, which can also used as a lounge or meeting room for small to medium conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kep Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kep Hotel Kep

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing