We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little piece of heaven” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kep Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kep Lodge
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Kep
Certificate of Excellence
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Little piece of heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Here the perfect alternative for a stay at the refreshing seaside without a beach: a guesthouse with some rooms and several bungalows for everyone's budget [13-125$], an atmospheric bar/restaurant (with pool table) looking on a luxuriant garden with swimming pool and seaview. Beside just relaxing the place offers a base for several activities.
The staff is almost too friendly and speaks English very well, the kitchen is just fine but maybe a bit expensive. Standard rooms are basic, spacious. Some details could use some more attention. Be aware there are alot of dogs! Unlike what's written on the website not all bungalows have a panorama on the ocean.

Room Tip: The standard twin rooms Durian & Jackfruit are the only rooms in a wooden bungalow which makes i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katzi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    129
    51
    31
    29
See reviews for
89
192
64
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed at Kep lodge for 1 weekend in December 2012. Very relaxed and laid back place with reasonable prices. Nice pool, good views, basic but decent rooms, good breakfast included – e.g. 2 fried eggs, bacon, and a freshly baked baguette + orange juice + tea/coffee. Very nice chill bar area with darts and pool table.

They rent out scooters for 7/8 USD per day, great for cruising around in the area (you can go to Kampot, the caves, pepper plantation, etc. – just ask for the map at the reception). Nice and friendly staff, and a fair, reasonable Swiss owner – one of our group had a little accident with a rented scooter, and we weren’t over-charged for the damage done (less than 10 USD).

OK location: 5 minutes by tuk tuk to get to Krab Market, and just a little bit more to get to the pier that has the boats for going to Rabbit island. Also right across (5-10 minutes walk) from the Sailing Club, which rents out water sport equipment (including catamaran sailing boats) is more upscale and great for some fancy cocktails and a sunset dinner (happy hour 5 – 7 PM, very nice cocktails for 2 USD!).

Overall Kep lodge is a chilled out place with very good value for money – would recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Strekke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

We originally planned to spend two nights here and really wish we would have. The location is fantastic and picturesque and the pool is very refreshing. Kep is a perfect place to wind down. We rented a motorbike from the lodge and explored the countryside quite a bit. The staff at the lodge were very helpful and nice. Make sure and head down to the market for some crab. Also when traveling in this area make sure you have small denominations USD's because the closest ATM is in Kampot and the locals mostly use Riel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bgagosian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

This seems like a very happy, kid friendly place to be! It seemed very relaxed with a nice friendly dog wandering around, a few people playing pool, and beautiful flowers everywhere. We only stayed one night, but we loved the room we had! BEAUTIFUL balcony , more like a huge veranda!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat294217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

The rooms here are average - beds are ok, the rooms are clean, they have nice balconies with a hammock, and they have character. The gardens, pool, and view from the bar make this worthy of a 'very good' mark though. The staff are pretty friendly, as are the lovely dogs, and the food is pretty good. For a Swiss-owned lodge though, they should be serving real muesli not just oats for breakfast! The lodge has maps of walks you can do from the hotel, and it has a good location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mabie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keplodge, Owner at Kep Lodge, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Mabie2010,

Thank you for sharing your positive experiences you had at the Kep Lodge. We are pleased to know that you liked our rooms and the settings in general.

I assume that you stayed in one of our Standard rooms with fan, since you judged them as average.

For the more demanding guests we are offering the Deluxe Bungalows. They are equipped with all the amenities you can think off, like a tea and coffee maker, sound system, CTV with DVD, safe and probably the most important thing: a 15m2 balcony with some of the best views in Kep.
The balcony has a comfortable hammock and an inviting sofa combination. The best place to totally relax and unwind!

To the Muesli issue: We are not serving swiss muesli, since it is quite difficult to get them, but we have quite good australian muesli (of course Swiss-muesli are much better! ;-))

Thank you for your visit and we hope to welcome you again during your next trip to Kep.

Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

As Lonely Planet states, Kep has a strange ambiance with guest houses spread along the bay and clustered at the foothills of the national park. So it lacks any recognizable focus other than the Kimli crab market. The foothills, with views breezes and greenery that comes from the tropical rainforest setting present an attractive alternative to the foreshore, which is to my mind at least a little lacking in soul. The Swiss-Cambodian owned and operated Kep lodge has a delightful sense of seclusion, friendly staff and a degree of mid-range comfort makes this guest house a great option. The pool area has a wonderful ambiance and outlook across the bay. Joint Swiss and Cambodian owners are friendly and obliging and the restaurant is decent.
Most visitors to Kep focus on the crab market, often returning for multiple samplings. The market is a short tuk tuk ride away from the lodge but might be a bit of a hike by foot late at night. Bring a flashlight if you plan leg it. And that might just be the only downside...The National Park can be accessed from the lodge, a five to ten minute walk up the hill to find the trail, and best in the early morning. Directions are needed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here with my whole family and had a lovely stay. Pool and bar area are nice, staff fantastic and I like the cabin-like rooms. Food is good too if not a little expensive. However this place could be much better with just some attention to detail and updating. Our mosquito net had big holes in it (they must be so cheap to replace?!) and even worse, our sheets were dirty and one pillow smelt so bad we put it outside! They also weren't changed the whole time we were here even though stains were obvious. They put a 5% service charge on EVERYTHING at the bar, even if you go up and ask for a coke?? This i think is a bit of a joke and even though the owner states here it happens all over we have never had that in a hotel in 8 months of traveling Asia. Owner wasn't nice (many other reviews state this and we knew who he was immediately from reading them!), completely ignored us the whole time we were there, not even a smile! bit of effort would go a long way but overall i would recommend this for a relaxing few days of doing nothing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJCJ2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keplodge, Owner at Kep Lodge, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Carys25,

Thank you for your review and sharing your experience you had with the Kep Lodge. I am pleased that even though some things were not up to our standard, you would recommend us!

Your input about the mosquito nets and the bed sheets is very valuable to us. They are examined at this moment and will be repaired if possible and/or exchanged. Even though we control the rooms regularly, it is almost impossible to see all the small details.

The 5% service charge is actually a combination of the government tax and the service charges (all of this goes to our staff).

In general I like to introduce myself and have a chat with all of our guests, but with bigger groups, it is sometimes a bit difficult. Personally I am sorry that you had the impression that I wasn't nice and not smiling, which is normally not the case.
Of course I saw you and your family and wanted to introduce myself to your group on several occasions, but it seemed to me that you been always so much involved in a discussion that I thought it is better not to disturb you.

We hope to see you next time at the Kep Lodge and wish you safe travels,

Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kep hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge
0.5 mi away
Knai Bang Chatt
Knai Bang Chatt
#1 of 17 in Kep
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.9 mi away
Spring Valley Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tara Lodge
Tara Lodge
#5 of 17 in Kep
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.3 mi away
Malibu Estates Bungalows Resort
0.4 mi away
Raingsey Bungalow
Raingsey Bungalow
#4 of 17 in Kep
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kep Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kep Lodge

Property: Kep Lodge
Address: Pepper Street 1, Kep 8888, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Kep
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kep Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kep Lodge will make your holidays as relaxed as possible. Our salt water infinity pool with a stunning view over the ocean, our well stocked lounge-bar, the pool table, the delicious food with some Swiss specialties, the private bungalows with hot water, minibar, kettle, private balcony, the lush green, well maintained garden, the nice and welcoming staff - all these things will make you never want to leave again. A warm welcome to you! Our brand new stylish Deluxe Bungalows with air con and fan, safe, TV/DVD with small sound system, tea/coffee maker, minibar, mp3 player, king size spring mattresses and a 15m2 balcony with sofa corner, hammock and one of the best views in Kep down to the Gulf of Thailand. Our newest edition is the extension of the restaurant with an additional floor, which gives you the fantastic sea-view everybody is writing home about, which can also used as a lounge or meeting room for small to medium conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Kep Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kep Hotel Kep

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing