We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Calm and peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kep Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kep Lodge
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Kep
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Calm and peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

I've been to Kep Lodge for 3 nights with two friends in the end of August and we have really enjoyed the stay.
We were given the Jackfruit and the Durian bungalows, which are connected and a few meters from the central area of the hotel. The bungalows were surrounded by vegetation and with a beautiful little lake in front of them. On the veranda there were confortable amache, so our days were incredibly peaceful and relaxing (it was hard raining but in the end we didn't care much thanks to Kep Lodge).
Breakfast was included and it was really good with good choices from fruit salad to scrambled eggs with bacon and baguette.
Since the owner, Dan, is Swiss you will also have the opportunity to eat wonderful swiss dishes at the restaurant!

Just a few more indications: our bungalows were without aircon (but we chose them) and without hot water (we didn't know this, but it was anyway fine for us). But considering that we were paying 32 USD per night for each twin bungalow, probably the Lodge is a bit overpriced.
Anyway I would defintely suggest to take a room at Kep Lodge!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RodrickGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    129
    51
    31
    29
See reviews for
89
192
64
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at the Kep lodge for 4 nights, in the Rambutan room.

When we arrived there was no help with the luggage & no greeting, just "You have a reservation?" "Fill this in." The welcome drink was warm water. A very poor welcome.

The path to the room is made from stones and is very uneven, so pay attention!

The room is nice (king-sized bed, a/c, fans, tea/coffee-making facilities, balcony with a fan), but the bathroom was not at the same standard. There was water on the floor for most of the time: Water leaks from the sink drainage pipe across the floor. The shower water covers the bathroom floor. The internet download speed 0,78 MB/s

House-keeping: The bed-making consisted of removing the sheets, so we had to make our own bed each day. There was no house-keeping one day even though we left the key with reception and told the house-keeping lady that she could come in while we were present.

The pool needs cleaning. It had a film of insect/leaf debris on the surface.

The breakfast was very disappointing. The first day we asked for scrambled eggs & fried eggs over easy (with an explanation that over easy = turn the egg over for 2 - 3 seconds). The plates arrived with fried eggs that should have been called hard fried eggs and the scrambled eggs were smashed up eggs that had been fried. The next day we both asked for fried eggs, this time they arrived under-cooked with a runny, clear film on top. The next day we did not even bother with breakfast, we just went to the Crab Market for an early lunch.

We did not eat at the hotel for lunch or dinner as breakfast was so poor & the feedback that other guests gave us.

We asked for a tuk tuk and were told that it would take 5 minutes to arrive, 15 minutes later no tuk tuk. We go back to reception, they had not called a tuk tuk.....

When we left there was no help with the luggage. Overall it was a very disappointing hotel experience. The staff were not customer-focussed from reception to house-keeping to the kitchen. We asked one of the staff if we could meet the owner, we never met him even though it was confirmed that he was on site.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rosalie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keplodge, Owner at Kep Lodge, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Rosalie,

Thank you for your review. The entire KL team and I are really sorry that your stay with us was not at your satisfaction.

As you can see from most of the previous reviewers, our staff starting from the front desk, to the house keeping and to the kitchen normally receive very good critics. I honestly don't know what has happened during your stay, that so many things went wrong, but I will make sure that it won't happen again.

We had a staff meeting today, during which we discussed all the negative points you have mentioned in your review. Everybody from our staff promised to work harder that these disturbing things won't happen again.

I have further increased the breakfast choices and instructed my kitchen staff again how to do a fried egg over easy!

We are very unhappy that your stay with us was 'disappointing' but we will take your unfavorable experience as a chance for us to improve the customer satisfaction at the Kep Lodge.

Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Was welcomed to the lodge, rooms with air-con are simple but comfortable. Rooms with fan only are very hot and have a minimum of comfort. Could do with some basic maintenance.
What makes the place are the friendly efficient staff, the salt water pool and the dining/recreation area. The meals are ok, works out the same price as taking a tuktuk to the crab market to eat.
Nice stroll behind lodge around the "jungle track" which is big enough to drive a car, it is well-maintained.

Room Tip: Air-con room, double the price but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flashman974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portlaoise
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Nice and relax place in kep, fantastic views from our balcony
Food is ok, nothing to die for.
Pleasant staff
Swimming pool could do with a cleaning
Fast Internet a place to come back
I would come back

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruno G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

A very nice property with a good pool and the staff are excellent. It is ideal for a quite time or a romantic getaway. The distance to some of the rooms can make it a little difficult if you have a lot of luggage or are just infirm. I noted quiet a few properties on the access road. Perhaps it would be a good idea if they all got together and worked to improve it.
It is a fair way to the crab market but you could walk it or Tuk Tuk's/Taxi's, Bicycle's and motorcycles are available. The WIFI works well and the family suite i had was great with a balcony with a good view. While I was there the Manager was away but the staff coped well in his absence which is a very good sign of a well run establishment.

Room Tip: Weekends will find the establishment wit a lot of guests so try to time your visit early to mid week...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keplodge, Owner at Kep Lodge, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Muruk,

Thank you for your review of our resort. We are pleased that you specially liked our infinity saltwater pool with sea view and our well trained staff, who are with us for many years already.

Our resort is spread out on 8'000m2 to give each bungalow its privacy. Between each bungalow there is a distance of around 10m which is after 5 years of operation, filled with many exotic flowers and big plants.
Of course the distances are therefore a bit longer than normal, but personally I prefer the privacy rather then the proximity. Normally our staff are supposed to help each customer with their luggage bringing it to the room. I am sorry that this wasn't the case with your party. I will have a word with my staff to make sure that this happens all the time.

Regarding the access road which could do with work, I totally agree with you and we, the Kep Lodge are constantly fixing the road. But during the rainy season, it is very difficult to maintain a good road, since the masses of water are destroying even the best road.

I am pleased to know that my staff were doing a great job even with me being away! It wasn't always like that as you can see from previous reviewer.

We hope to welcome you again in the future and wish you safe travels,

Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
192 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed at Kep Lodge for the last 4 days of a 3 week trip around Cambodia and it was perfect...I still miss sirring on the comfortable lounge on our balcony looking towards the ocean.

We hired a bike for some trips around Kep and a couple of meals out but apart from that we were incredibly lazy and just swam in the lovely pool, read and ate. The restaurant served great food and drinks (happy hour brought all the guests out most evenings) and the atmosphere was so relaxing. People sat around reading, surfing the net, chatting, playing the odd game of pool.while music quietly played. The staff were always smiling and helpful, they even remembered what my other half liked for breakfast! Organsising a taxi or hiring a bike was done efficiently and with a smile.

We were having trouble with WiFi reception in our room and everyone tried to help but with no luck. We werent worried and didnt complain but within hours the owner was there fixing things and we had no further problems. (thankyou)

We had an upstairs room "Lychee" which was large and had a comfortable bed. The bathroom was clean and functional and was the best "loo with a view" hotel I had ever stayed in!

We certainly hope to return one day to not only see a few things we missed around Kep and eat the wonderful pepper crab but to stay at the friendly, relaxing and comfortable Kep Lodge.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have a balcony with comfortable furniture and wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgetteCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

I was there in March. I found this hotel on tripadvisor and manage to find the hotel phone number on Facebook. It has a nice garden and beautiful surrounding. I woke up in the early morning to breath the nice fresh air. My little girls loves the salt water swimming pool so much. For the room that we stayed was clean, the mattress was very comfort. There wasn't any toothbrush, toothpaste, shampoo and soap in the shower room (be sure to bring them from home ). The furniture was so so. The hot water were cut in the morning, I had to boil water in the water boiler for my baby's bath :(
Breakfast was poor. At this price you can find a far more better hotel with (luxury) breakfast in Sihaknouk Ville. In all, I would still go back there some day, If the breakfast was a little more better (upgrade).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sochivyheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keplodge, Owner at Kep Lodge, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Heng83,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review for our Kep Lodge natural resort. We always appreciated the critic of our guests, since it is only like this, that we have achieved to be one of the best resorts in Kep!
We always try to look into all the complaints from our guests and if possible try to improve our resort.

We are pleased to know, that you and your girls liked our salt water pool, which is very gentle to skins an eyes (I have 2 little boys too, which spend at least 4h every day in the pool - and they have never any eye or skin problems).
Also, we are happy to hear, that your room was at your expectations and that you had a good nights sleep on our quality mattresses!

As for toothbrush, shampoo etc we deliberately don't put any of these 'useless' items in our bathrooms (except soaps), since 99% of our guests, bring their own things and just try the 'provided' things and leave them used behind, but not more (so we can't reuse them for another guests, but have to throw them away). Thank you environment! That is ecologically not correct, as you sure agree!
But, I understand that some local customers (like you) don't bring anything along and therefore I will make a sign, saying that 'bathtub utilities are available at the bar'!
I hope like this, we can be environmentally friendly and also fulfill some of our guests needs.

We are sorry to hear that your hot water wasn't working in the morning. Please let me explain: We are making our hot water with a gas heater (not - like almost everybody else - with a very high energy consuming electrical heater) and therefore it could have been possible, that the gas bottle was simply empty!? Sorry for this inconvenience, which can happen with this system. I gave clear orders to our housekeeping girls, to check the hot water every day, so the gas must have run out during your evening shower! Sorry for that!

As for our breakfast, which some guests call 'one of the best breakfast in Cambodia' - see below - I would like to elaborate, that we do have quite a wide choice of dishes (soup, scrambled eggs, fried eggs or muesli) coming with either tea (Lipton, English Breakfast or Earl Grey!) or local coffee, a fruit plate, a warm baguette and a fruit juice (choice of OJ, apple or pineapple juice).
We don't provide a buffet, since we don't want our guests to rush in the morning (a breakfast buffet normally ends at 10am)!
On the contrary our a-la-carte-breakfast is available until 12pm(!), sometimes even later.
So you can really enjoy our comfortable bungalows and don't feel rushed in the morning to get the breakfast! I am sure you understand that it doesn't make sense, to have a breakfast buffet until 1pm! Most of the food would be spoilt by then!

We would be delighted to have you and your family again as our guests in the future. Like this you could see, the improvements of our resort by yourself.

Thank you and kind regards,

Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kep hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge
0.9 mi away
Spring Valley Resort
0.5 mi away
Knai Bang Chatt
Knai Bang Chatt
#1 of 17 in Kep
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tara Lodge
Tara Lodge
#4 of 17 in Kep
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.3 mi away
Malibu Estates Bungalows Resort
0.4 mi away
Raingsey Bungalow
Raingsey Bungalow
#5 of 17 in Kep
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kep Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kep Lodge

Property: Kep Lodge
Address: Pepper Street 1, Kep 8888, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kep
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kep Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kep Lodge will make your holidays as relaxed as possible. Our salt water infinity pool with a stunning view over the ocean, our well stocked lounge-bar, the pool table, the delicious food with some Swiss specialties, the private bungalows with hot water, minibar, kettle, private balcony, the lush green, well maintained garden, the nice and welcoming staff - all these things will make you never want to leave again. A warm welcome to you! Our brand new stylish Deluxe Bungalows with air con and fan, safe, TV/DVD with small sound system, tea/coffee maker, minibar, mp3 player, king size spring mattresses and a 15m2 balcony with sofa corner, hammock and one of the best views in Kep down to the Gulf of Thailand. Our newest edition is the extension of the restaurant with an additional floor, which gives you the fantastic sea-view everybody is writing home about, which can also used as a lounge or meeting room for small to medium conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kep Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kep Hotel Kep

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing