We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic Hillside Resort minutes from the seaside at Kep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Veranda Natural Resort
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Kep
Certificate of Excellence
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level 6 Contributor
458 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Rustic Hillside Resort minutes from the seaside at Kep”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed a night at Villa unit. Found the amenities in room a little basic, and unfortunately the towels provided were not laundered properly. The breakfast area of the resort is probably the best part, with fine views. The occasional stray cat and dogs are a distraction. One has to get used to walking the steps as the buildings are tightly perched on a rather steep slope. Overall a charming resort, but I feel the management would need to modernise the rooms further to remain competitive over the longer term, and to justify the rates its charging

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sodesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    255
    89
    24
    9
See reviews for
183
398
45
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambodia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Veranda has become an institution in Kep. It is located in a great spot on the hill with beautiful views, it has a stunning pool, good restaurant and numerous facilities. The rooms are unique and beautiful and we really enjoyed our stay. However, we did feel the prices were just a tad too much for what it was. If the prices were 20-30% lower, they would be more appropriate for what Veranda is.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the ocean, not the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank li0ntamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

I had high expectations of the place after reading other reviews. When I tried to check in after a long journey I was kept waiting for over an hour whilst the reception staff refused to accept that I had a booking, despite showing them details of my reservation. They even wanted to see the website where I had made the booking, and when I did they still insisted that they had nothing to do with the company. Eventually a manager was called (reluctantly) and the issue was resolved, there was no apology from the manager. For a relatively expensive resort I expected more. Compared with other hotels that I stayed in Cambodia, my experience here was undoubtedly the worst.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hugo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Apologies to all reviewers who love this place, but my title says it all and frankly we were very surprised at the place after having read so many great reviews. Certainly the views are splendid and the staff nice but we thought our room was rather like being in a dungeon.

The prices are not cheap, which isn't an issue, but we didn't feel like staying in that ghastly room any longer than one night. We had to hobble around on the stones set into the floor on which you couldn't walk comfortably in bare feet, there was no phone in the room, neither was there any facility for hanging clothes and that great big wooden structure around the bed took a bit of navigating, particularly in the middle of the night when needs must. LIghting in the room was so poor that it was impossible to read at night and in the bathroom, if you could call it that as it was only a sort of little alcove set in amongst all the rocks and stones, we could not use the small mirror over the basin as it was too gloomy and dark even during the day.

The property of course has been built to capture views, which is all very well, but it would be a brave soul who would stagger down and up that rickety track on foot to visit the town, restaurants and crab market for which Kep is well known.

Room Tip: We respect that many others find this place charming and peaceful but we felt suffocated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelkat88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

As expats living in The craziness of Phnom Penh, the tranquility of Veranda was a welcome change... From the moment we pulled in to the driveway the service and attention was first class. Karen, the new Manager was extremely professional and welcoming. We were very impressed with her management over the next 3 days. The accommodation was beautiful.. We stayed in Rosewood Room in the main Villa. It was perfect.. Beautiful large room with its own balcony nestled behind the jackfruit tress. Our first night they bought over a beautiful fruit basket, then our second night they arrived with a basket of cookies from the bakery. Nice little touches. Breakfast was great and overlooking the sea was gorgeous. Lots of areas where you can relax. You really don't need to leave the resort as everything you need is there. The swimming pool and bar attached was beautiful. Clean, plenty of sun beds and surrounded by gardens. The staff in the restaurant were lovely and made sure they tried to chat with you in English... All in all it's our new favourite place and we have already booked our return trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julestravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

After Siem Reap and Phnom Penh, the Verandah in Kep is an excellent place to relax and unwind from all the action. If you like crowds, concrete hotels, please go to Sihanoukville, if you like peace and tranquility, visit Kep and try to book the Verandah. It's a well-designed, lovely resort up the hill close to the jungle with a wonderful view over the sea. Sunsets are amazing.
We had a family room, which was spacious enough to accommodate the 4 of us, and we loved the bathroom. It's a pity the room we were in didn't have a balcony.
The place has a nice pool and the restaurant serves fine food (don't miss the crabs). Breakfast is excellent with a wide choice of breads, cereals, eggs, sausages, bacon, jams, yoghurt and much more.
It's a pity we had only 2 nights, I would easily spend 4 nights in this lovely resort.
The only thing about Kep is that it doesn't have a proper beach. A must-visit place is Koh Tonsay (Rabbit Island) with it's clean beach, clear water, palm trees and nice little restaurants where you can have you beach chair or beach hut for the day free of charge (if you have at least a meal in the restaurant).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morevish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Set in a serene spot on a hill in the jungle, looking out over the ocean, this hotel is a great place to escape to for a few days. We loved our time at The Veranda. The room (cave room) was spacious and really nice, the pool area is great, the restaurant was brilliant (really nice food, and a great spot to sit looking over the jungle and the ocean), and the service was great.

We didn't have issues with noise, that some reviews mention.

You can hire mountain bikes and go for a ride in the nearby national park, go down to Kep village, or into Kampot, or just spend the day lazing by the pool. The traditional Khmer massages at the spa were great too.

Buffet breakfasts and dinner at the restaurant were really good with both western and Khmer options available, and there is a bakery on site.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kep hotels
0.5 mi away
Knai Bang Chatt
Knai Bang Chatt
#1 of 18 in Kep
554 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge
0.4 mi away
Tara Lodge
Tara Lodge
#4 of 18 in Kep
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Raingsey Bungalow
Raingsey Bungalow
#5 of 18 in Kep
343 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Flamboyant Resort
0.1 mi away
Vanna Hill Resort
Vanna Hill Resort
#8 of 18 in Kep
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veranda Natural Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veranda Natural Resort

Property: Veranda Natural Resort
Address: Kep Hillside Road, Kep 07503, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kep
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kep
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kep
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Veranda Natural Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HIDDEN below Kep National Park overlooking the Gulf of Thailand, Phu Quoc Island (Vietnam) and Bokor Mountain, you find a retreat dedicated to the finer things in life: beauty, tranquility and great food. Here, just a few hours from Phnom Penh airport, you feel light years away from the crowds, ready to experience the true Kep in its entire splendor. The retreat presents a unique concept with raised wooden walkways made of stones and wood connecting all our private bungalows in the resort. Visit some of the area’s most iconic attractions or find your own hidden gems. Or maybe just lounge by one of the biggest salt-water pools in Kep, enjoying views of natural surroundings including uncounted exotic fruit trees as the tropical breeze carries fragrances from nearby flowers from the wild mountains. Welcome to Veranda Natural Resort - enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Veranda Natural Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veranda Natural Hotel Kep
Veranda Natural Resort All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing