We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Find”
Review of Mealea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mealea Resort
Ranked #6 of 52 Kep B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2010

We found Champey Inn after the Veranda Hotel had double booked us. This turned out to be a blessing in disguise. Champey was exactly what we were looking for; lovely gardens, nice pool and helpful and friendly staff. Nicolas, the owner has lived in Kep for many years and is a mine of useful information and can arrange pretty much anything you want to do in Kep and nearby Kampot.

The rooms were well furnished, clean and spacious and the bathroom, situated in a small private outdoor area, was a nice point of difference. There is no television or telephone (a plus as far as we were concerned) but there is a small fridge. Yes, as some other reviewers have pointed out, you do get the occasional visit by a nocturnal lizard, but then if that upsets you, maybe S.E.Asia isn't for you!

Location is ideal; the sea is on the doorstep and the hotel has a private, sandy area (not a beach) where you can have a drink or meal in the evening and watch the sunset.

Would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phnompers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 195 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2010

We spent for 4 nights in Kep and we stayed at the luxurious resort at Champey Inn Resort, it was changed with warm hospitality management and welcoming with Khmer touching hospitality. So we could gain our experience in there with new stylish of deluxe bungalows design with comfortable and most relax with peaceful jungle and the sea to connect with natural of Kep national park.

KentPP

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Rooms were clean but average; the outdoor bathrooms are a nice touch though and the best part of the rooms. The pool was great, staff was always around to help with things like moving the lounge chairs and serve snacks or drinks. Breakfast was eggs and bread, plus really unusual fruit jam! They said they had wireless internet, but it was down for all the days I was there.

You can see the coast/water from the pool area and the crab shacks are just a 2-3 minute walk up the road. Quiet location and very peaceful.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilac9870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

We have been in Kep last year already and visited this hotel only during a walk along the seaside road, while staying in another place. It is true - it seemed a bit as if it had seen its best days some years ago.

However, this year we were quite surprised. The owner sold half of the land and now the hotel is much smaller (only 8 bungalows vs 18 before). At the same time the bungalows were renewed, new roofs and freshly painted. All appears very nice and clean. The outside bath rooms are clean and it is always an experience having a shower outdoor.

There is also a nice seating area right at the sea, just across the road and the owner told us that he is going to build a new restaurant there soon.

So, all in all we can recommend this place and would chose it again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travlR_Berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2009

When we arrived our room wasn't ready, which was fine since it was a little (30 minutes) before noon, the stated check in time. We were offered a room to change in, so we could use the pool while we waited. It stank of mildew to high heaven and the curtains were filthy and water stained. We assumed this was an unused room so we changed and went to sit by the lovely pool. There were six other guests out by the pool, lounging and having what seemed a leisurely afternoon. About an hour after waiting for our room to be ready we asked one of the the staff and were told just a little while longer. Well, it turns out those other people by the pool were staying in our room, hadn't checked out, hadn't been asked to pack up and were just hanging out while we waited. Finally somebody asked them to move their belonging to another room so it could be cleaned for us. Another half hour later our room was ready. Unfortunately, the room was just as mildewy and stinky as the room we changed in. I understand that there is a thatched roof, a slight odor would be expected but the filthy, moldy drapes were the main offense. After hours on the bus, we hadn't the energy to find another place so we stayed. We were only there one night and were heading back to PP the next day to fly home. In the night we realized there were bugs in the bed, I got bites all over my back, the room smelled so bad we had to sleep with the doors open (thank god for the mosquito nets!).

On the plus side, the location was ideal, right near the crab market and there is a lovely little sitting beach directly across the road. The grounds were nicely landscaped. Also, when we asked for peanuts they brought them hot on a plate and they were delicious.

We chose to eat dinner elsewhere. Breakfast was average.

We were quoted a price of $50 for the night but when the large group who were in our room before us were settling up, I overheard that they were charged $45 for the same room. After some arguing with the somewhat creepy French owner) he agreed to change the price. He also didn't pay the driver who took us to the bus station as he had promised.

P.S. The owner's dog was covered in ticks, I saw at least 6 of them fall off the poor thing when they were done feeding. Little dog too.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank babychoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2008

Don't stay there. It's way past its glory, terrible rooms. Tons of filthy dogs around everywhere, dog poo we found next to the pool (having been there a while... it had already turned white). Our room was damp, invaded by ants and we had to run away in the middle of the night after a rat made its way into our room. It was clear that it knew its way around the place.

Breakfast was a disgrace. We were told by the staff outright that it was too far to the market to buy fruit or juice, so we got bread and eggs. Not ok, even if we got the room for 25$ instead of 55$ (after a 10sec negotiation...)

When leaving on the rat incident, we were shouted at and abused by the staff. A total daylight robbery. Stay away!!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilonanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2008

Beautiful gardens and pool area, lovely cottages. And yes, they do have smell because of the authentic construction material (straw and mud), part of the experience. And the bathrooms are just great, when have you had your last outdoor shower?! (just too bad there is no hot shower)
Breakfast is fine and included in the rate. Dinner overpriced, but then, who wants to eat in if, just around the corner, you eat crab straight from the sea at Kimly place.
Staff tries their best, but in need of some education on the service level one would expect when booking this type of hotel. They do not deliver the promise for the price. But for Cambodian standards it is great place and I would go back tomorrow. Do not pay more than US 40, but US 25 would be more in line with what you get.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wiltdorfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kep hotels
0.4 mi away
Knai Bang Chatt
Knai Bang Chatt
#1 of 18 in Kep
563 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tara Lodge
Tara Lodge
#5 of 18 in Kep
151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Raingsey Bungalow
Raingsey Bungalow
#4 of 18 in Kep
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Flamboyant Resort
0.5 mi away
Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge
0.0 mi away
Le Ponton Hotel
Le Ponton Hotel
#8 of 52 in Kep
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mealea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mealea Resort

Address: #25, Street 33A, Phum Prey Thom, Kep, Cambodia., Kep 855, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Kep
Price Range: $40 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mealea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mealea Resort Kep, Cambodia!A new generation of Bungalows Resorts that deliver ultra-luxury in design, space and bespoke hospitality combined with comfort and hospitality offers a warm, welcoming atmosphere for all our guests.The Bungalows in an oasis of calm, sea bank offers a private hideaway in central Kep. Hidden in a fragrant garden surrounding a shady pool, Mealea resort overlooks to beach and is located just around the corner from the Crab market and the popular street 33A, with its shops, bars and restaurants.Mealea Resort offers 10 unique rooms blending contemporary elegance with Cambodian traditions, 10 Bungalow rooms in a traditional Khmer Cottages.Escape from the heat and bustle of the city, relax and lose yourself in secluded tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mealea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing