We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, but perhaps not for everyone”
Review of Mealea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mealea Resort
Ranked #5 of 52 Kep B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Charming, but perhaps not for everyone”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

If you want polished surfaces and are a bit precious about your bathroom and toilet situation, and think that a flat screen tv is a necessity this is not for you. If you want magnificent sunsets, a nice little pool, no real dustractions and very pleasant surroundings, the Champey in Kep is for you. I thought it was lovely, my travelling companion was less enthusiastic. It is about 200 metres walk to all the seafood restaurants, and it currently only offers a seafood menu itself which is a bit of an issue if ypu don"t eat seafood. The bathroom is a semi open air deal but that was a positive because it meant there was no bathroom pong as is so common in Asia. There are cheaper places to stay in Kep but this was a definitive thumbs up from me.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hogiekj58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    59
    17
    8
    8
See reviews for
21
92
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

The resort is located next to a little strip of beach, where you can choose to eat your breakfast or drink a cocktail at sunset.
The bungalow we stayed in, had an safari lodge looking interior. Very nice with 1 kingsize bed and 1 single bed and outside bathroom. There is no television in bungalow. But who needs it?
The breakfast is made on request.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We were so happy to have found this place as we were riding along on our rented scooter. It was early evening and we were drawn to Champey initially by the candlelit tables on the beach and by the beautiful lighting coming from the bungalows and pool. We were greeted by the manager, Cyril (super nice Frenchman!). We were so delighted when he told us there was one room left! We stayed in the bungalow right next to the pool. It is so beautifully decorated with traditional Cambodian wood furniture, antique scroll paintings, and had a beautiful private outdoor shower (it is enclosed within the bungalow...you have a private door and can see the starry sky through the open roof). We relaxed poolside and enjoyed a delicious crepe with chocolate and bananas. The pool is very, very clean and was a perfect temperature to swim. The highlight was having breakfast at the private beach. You are literally two steps from the water. The best part? No one else around you. A totally peaceful and romantic setting, where you can enjoy watching the fisherman in their colorful boats come ashore. This place is unreal. I almost don't want to write about this place so I can keep it as my little secret. But everyone should have the beautiful experience of staying at this paradise on earth. Merci Cyril for a wonderful stay! We will be back next year!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WanderlustLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
235 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

What a beautiful setting, we enjoyed staying here, great location right next to crab market, private beach with stunning sunset (although no swimming), but an interesting 10 min walk round the headland past the ruined villas to Kep "town centre" and proper beach. Nice pool and bar, and very spacious rooms.
Kep itself is very small with not a huge amount to see and do - I would recommend just 2 or 3 days max here for a relaxing couple of days by the sea. NB do your shopping in Pnomh Penh or Siem Reap as very little opportunity to buy anything here.

Room Tip: not many rooms to choose from - quite a small place. We had two rooms - one for the children and one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ASkelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Champey Inn is located by the see front with a small privat beach, where you can eat your breakfast or dinner if you like (wonderful sunsets!). It's in a quiet zone, not far away from a few nice fisher restaurants.
It's bungalows are cosy and clean. Maby the could have more light inside, but if you like to read a book you do better near the nice small pool. The staff is tipical cambodian style: they are pretty friendly and get everything for you if you ask them, but you need to ask clearly =)
We would stay again in Champey Inn if retourning to Kep.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2011

The Champey inn resort it's a best place for stay in Kep
They have a good situation private terrace front of the beach, near to crabe market, the french restaurant it s very good and fresh product.
The room it s very good decoration very cute
We have stay for only 2 days but we want come for sure
Thanks for all

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Djamel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2011

The Champey Inn Resort is the best place to stay in Kep! Beautiful bangalows near the beach, great food and very friendly staff. I really enjoyed my stay there and can only recommend it to everybody! :-)
Sandra from Switzerland

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kep hotels
0.4 mi away
Knai Bang Chatt
Knai Bang Chatt
#2 of 17 in Kep
543 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge
0.7 mi away
Tara Lodge
Tara Lodge
#5 of 17 in Kep
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Raingsey Bungalow
Raingsey Bungalow
#4 of 17 in Kep
341 reviews
0.4 mi away
Spring Valley Resort
0.4 mi away
Vanna Hill Resort
Vanna Hill Resort
#7 of 17 in Kep
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mealea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mealea Resort

Property: Mealea Resort
Address: #25, Street 33A, Phum Prey Thom, Kep, Cambodia., Kep 855, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Kep
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mealea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mealea Resort Kep, Cambodia!A new generation of Bungalows Resorts that deliver ultra-luxury in design, space and bespoke hospitality combined with comfort and hospitality offers a warm, welcoming atmosphere for all our guests.The Bungalows in an oasis of calm, sea bank offers a private hideaway in central Kep. Hidden in a fragrant garden surrounding a shady pool, Mealea resort overlooks to beach and is located just around the corner from the Crab market and the popular street 33A, with its shops, bars and restaurants.Mealea Resort offers 10 unique rooms blending contemporary elegance with Cambodian traditions, 10 Bungalow rooms in a traditional Khmer Cottages.Escape from the heat and bustle of the city, relax and lose yourself in secluded tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mealea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing