We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value I've found”
Review of Bacoma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bacoma
Ranked #1 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Kep
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Clean bungalows, hot water, quiet beautiful setting, short walk to main activities and attractions, super friendly staff. I am amazed by how cheap it is for what you get. Great place to relax, great food. I would come back to kep just to stay here. Probably best value in cambodia. Ether owner would always come around and see how I as ding and if there was was anything I needed. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burma85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 224 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2013

It was the best acommodation we ever had! The owner Michael is simply the best, carrying and with sense of humor. The bungalows were great as well and the terrace perfect for winding up. Crab market and the beach is just couple of minutes walking. Everything was perfect, just regret we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelyana1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Bacoma for 2 nights and our only regret is we did not stay longer. The stone huts are basic but perfectly formed and it was the first place in Cambodia we had a decent nights sleep. The price is also so reasonable for such a wonderful experience with the huts set in beautiful gardens.

What stands this place apart though is the bar / lounging area is absolutely spot on and a great place to relax. Michael the owner is very friendly and couldn't do enough to help. Darra is great and a real credit to the place. The food is reasonably priced, very tasty and good portions.

The location is within a short walk of the crab market and the restaurants on the front. We nearly didn't go to Kep but it has a great chilled out vibe and we much preferred it to Kampot.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank DanDaly1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

First of all the beds are the most comfortable we have experienced in South East Asia. A great nights sleep can be had here. Location is perfect. A quiet retreat within walking distance to the town and crab market. Above all, the staff are amazingly friendly, courteous and entertaining. Michael, the owner, goes out of his way to talk to every guest and make them feel at home. The food is really good too - try the noodle vegetable soup!

The individual huts themselves are well finished and basic. Plenty of sockets for charging which was great. Dirt cheap and very comfortable.

Despite being a relatively new guesthouse this place has great character. Great layout for the bar and restaurant area and Beautiful surrounding gardens. The newborn kitten is so cute and will follow you everywhere with her mother not far behind
All in all a great base for exploring the modest town of Kep and rabbit island.
Thank you Michael and team for a fantastic 2 nights stay. Thoroughly enjoyed!

Cathal and Caoimhe.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Chubbyfunster87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed at Bacoma in November. The food was amazing and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We chose the stilted Khmer House, however, and my review is based on that.

Staying in the Khmer House is kind of like staying in the "back of house" really; laundry gets done right outside your window and the area under the stilted room is used for storage of scrap materials, wooden beams, etc. You also walk by a couple of piles of rubble / debris on your way to the room, which just makes it really unsightly. It's such a pity as the rest of the property is so pretty. But when you pay almost double for the "nicer" room, you expect it to be... well, nicer. These are, however, relatively easy things to fix so hopefully they will do so by keeping the area tidy and moving the back of house cleaning and maintenance storage areas to an area that isn't directly shared with guests.

In the meantime, book a garden bungalow, enjoy the beautiful gardens, wonderful food and fabulous staff. You'll have a great time!

Room Tip: Choose the garden bungalows - the surrounding gardens are very pretty and you are sheltered from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LisaSontheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We came across Bacoma after trying top tree bungalows and Q bungalows (which are not all that good!!!)! This place has it all! Great staff- really good english which always helps, great advice, helpful and very friendly! They food here is amazing and really cheap to say thats it all done fresh! We stayed for 3 nights in the bungalows which are great!! They are clean and also set out in a cute layout! The shared bathrooms are always clean and a great size!
Great atmosphere here at night as well with a movie night! The location is perfect and the free bicycles available are also a bonus!

A perfect all rounder!!! :)

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank SiwanH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Our stay at Bacoma was in one word amazing. We stayed for 5 nights but could have stayed for weeks. Michael and his wife are wonderful hosts. The food was delicious, the bungalows were very nice, the shared bathrooms were always super clean and it was such great value as we paid only 10 dollars a night. We met really nice people during our stay, had fun playing with their cute son and used the (free!) bikes to cycle around town. We also did a very nice day trip to the pepper plantations and salt fields and to rabbit island.
Anything wonderful said about this place is true. Change your travel plans and don't skip Kep, because it gives you the chance to stay at the lovely Bacoma!

ps the movie hut is awesome too, watching several episodes of the Voice US during a tropical thunder storm isn't something we're going to forget soon!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Ellebelle5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kep hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge
0.3 mi away
Bird of Paradise Bungalows
0.5 mi away
Khmer Hands Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Rega Kep Ma Campagne Guesthouse & Restaurant
1.4 mi away
Botanica Guest House
0.5 mi away
Blue Kep Bungalow
Blue Kep Bungalow
#2 of 53 in Kep
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bacoma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bacoma

Address: 33A Street, Kep 07503, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Kep
Price Range: $12 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bungalows and Khmer traditional houses.Located within short walking distance from Crab Market, Kep Beach and Kep National Park.Restaurant serving Khmer & Western food, full bar with cocktails, pool table. Free Wifi. Public laptop.TV-hut with big screen (2.5m) for sport & movies.Great chill out spot for after your daytrip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Bacoma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing