We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic host and wonderful sleep”
Review of Bacoma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bacoma
Ranked #1 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Kep
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic host and wonderful sleep”
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

First of all the beds are the most comfortable we have experienced in South East Asia. A great nights sleep can be had here. Location is perfect. A quiet retreat within walking distance to the town and crab market. Above all, the staff are amazingly friendly, courteous and entertaining. Michael, the owner, goes out of his way to talk to every guest and make them feel at home. The food is really good too - try the noodle vegetable soup!

The individual huts themselves are well finished and basic. Plenty of sockets for charging which was great. Dirt cheap and very comfortable.

Despite being a relatively new guesthouse this place has great character. Great layout for the bar and restaurant area and Beautiful surrounding gardens. The newborn kitten is so cute and will follow you everywhere with her mother not far behind
All in all a great base for exploring the modest town of Kep and rabbit island.
Thank you Michael and team for a fantastic 2 nights stay. Thoroughly enjoyed!

Cathal and Caoimhe.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chubbyfunster87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
99
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed at Bacoma in November. The food was amazing and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We chose the stilted Khmer House, however, and my review is based on that.

Staying in the Khmer House is kind of like staying in the "back of house" really; laundry gets done right outside your window and the area under the stilted room is used for storage of scrap materials, wooden beams, etc. You also walk by a couple of piles of rubble / debris on your way to the room, which just makes it really unsightly. It's such a pity as the rest of the property is so pretty. But when you pay almost double for the "nicer" room, you expect it to be... well, nicer. These are, however, relatively easy things to fix so hopefully they will do so by keeping the area tidy and moving the back of house cleaning and maintenance storage areas to an area that isn't directly shared with guests.

In the meantime, book a garden bungalow, enjoy the beautiful gardens, wonderful food and fabulous staff. You'll have a great time!

Room Tip: Choose the garden bungalows - the surrounding gardens are very pretty and you are sheltered from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaSontheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We came across Bacoma after trying top tree bungalows and Q bungalows (which are not all that good!!!)! This place has it all! Great staff- really good english which always helps, great advice, helpful and very friendly! They food here is amazing and really cheap to say thats it all done fresh! We stayed for 3 nights in the bungalows which are great!! They are clean and also set out in a cute layout! The shared bathrooms are always clean and a great size!
Great atmosphere here at night as well with a movie night! The location is perfect and the free bicycles available are also a bonus!

A perfect all rounder!!! :)

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SiwanH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kep, Cambodia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Our stay at Bacoma was in one word amazing. We stayed for 5 nights but could have stayed for weeks. Michael and his wife are wonderful hosts. The food was delicious, the bungalows were very nice, the shared bathrooms were always super clean and it was such great value as we paid only 10 dollars a night. We met really nice people during our stay, had fun playing with their cute son and used the (free!) bikes to cycle around town. We also did a very nice day trip to the pepper plantations and salt fields and to rabbit island.
Anything wonderful said about this place is true. Change your travel plans and don't skip Kep, because it gives you the chance to stay at the lovely Bacoma!

ps the movie hut is awesome too, watching several episodes of the Voice US during a tropical thunder storm isn't something we're going to forget soon!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ellebelle5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2013

The Bacoma resort was amazing! Really friendly staff, bungalows were really clean and comfortable especially the beds. It looks great and the atmosphere of the resort was amazing. Everything was so relax you almost felt you were at home. The food was great and Michael the manager was really helpfull like the rest of the staff. They build a terrific Cinema if you wanted to see a movie. Wish we could have stayed longer. The resort was nearby the beach and crabmarket en you could rent a bike if you wanted to go to Kampot or other places. Around the corner there is a nature park as well where you can have a nice walk or bicycle ride. If you're going to Kep, Bacoma resort is a rally nice place to go to!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eline m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Location: *****
My girlfriend and I stayed at the Bacoma earlier this month for 3 nights and loved the beauty and attention to detail of the layout, the gardens, the bungalows and integration into nature in a beautiful spot in the shadow of the national park. Also, it's only 5 minute walk to the beach and the crab market, 10 minute walk to National Park entrance trail and a $2 tuk tuk to Kep town.

Rooms: ****
We stayed in both the Khmer House and Square Bungalow. Before staying here people should be know that the rooms are open, making for a VERY natural experience. You will find all types of wildlife in your room - frogs, mosquitoes, spiders, moths, butterflies, geckos and we even had a 25cm skink hanging out at one point.

We felt that $19 for Square Bungalow was good value, but the $25 the Khmer House was overpriced and the bungalow more comfortable. You pay the $6 extra for a view, which is beautiful, but not worth it as the Khmer House has a lot less light and and doesn't have as nice of a sitting area. We also could not lock the Khmer house door though weren't worried about anything being stolen. Privacy was also lacking as the windows and balcony are in direct view of the government building next door where lots of men both sleep and eat. Both rooms have comfortable beds and were spacious.

We did have problems with electricity and WiFi when we were there, but understand this was not Michael's (the owners) fault. There was some noisy and disruptive construction work being done on the road while we were there, and we felt sorry for Michael about the effect it was having on his business.

Staff: ****
Michael, the owner, is a great guy who obviously has immense passion for the place he has built. He was friendly, welcoming and great for information. His staff were lovely and helpful though we once noticed one of the cleaning ladies on our balcony looking through our window when we were in our underwear early in the morning, and kept staring even when we noticed her. It was quite odd.

Restaurant: *****
Michael's wife's homemade food was absolutely delicious and the prices were reasonable. We tried the vegetarian curry, the spaghetti, and the veggie breakfast.

Overall: ****
The Bacoma was great, but while we hate to be the first to give this place a four, we just felt that there were lots of little things that piled up. The WiFi and electricity not working didn't help. It felt like we were camping indoors, especially with the hundreds of small bugs that got through our mosquito net. Michael's young son was cute and we liked playing with him, but his persistence became tiresome. If you don't like kids, this is not the place for you. That being said, with those things addressed, we'd definitely return to this natural wonderland.

Room Tip: Get the square or round bungalows. The Khmer house isn't as good and not worth the extra cash.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK- South East
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

This place in a nutshell could easily cost a lot more to stay here. Stayed in one of the round bungalows and it was gorgeous. Spacious, clean, good mosquito net and fan, also places to put things! The bathrooms, whilst shared, were spotless and big!

The chill out area/restaurant area is very well done and relaxing with comfy chairs. The cinema area is a lovely extra touch and we watched a couple of films whilst staying. The wifi is strong enough for skype, but only available in the restaurant area.

The staff are wonderful and really friendly, all going over and above what they need to. They also take a great interest in what you are up to which is nice.

A couple of points for improvement which were annoying:

- the owners son. I've never met a child who moans, cries and winges so much. I am a primary school teacher so used to children being a bit moany, but seriously he cried at least once every 10 minutes which is very annoying when just chilling out and relaxing.
- no hand soap in the shared bathrooms. A minor thing but quite a big hygiene thing after a while!
-the food menu. Whilst the food was delicious, if staying more than a couple of nights it can be quite limiting. Plus there aren't many other options than the crap market in Kep!

Overall a great place to stay just a couple of annoyances!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ollie1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kep hotels
0.4 mi away
Knai Bang Chatt
Knai Bang Chatt
#1 of 18 in Kep
554 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kep Lodge
Kep Lodge
#11 of 18 in Kep
466 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tara Lodge
Tara Lodge
#4 of 18 in Kep
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge
0.2 mi away
Raingsey Bungalow
Raingsey Bungalow
#5 of 18 in Kep
343 reviews
0.5 mi away
Khmer Hands Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bacoma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bacoma

Property: Bacoma
Address: 33A Street, Kep 07503, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Kep
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bungalows and Khmer traditional houses.Located within short walking distance from Crab Market, Kep Beach and Kep National Park.Restaurant serving Khmer & Western food, full bar with cocktails, pool table. Free Wifi. Public laptop.TV-hut with big screen (2.5m) for sport & movies.Great chill out spot for after your daytrip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Bacoma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing