We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It could have been so nice”
Review of Masada Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Masada Resort
Ranked #14 of 52 Kep B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed for five nights and enjoyed the well designed and beautiful garden which includes an excellent pool.
That said, there is a vacuum between you as guests and the staff. The owner is almost never there and when you do see him, he looks as if he is on the verge of a nervous breakdown and he is never forthcoming and welcoming with his guests. When he is not around, the staff is occupied with themselves and e.g. would not think of clearing used glasses and dishes from the poolside. As a guest, you are made to feel as if you are alone in the place. A pity, because the beautiful hotel has the potential to be a gem.
The location is too far from town to walk, but you can reasonably make it by foot down to the Sailing Club where a pre-dinner drink and a sunset meal in that romantic setting will transport you 75 years back in time (see YouTube). Also, do not miss having chili crabs in one of the seaside restaurants in town - crabs with fresh Kampot pepper is a meal you will never forget.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fluesnapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
There are newer reviews for Masada Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 106 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed for 1 night on the way to Vietnam.
-Very quiet relaxed place with a nice salt-water pool.
-Great breakfast
-Rooms nice enough

It is a 20 minute walk to the crab market which has sime great food & nice sunsets from the bars.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claphamaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This place could have been a real gem. On the surface it looks like the perfect getaway - secluded, only 5 modern bungalows, pool, restaurant and lovely gardens. Problem is the service: Starting from the owner, who during our 9 day stay was only present for 3, and even then he was preoccupied and not very interested in his guests. Most of the work falls in the manager who is the only local employee who speaks English and he tries his best, but he cannot do everything by himself. When the owner is away the staff tends to let things slide and is more interested in playing the pool table and listen to music than to attend to the guests. Although the room had been cleaned every day, it seemed as if the floor was not, leaving quite a lot of dust after a couple of days.
During our stay there was a power outage in the entire town, which we understand happens a lot in Cambodia and we got used to, but after 24 hours the generator broke down so we were left with no power at all for a further 3 days (normal electricity was restored every evening and taken out every morning for repairs). Without a generator there was no water, no internet, and no AC during the day. The thing that bothered us the most was the fact that neither the staff nor the owner seemed in a rush to get the generator fixed or too concerned about the level of discomfort this had on the guests. If this was a $20 a night place I would have accepted it, but at $50 a night, for a place that claims to be high-end, this was a letdown.

Room Tip: Shop around, there are multiple places in the same price range and quality.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gluckrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Masada resort is one of tranquility. 5 beautiful bungalows set in perfectly manicured gardens made for this to be a lovely secluded and relaxing few days. Very helpful staff, serving great cocktails - we recommend watching the sunset from the top bar. Room cleaned every day, and the whole resort was spotless and well looked after - there is clearly a lot of care that goes in to this place. Would recommend to anyone who stays in Kep, a truly great stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lstage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

this could be the best place in kep, the setting is beautiful, the garden well kept and a real big swimmingpool.
but staff needs training in hospitality, all but one hardly speak english. they hanging around, disturbing the peace with loud music.
we felt not looked after. They made the bed every day, and change the towels, clean the toilet, but that was all.
the floors were after a few days rather dirty, and the table was full of stains.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mieke-g15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

In November, we stayed for several days at this new and beautiful resort in old Kep-town! Host David was most helpful, and the resort gardens and pool are beautiful! A bit up-hill from the western beach of Kep's peninsula, the pool and bungalows had a nice breeze most days. Good breakfasts, tho we took advantage of the major in-town crab-shacks for most dinners! A good quiet place for a getaway!

Room Tip: Midway down the string of bungalows worked for us!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

A clean & attractive but no frills resort. Minimalist design decent sized room, with plenty of storage space, comfortable bed, good aircon & fan, and spacious shower room. Did not miss the lack of hairdryer,TV or safe (owner kept our valuables for us), but no promised sea view, no comfortable seats on our pleasant shaded terrace, and tea/coffee making facilities in room would have been good. Would have paid a few extra $ for this.
Pleasant bar/restaurant area with free wi-fi, good choice of reasonably priced drinks and food.

Beautiful open sunny well kept pool area but with only 6 loungers / 2 sunshades plus 6 hard chairs / 2 sunshades for 10 guests means there could be a bit of a rush for beds if the place is full. Atmosphere is very relaxing and that is what we did, even the noise from adjacent building work did not bother us. Owner & staff very friendly & helpful.

Although food at Masada is good it's worth trying other places. We liked Pasta e Basta at Beach Square, really good pizzas but wide choice of other food. Kimly was a disappointment, fast seafood for tourists?

Kep is larger than I imagined with serious 'touristification' between beach area & pier, major roadworks between Kep/Kampot (so much so we could not face the bumpy/dusty journey in a tuktuk) and building work everywhere. I hope Kep does not spoil itself in the process.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aporo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kep hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge
0.3 mi away
Raingsey Bungalow
Raingsey Bungalow
#4 of 18 in Kep
348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Knai Bang Chatt
Knai Bang Chatt
#1 of 18 in Kep
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tara Lodge
Tara Lodge
#5 of 18 in Kep
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Flamboyant Resort
0.5 mi away
Veranda Natural Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masada Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masada Resort

Address: 2 Pepper street, Kep 07503, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Kep
Price Range: $30 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Crab Market, Masada Resort is an ideal spot from which to discover Kep. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations. Masada Resort also offers many facilities to enrich your stay in Kep. To name a few of the hotel's facilities, there are tours, 24-hour room service, car park, room service, poolside bar. Guests can choose from 5 rooms, all of which exude an atmosphere of total peace and harmony. The hotel offers an excellent variety of recreational facilities, including outdoor pool, garden. Superb facilities and an excellent location make the Masada Resort the perfect base from which to enjoy your stay in Kep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Masada Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing