We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet respite away from Phnom Penh”
Review of Masada Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Masada Resort
Ranked #12 of 53 Kep B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 16, 2012

After an exhausting week of providing on the ground training, my training partner and I decided to take a quick trip to Kep. The private cab there ran us $45 (we could have gotten it for $35 if we went to the taxi stop) and took 2.5 hours. The resort is awesome. It is a really laid back and chill place. It was perfect for two academics looking to unwind. With no TV but ample wifi bandwidth, we were in heaven. The pool was a great place to just watch time go by. The restaurant is fantastic. It does not match Kampot crab at the market, but goodness it was good. The owner is really helpful and willing to go out of his way. We wanted a late check out and he told us just to hang out since no other guests were coming. We hung out until 5pm! Wow...that a generous policy. Note they do not take credit cards as of September 2012, so come with cash. No worries though, the Veranda Resort up the street will give you cash from a card for a 5% charge.

Room Tip: There are only 6 bungalows so plan early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DoctorJayson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 107 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

I've been to many hotels in Kep and Masada Resort has been our favorite so far. Great service, great price and very relaxing and beautiful venue. I appreciated that the beds were actually comfortable (as opposed to many of the hotels we've stayed at) and the breakfast was great. Fast wi-fi internet and clean, peaceful facilities. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JesseM508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Masada is great value. We stayed five nights and enjoyed our stylish bungalow and the pool and its surrounds. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The hotel restaurant is better than most of the local offerings. Kep is an easy place to mooch around for a few days.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kiaora33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Stayed longer than originally planned, there are just 5 well designed and equipped villas at Masada set in attractive gardens (lots of passion fruit and banana plants amongst others), has its own bar and restaurant with a good range of Khmer and western food if you are staying for a few days but for longer stays we would recommend trips down to the Crab Market (20min walk / $2 tut-tut back) and particularly the Kimly restaurant or a little nearer the Siling Club.

The owners, David and Sarah, were very helpful in giving ideas of what to do in the area and their manager Kim runs a tut-tut on the side which is useful if you want to get around without using one of the free peddle bikes.

Will arrange mopeds (with crash helmets) for $7/day and do your washing for $1/kilo.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarlosUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I just spent 4 nights in Kep and greatly appreciated the friendly and accommodating service at Masada Lodge. The pool is one of the best in this price range and a welcome addition. Kim on the Masada staff provided great tuk tuk service in his off hours. While the lodge was quite empty in the low season they kept a full staff and food service was provided as if the lodge was in full operation. Food was well done, beyond my expectation considering some nights we were the only occupants and no special notice was required if or when we would be eating. A great place in Kep.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

This is the only one place in Kep we will stay. Masada has all we want; clean and well decorated room, lovely swimmingpool, friendly and helpful staffs, good food.
Thank to David and his staffs for beautiful lotus and flower on the bed, passion fruit juice, free bicycle, and assisting to buy bus ticket back to Phnom Penh.
We will come back again.
Chanjira

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

An absolutely gorgeous place to stay. A new, small resort (only 5 bungalows) privately set apart in a lush tropical garden. The new bungalows are private and extremely comfortable - like a hotel room in a bungalow setting really. But the real winners at Masada are the beautiful swimming pool and delicious food. Even as the only guests at the hotel during midweek, the kitchen still produced amazing, fresh and incredibly tasty food.

I really can't recommend this place highly enough. After 5 months on the road, this has to be the most purely relaxing place we have been. Lying by the pool late in the afternoon and listening to the birds in the jungle covered hills that rise up behind the resort, what a place to be.

The young couple - David and Sara - that run the resort are great people, and the staff are friendly and very helpful.

We will be back again, and soon.

Room Tip: All five of the bungalows look good - but the ones farthest from the pool are really private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slow_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kep hotels
0.4 mi away
Knai Bang Chatt
Knai Bang Chatt
#1 of 18 in Kep
570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tara Lodge
Tara Lodge
#4 of 18 in Kep
155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vanna Hill Resort
Vanna Hill Resort
#9 of 18 in Kep
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge
0.5 mi away
Veranda Natural Resort
1 mi away
Samanea Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masada Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masada Resort

Address: 2 Pepper street, Kep 07503, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Kep
Price Range: $30 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Crab Market, Masada Resort is an ideal spot from which to discover Kep. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations. Masada Resort also offers many facilities to enrich your stay in Kep. To name a few of the hotel's facilities, there are tours, 24-hour room service, car park, room service, poolside bar. Guests can choose from 5 rooms, all of which exude an atmosphere of total peace and harmony. The hotel offers an excellent variety of recreational facilities, including outdoor pool, garden. Superb facilities and an excellent location make the Masada Resort the perfect base from which to enjoy your stay in Kep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Masada Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing