We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, peaceful and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Spring Valley Resort
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Kep
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This place could be a little haven for those wanting a few days of relaxation. It's set in lush gardens at the foothills of the Kep National Park and seems perfect. In fact it's only the gardens, pool and restaurant that can be described as boutique.

The overall accommodation from the outside looks very impressive. But once inside, the interior doesn't match the initial welcome.
Asia's interpretation of boutique is rather loose. Neither the furniture, the bathroom or the cleaning of the rooms matched the rest of the hotel.
The furniture is dated but functional. The bathroom had the slowest electric shower ever. Again the bathroom looked disjointed from the look and feel of the hotel. And the rooms were not cleaned particularly well. Cobwebs everywhere in the room and bathroom. Furniture partially dusted.

Given Asia's low standard of hygiene, this may well be good enough in their eyes. I've found whatever star hotel you book, lower your expectations and then it's a nice surprise if they at least meet them. Don't get me wrong, I'm not expecting Western standards, but cleaning is cleaning in any country. Service I appreciate can differ.

There's a western couple 'advising' the owners on how to run the hotel. Whilst without them the service would also be poor, it's all at a very slow pace. It might be another year before they can stand on their own two feet.

Other areas they could improve on,
A few more beds around the pool.
Clean the plastic cushion that go on the sun bed.
Small tables to use around the sun beds.
Have someone walk round every so often and ask if we need a drink. The staff are sitting around a lot of the time.
Put a sun umbrella over the beautiful seats they have just behind the pool. It's in full sun and no one can use it!
Use the down time the staff have to improve their English. They were very friendly and you could see they would chat if they could.

The little touches of the welcome drink on arrival, the flowers placed in the beach towels and general helpfulness of the staff was wonderful and appreciated. It was a great place and has the potential to be fabulous and I'd love to know it achieved that.

Room Tip: Request a high floor room
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mala8830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
There are newer reviews for Spring Valley Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 156 of 238 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

I stayed 2 nights at the Spring Valley Hotel and had a great time there. The garden around the bungalows is wonderful and from the balcony of my cosy room I had a nice view down to the sea and also to the jungle behind the hotel area. The staff is very friendly and helpful. But the high light of my stay was the superbe breakfast buffet with FRESHLY baked bread!!!
Dr. M. L. Kauz

Room Tip: I had a nice tower room, From where I had a beautiful view over the fantastic garden and a glimpse d...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie-Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Great location, impeccably clean and very friendly service indeed. Breakfast is all you need, but freshly prepared and enhanced by home made bread! Yum! Location means you can walk to most places and don't need to use tuk-tuks. It was just a lovely peaceful oasis. After checking out the 'tower type' rooms I decided to go for one of the better rooms, which did have a sea view and a sea breeze. It was really nice, spacious and private.

Room Tip: Go for the bigger, more expensive rooms if you can and go for the top floor. I was in H block and it...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JulesHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is a lovely resort with beautiful gardens and pool area. The staff are friendly and extremely helpful with taxis and onward transport. The downside is the buildings themselves; I was in D block which is pretty unattractive, but I had a lovely view over the gardens to the sea. I believe that the rooms vary hugely in quality. Mine was large and perfectly adequate (I was told I had been upgraded from standard), its just the building is out of keeping with the rest of the environment. Also in my view the breakfast was no more than adequate, the Western option is an omelette, though this is typical of most of the places I stayed in Cambodia.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BridgeQueen_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We booked four nights, ended up staying six. Everything was taken care of for us, the location was so beautiful and picturesque and the owners, Ritz and his wife, David and Cinzia were the most adorable, accommodating hosts you could ever dream about. If you want to mix some chill time with some exploration time this is the place from which to base.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaddyGraFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The rooms were fab clean and the staff was very good! Loved David and his his wife ( didn't get her name...sorry) Great morning breakfast and wonderful pool!!!! OOOHH and hot h2o too! It's not a requirement, just a nice surprise in the morn!!! Will totally be back to this Hotel!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyraemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

A very nice, for Cambodia rather atypical, luxurious resort. Great pool, nice garden. Restaurant wasn't exactly the greatest one we've been to but it's very good. Breakfast is awesome. The rooms are large and clean, with AC and good bathroom. The only thing missing was some place to just chill, relax. There's the restaurant and there's the pool area. Yet allthough the garden is nice and large, it lacks places to sit and relax. Kind of weird in a country where dozing in hammocks is the favorite, local past time. Still, if after all the rustic bungalows and whatnot you're looking for more western comfort, this place offers it. The location is pretty good, right next to the small national park. It's quiet and green all around. And the staff is extremely friendly, attentive, speaks english well enough, and can realy help with information regarding pretty much anything you'd need to know around Kep & Kampot.

Room Tip: Stayed in one of the pagoda shaped buildings. Everything great, but the "normal" buildings...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kep hotels
0.5 mi away
Raingsey Bungalow
Raingsey Bungalow
#4 of 18 in Kep
349 reviews
0.8 mi away
Knai Bang Chatt
Knai Bang Chatt
#1 of 18 in Kep
558 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tara Lodge
Tara Lodge
#6 of 18 in Kep
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge
0.9 mi away
Palm House Boutique Resort
0.8 mi away
Le Flamboyant Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Valley Resort

Address: | Phum Thmey, Khum Prey Thom, Kep, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Kep
Price Range: $36 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spring Valley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring Valley Resort is a Cambodian run garden resort located right on the slope of Kep National Park with only a few minutes walking to the main beach. At Spring Valley one would find green in about every corner of the estate. There are more than ten kinds of fruit plants such as durian, mangosteen, mango, rose apple, three kinds of banana, papaya, jackfruit, passion fruit, sandorica and so on together with flower plants and many others; putting it together into a very beautifully landscaping resort with all the buildings and walkways in between. There are 33 rooms categorizing into five different classes – Standard, Deluxe, Pagoda Deluxe, Bungalow and Khmer Wooden House with sea view for most of 2nd and 3rd floor rooms. Together, there is a beautiful swimming pool located right in the center of the estate and an over-the-pond restaurant and bar right next to it. The underneath pond is used for fish massage. Spring Valley is Uniquely Kep!Besides just the accommodation, Spring Valley offers;- Room services- Massage- Restaurant and bar (late night) - Bike (mountain and motor) rental - Souvenir shop - Book exchange - Local tours and transport arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spring Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing