We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Retreat but could improve”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spring Valley Resort
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Kep
Manama
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lovely Retreat but could improve”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is a lovely resort with beautiful gardens and pool area. The staff are friendly and extremely helpful with taxis and onward transport. The downside is the buildings themselves; I was in D block which is pretty unattractive, but I had a lovely view over the gardens to the sea. I believe that the rooms vary hugely in quality. Mine was large and perfectly adequate (I was told I had been upgraded from standard), its just the building is out of keeping with the rest of the environment. Also in my view the breakfast was no more than adequate, the Western option is an omelette, though this is typical of most of the places I stayed in Cambodia.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BridgeQueen_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    75
    32
    9
    2
See reviews for
44
105
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We booked four nights, ended up staying six. Everything was taken care of for us, the location was so beautiful and picturesque and the owners, Ritz and his wife, David and Cinzia were the most adorable, accommodating hosts you could ever dream about. If you want to mix some chill time with some exploration time this is the place from which to base.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaddyGraFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The rooms were fab clean and the staff was very good! Loved David and his his wife ( didn't get her name...sorry) Great morning breakfast and wonderful pool!!!! OOOHH and hot h2o too! It's not a requirement, just a nice surprise in the morn!!! Will totally be back to this Hotel!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyraemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

A very nice, for Cambodia rather atypical, luxurious resort. Great pool, nice garden. Restaurant wasn't exactly the greatest one we've been to but it's very good. Breakfast is awesome. The rooms are large and clean, with AC and good bathroom. The only thing missing was some place to just chill, relax. There's the restaurant and there's the pool area. Yet allthough the garden is nice and large, it lacks places to sit and relax. Kind of weird in a country where dozing in hammocks is the favorite, local past time. Still, if after all the rustic bungalows and whatnot you're looking for more western comfort, this place offers it. The location is pretty good, right next to the small national park. It's quiet and green all around. And the staff is extremely friendly, attentive, speaks english well enough, and can realy help with information regarding pretty much anything you'd need to know around Kep & Kampot.

Room Tip: Stayed in one of the pagoda shaped buildings. Everything great, but the "normal" buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This place does all it can to please you. The highlights are 1. the pool, exceptionally well-maintained and relaxing, 2. the sea views from the 3rd floor rooms, 3. the big rooms, 4. the location, walking distance from the bus, the swimming beach and right on the national park path, 5. the restaurant with well-prepared and reasonably-priced food, 6. bikes for use (better ones for rent). My only complaints were the bikes were not very well maintained (but usable) and the beds were more firm than I'm used to.

Room Tip: ask for a 3rd floor room if you appreciate some sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greg_in_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I stayed here with 3 friends on a girl's weekend, and we had a fantastic time! The resort is gorgeous, with ocean views but in a valley so you feel like you are in the middle of the jungle as well. This place is walking distance to the crab shacks, and also an easy walk to the beach. The resort staff helped us arrange transportation to Rabbit Island, and also helped with dinner reservations in town. The owner and his partner were very welcoming and friendly, the rooms were super clean, and the pool was the perfect setting to relax and have a delicious fruit smoothie from the bar. The free breakfast was really good, eggs cooked any way you liked, crepes, and fresh fruit. I'm heading back with my mum this month for another stay. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floors of the buildings have a lovely breeze all day long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This place was pretty good. The room was spacious and the staff was nice and friendly. They can speak and understand english fairly well, which is a plus. It has a nice landscaping with several fruit trees and vegetation on the grounds. They boast that many of the menu items can be found growing on the property. The room had a/c and hot water and you recieve a complimentary drink upon check-in. We paid $45 per night, which is relatively expensive for Cambodia. I have lived here a year in a half and could receive comparable accomodations for half the price. The rooms were clean, but I was disappointed that we did not have a tv in the room nor a wardrobe, which is what I am accustommed to in Cambodia guesthouses/hotels. Having said that the pool was beautiful and it has a lovely deck. The pool and the all you can eat breakfast I'm sure may make up for the price tag for many guests. The breakfast comes with assorted fresh fruit, eggs cooked to order, and crepe cooked to order, or fried rice/fried noodle. For those on a budget, I will suggest staying elsewhere, however if you just want a quiet place to stay with a pool, great atmosphere, and really friendly staff I highly recommend it. One point of caution, all rooms do not have seaview. Be sure to request the building with the seaview.

Room Tip: One point of caution, all rooms do not have seaview. Be sure to request the building with the seavi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kep hotels
0.5 mi away
Raingsey Bungalow
Raingsey Bungalow
#5 of 17 in Kep
342 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge
0.8 mi away
Knai Bang Chatt
Knai Bang Chatt
#2 of 17 in Kep
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tara Lodge
Tara Lodge
#4 of 17 in Kep
144 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vanna Hill Resort
Vanna Hill Resort
#7 of 17 in Kep
206 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Flamboyant Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Valley Resort

Property: Spring Valley Resort
Address: | Phum Thmey, Khum Prey Thom, Kep, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Kep
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Spring Valley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring Valley Resort is a Cambodian run garden resort located right on the slope of Kep National Park with only a few minutes walking to the main beach. At Spring Valley one would find green in about every corner of the estate. There are more than ten kinds of fruit plants such as durian, mangosteen, mango, rose apple, three kinds of banana, papaya, jackfruit, passion fruit, sandorica and so on together with flower plants and many others; putting it together into a very beautifully landscaping resort with all the buildings and walkways in between. There are 33 rooms categorizing into five different classes – Standard, Deluxe, Pagoda Deluxe, Bungalow and Khmer Wooden House with sea view for most of 2nd and 3rd floor rooms. Together, there is a beautiful swimming pool located right in the center of the estate and an over-the-pond restaurant and bar right next to it. The underneath pond is used for fish massage. Spring Valley is Uniquely Kep!Besides just the accommodation, Spring Valley offers;- Room services- Massage- Restaurant and bar (late night) - Bike (mountain and motor) rental - Souvenir shop - Book exchange - Local tours and transport arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spring Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing