We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to relax a enjoy the fruit!”
Review of Tree Top Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tree Top Bungalows
Ranked #5 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Kep
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great place to relax a enjoy the fruit!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The $5 dollar rooms are incredible value and are perfectly comfortable, if a little small for two people. This doesn't matter though as the restaurant is a much better place to relax and the lady who runs the place will bring you plates of fresh fruit from the various trees on the property, the pineapple she serves is some of the best I have ever tasted and just couldn't get enough of it. The shared toilets are very clean and there is one between two rooms which is perfectly adequate, spare toiletries are also provided which was a nice touch. The owner also, wisely, advised us against a trip to Rabbit Island in the rainy season which we really appreciated and she was very honest about which bus company to book for our trip back to Phnom Penh. The wifi is very fast and sometimes reached our room, which was one of the furthest away. But this wasn't a problem as we could connect to the neighbouring kep lodge's connection! Disregard LP's comment about the place being "otherwise unremarkable" in it's Cambodia book, we loved our stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    39
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
47
27
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

we had a great time at Tree Top bungalows. The staff was really friendly and they were very helpful by letting us postpone our visit to their resort because we accidently booked a resort at the wrong place with the same name :) Our bungalow was located in a beautiful garden with paradisic views and we loved falling asleep to the sound of the crickets.
The food in the restaurant was good and we loved sitting in the restaurant just to enjoy the beautiful view you get from there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I've been traveling around SE Asia for five months now, and I'd say that this was the best value accommodation of my whole trip. My $5 room was perfectly comfortable with a hammock outside, and set in beautiful grounds. Plus, the owner really went out of her way to make me feel comfortable. As I worked through the afternoons in the restaurant (good food too) she would sometimes cut up fruit for me - just because she's sweet. If I were to return to Kep, I'd 100% stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paperdavid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights either side of a stay on rabbit island. Absolutely perfect. We stayed in a garden bungalow & a bungalow near the restaurant, both basic but very well finished off. The rooms have balconies with chairs & hammocks on overlooking the sea. Both of our rooms were en suite at $15 but equally nice rooms with shared bathroom were available at $5. Food in the restaurant is excellent & reasonably priced, including local crab specialities. Probably need to take a tuk tuk or hire a bike/motorbike from the hotel to get to the beach or crab market (enthusiastic walkers may walk!) but this is inexpensive. The Cambodian owner is friendly & helpful & can arrange tuk tuks & buses & trips at competitive prices. Can use the swimming pool in next door kep lodge for a small fee & other resorts are within short walking distance for food & drinks.
Definitely the best budget accommodation we have stayed in in south east Asia! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hebrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Can recommend for the views and service (free fruit bowl on arrival!) if you're ok with basic facilities.
Food is pretty decent also.
Easy walk to Kep beach, and to the Kep national park (go to sunset rock for a view)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelrickwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The winning formula here is the location. Really relaxing, and set back in the jungle. I stayed in both the ground level huts and the more expensive treetop huts. I even slept in the hammocks outside just for the experience. The treetop is well worth the extra expense though, just for the experience, plus the great views. The owner was really friendly and helpful. Other staff didn't speak much English, which is fine, though the service was sometimes a little slow and confused. You can access the national park through (the much more expensive!) Kep Lodge next door and a 10 minute climb up through the jungle. Overall, a great place to stay, especially combined with a night or two over at Rabbit Island.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go for the treetop rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidSaulFineberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

A beautiful place, well located into the hills- you can see the whole coast from the tree bungalows ($15).
We saw the $10 rooms also, and they were just a little smaller, with plugs outside, and lower down, which means less of the view. But, they are quite adequate.
Made entirely from wood and palm leaves, the huts are rustic and airy. Set in a fruit orchard, with rustic paving and walkways.
The owner/manager lady is friendly, but the language barrier makes some things a little tricky & guarantees some miscommunication. The staff speak zero English. It took a while to enquire/find out/fix the 'housekeeping' situation. We'd stayed in a fair few places on our travels, this one more expensive, and always received fresh towels, loo-roll, clean sheets/a made bed. But here this wasn't the case, and the owner/manager lady seemed so what put out (we stayed 4 days!) By our request to have the room & bathroom tidied. I asked several times for.a fresh pillow, never to receive one. ownEr handed our key in at 9.30am & specified (we were told we needed to specify if we wanted housekeeping) to have everything changed etc. We returned at 4.30pm, to a still uncleaned room. Bit poor. But the place itself is fantastic, just the staff need to be a little more together & organised.

Room Tip: The more expensive the room, the more space, creature comforts and better views you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kep hotels
0.5 mi away
Knai Bang Chatt
Knai Bang Chatt
#1 of 17 in Kep
548 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge
0.1 mi away
Tara Lodge
Tara Lodge
#4 of 17 in Kep
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Khmer Hands Bungalows
1.0 mi away
Botanica Guest House
1.8 mi away
Kep Guest House
Kep Guest House
#8 of 52 in Kep
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tree Top Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree Top Bungalows

Property: Tree Top Bungalows
Address: 33A Nh | (next to Kep Lodge), Kep 07503, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Kep
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tree Top Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing