We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice homy place and friendly owners”
Review of The Boat House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Boat House
Ranked #18 of 52 Kep B&B and Inns
Estonia
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice homy place and friendly owners”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Was on a bicycle trip and had my route through Kep. Arriving at the city and found central square met lovely lady asking "Do I have place to stay?" And she seemed to be the French owner of the small guest house around 500 meters from sea.
Nice lovely house, big yard, Ok room and good price.
Free internet and pool table.
Walked to crab shacks and had really good grab and local green pepper.
Recommend that place, owners speak English and are friendly, give you advice about area.

Room Tip: Offered nice refreshment on arrival!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citybike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    38
    12
    8
    8
See reviews for
11
70
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

This is a great b&b in Kep. The rooms in the second house are charming, yet the bathroom could be improved. Christophe, the French owner and manager of the boat house is a very nive guy, ready to advice you on the best stuff to do in Kep.
I visited le bout du monde b&b and the Jasmine eco lodge while in Kep and I still think the boat house has a much more pleasant and friendly environment.
Recommended!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Fa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Kep Boat House
We stayed at the Kep Boathouse guesthouse in December 2013. It is run by Christophe, an escapee from 21st century France. Christophe is very welcoming and helpful. The rooms are clean and basic but affordable with great views to the mountains. It has a relaxed vibe.
It's in easy walking distance to Kep beach and the Crab market.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank acmejc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I staid at the boathouse for 2 nights last august. The price is very good since they have different rooms at different prices, the place is very clean and the owner is a very helpful frenchman who recently moved to Cambodia. The place is just at a 10 minutes walk from the crab market and 5 minutes from the "bus station". Very calm, I've enjoied it a lot.

Room Tip: The boathouse consists of two buildings, one on the mainroad the second a bit off. Stay in the secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kwesi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liege, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Great place hidden in an amazing and peaceful garden, near to the crab market. They have rooms for all kind of budgets, ranging from $6 to $20 and above. Thus a great place to meet lots of different people! Very friendly and helpful staff, great food and pastis for apretitif! Had a perfect stay! Merci encore!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamD2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed here originally for 2 nights but liked it so much that we stayed for 4. The staff were very friendly and the French owners were full of information and made us feel very welcome.

Only 5-10 minute walk to the beach (left), national park (behind) and, crab market (right). As we were back packing we chose the $6 room. This room had no window however it made for a nice dark sleep. The breakfasts were reasonably priced and were very tasty (especially the homemade pineapple jam!).

I would recommend staying here as its in a good location, amazing value for money and the staff are lovely .

Thank you for such a lovely stay!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodii24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We arrived in Kep from Ha Tien (Vietnam) and found this house by the way towards Kampot. We were looking for a budget accommodation but we found it nearly a tiny resort (especially for the inner house, not the outside yellow guesthouse). For the first day we stayed in the room below, tiny and clear from all aspects. The second day we were lucky enough to get the room upstairs, with a great atmosphere surrounded by green plants, wooden furniture and local artifacts. The house is totally built in the traditional way, with a spacious dinning space on the ground. We spent much time there, tasting the Amok fish and other foods. The staff was so nice and friendly that we booked the motocycle and the bus tickets to Kampot from them. Compared to the people we met in Vietnam, they showed a relatively high level of services. The boss was really very kind and ready to answer every question we posed. As one night we were hungry but we could only ask him for help, he prepared himself 2 sandwiches for us, without any charge. The house is very well located, at the bottom of the mountain where situates the national park, and the tiny path towards the crab market is just 3 mins walk...We were so happy and so surprised to jump into such a nice place, that we prolonged our stay in Kep for 3 more days...best accommodation during our southeast asia tour~

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kep hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge
0.1 mi away
Raingsey Bungalow
Raingsey Bungalow
#5 of 18 in Kep
343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vanna Hill Resort
Vanna Hill Resort
#8 of 18 in Kep
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Knai Bang Chatt
Knai Bang Chatt
#1 of 18 in Kep
554 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tara Lodge
Tara Lodge
#4 of 18 in Kep
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Khmer Hands Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat House

Property: The Boat House
Address: Beach Road, Kep 07503, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Kep
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest house is located between the two hills close to the Kep National Park, 300 meters from the Kep beach. The house is a traditional wooden Khmer style. The restaurant serve a fine and traditional French cuisine made by our French chef with reasonable prices. Ideal for rest and family atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Boat House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boat House Hotel Kep

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing