We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Boat House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Boat House
Ranked #20 of 50 Kep B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed here originally for 2 nights but liked it so much that we stayed for 4. The staff were very friendly and the French owners were full of information and made us feel very welcome.

Only 5-10 minute walk to the beach (left), national park (behind) and, crab market (right). As we were back packing we chose the $6 room. This room had no window however it made for a nice dark sleep. The breakfasts were reasonably priced and were very tasty (especially the homemade pineapple jam!).

I would recommend staying here as its in a good location, amazing value for money and the staff are lovely .

Thank you for such a lovely stay!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodii24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    37
    12
    8
    8
See reviews for
10
70
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We arrived in Kep from Ha Tien (Vietnam) and found this house by the way towards Kampot. We were looking for a budget accommodation but we found it nearly a tiny resort (especially for the inner house, not the outside yellow guesthouse). For the first day we stayed in the room below, tiny and clear from all aspects. The second day we were lucky enough to get the room upstairs, with a great atmosphere surrounded by green plants, wooden furniture and local artifacts. The house is totally built in the traditional way, with a spacious dinning space on the ground. We spent much time there, tasting the Amok fish and other foods. The staff was so nice and friendly that we booked the motocycle and the bus tickets to Kampot from them. Compared to the people we met in Vietnam, they showed a relatively high level of services. The boss was really very kind and ready to answer every question we posed. As one night we were hungry but we could only ask him for help, he prepared himself 2 sandwiches for us, without any charge. The house is very well located, at the bottom of the mountain where situates the national park, and the tiny path towards the crab market is just 3 mins walk...We were so happy and so surprised to jump into such a nice place, that we prolonged our stay in Kep for 3 more days...best accommodation during our southeast asia tour~

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

There are 2 different houses ranging in price. We stayed in the cheaper Boat House 2, for $8 with fan and cold water showers. The staff are really friendly and so is the owner Christophe from France. They really make you feel welcomed and showed us around to the other house. The rooms looked really nice (but out of our price range) and there was a TV area to use with a bunch of DVDs to watch. We rented some bikes that weren't in the best condition (very rusty and old brakes) but for only $1 each they were ok. Great location to crab market. Very nice place

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Squnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

The Boat House on first appearance seemed charming. They have a lovely, spacious and relaxing eating/communal area, and the owner was friendly and chatty.

But this was where the pleasure ended. Although they had a menu available all day, they didn't have much food left in the afternoon when we arrived (even though they'd had a few weeks notice that we'd be there, and the place didn't seem busy), and what they had left was insubstantial and just wasn't very good. There were about two dozens huge mosquitoes in our bathroom, and the bedroom (slightly above ground level) was dark, dingy and damp smelling, although they were reasonably spacious.

Their communication was poor too - they booked a taxi to take us to Phnom Penh in the morning, then told us when the taxi was due to arrive that the taxi company had cancelled it, because they wanted a higher fare as it was a public holiday. While the cancellation wasn't the staffs' fault, we were annoyed and stressed that they hadn't told us earlier, or made any attempts to rearrange a different taxi. With little time to spare, we got them to rebook the taxi, for more money. We had to, because one member of the group had a flight to catch.

This place was a real disappointment after the warm, efficient and generous hospitality we'd experienced the previous two nights at Ganesha's Eco Resort in Kampot. If there were no other accommodation available in Kep, I might consider giving The Boat House a second chance and ask for one of the higher rooms, and eat elsewhere. But given a choice I would try to find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlemogwai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

I spent two wonderful relaxing days and nights in this enchanted guesthouse: There is a variety of rooms in two different buildings for all budgets. I chose a more expensive one (20 $) due to the fascinating wooden building in Khmer style. The en-suite bathroom has a bathtub and even daylight. I felt very comfortable. There is no air/con but this is not necessary due to the many trees around the house which help to keep it cool.
The food is very tasty and generous: For 5 $ I got a superb breakfast with eggs, bacon, fruit juice, fruit salad, bread, butter jam and coffee! And the fish amok is great.
Not to forget the host, Christophe from France, who makes your stay a special one.
Although not situated at the ocean but just between the central point where the buses arrive and the crab market on the other side, it's easy walking distance to both places.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

This place was the best hotel we had in Cambodia. The rooms were clean, the garden was a beautiful place to just relax in and staff was very friendly and helpful when we were looking for sights around kep and to find a bus to Siem Reap.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wuldre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Kep is a lovely place to chill out for a few days. The Boat House complements that notion perfectly.

Two beautiful converted houses with immaculate, furnished, cool rooms at very reasonable rates. Set in beautiful gardens and surrounded by countryside. Delicious breakfast at on-site restaurant and lovely lounge areas to read and write and while away the days. Lovely, helpful staff and a really nice ambience/vibe. Perfect for some down-time and for couples.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katieepsomuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kep hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge
0.2 mi away
Knai Bang Chatt
Knai Bang Chatt
#1 of 17 in Kep
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kep Lodge
Kep Lodge
#9 of 17 in Kep
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rega Kep Ma Campagne Guesthouse & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Bacoma
Bacoma
#1 of 29 in Kep
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bird of Paradise Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat House

Property: The Boat House
Address: Beach Road, Kep 07503, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Kep
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest house is located between the two hills close to the Kep National Park, 300 meters from the Kep beach. The house is a traditional wooden Khmer style. The restaurant serve a fine and traditional French cuisine made by our French chef with reasonable prices. Ideal for rest and family atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Boat House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boat House Hotel Kep

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing