We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, friendly staff and a lovely setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boat House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Boat House
Ranked #20 of 48 Kep B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great, friendly staff and a lovely setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

A lovely hotel / guesthouse about a twenty minute walk from the crab market (where you'll probably want to eat) and the Sailing Club (which is the perfect place to watch the sun go down enjoying a half price cocktail). It's about a ten minute walk to the beach. It's at the edge of the national park which is also a great place to go for a walk (wear lots of bug spray!)

The room we had - $12, on the first floor in the original building with the restaurant - was quite basic but it was spacious and the oil burner when we first arrived was a nice touch.

The best thing about the Boat House is the staff. Lina, the owner, and the guy who worked the bar/restaurant were great. When they heard we were learning Khmer they were very patient to talk to us, slowly, in Khmer and teach us new words. We felt at home there immediately. A lovely, peaceful place to stay for a few days and one we'd certainly go back to if we were in Kep again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clarabelle007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    37
    12
    8
    8
See reviews for
10
70
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

We decided to try Kep out after reading about it in the Lonely Planet guide, and we're so glad we did. Small coastal place, fantastic if you just want to relax after doing the Angkor Wat and killing fields trips.
The boathouse staff were very friendly and accommodating. The setting is tranquil and quiet and only a 5 minute walk to either the kep village area, or the waterfront restaurant area. The room was clean and basic. We opted for the upstairs, which was hot during the day,but fine with the fans at night. This was in the old boathouse accommodation, not the new boathouse 2 which is a concrete building at the entrance to the original one. At US$15 a night per room, you can't go wrong.
Warning.....Do not use the travel agents they use for the border crossing though!! The minibus people were rude, arrogant and shouting !! We ended up going via Chau Doc to Ho Chin Minh City which was a massive detour so again don't use Mekong tours when in Ha Tein as con artists !!
Overall, Kep is a beautiful place, but choose carefully who escorts you over the border, and when you catch the large transit van buses onwards, if you're going to Ho Chin Minh, you need to be going via Can Tho (change bus here) not Chau Doc !!

Room Tip: Stay in the old boathouse accommodation if you don't need air con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

I spent 2 days here and had a really great experience. The staff were great. the rooms were clean and good value for the money. The food was great I had the fish Amok yum yum. I would definitely come here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hearny007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

We booked a $10 double room and received a free upgrade to a double room on the top floor with a balcony when we arrived! The room was very large and well furnished and had a ceiling fan and ensuite with a hot shower.

Pros:
- Amazing food!
- Peaceful and secluded area right on the edge of the national park
- Lovely common room with TV and a bunch of movies
- Helpful staff

Cons:
- The bathroom. It was flooded for the entire 4 days we were there. There is also a strange one inch gap between the ceiling and wall of the bathrooms of the two rooms upstairs. This made for some pretty awkward trips to the bathroom. Luckily, the room next to us was only occupied for one night.

Overall, definitely a sweet place to stay. I'd stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jj8687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

I had a great stay at the Boathouse, a friend recommended me the place and my stay was great. Is a simple cozy house, with an excellent quality-price value. The rooms are cozy and clean, but fro the price, don't expect luxury. Lina, the owner, is very friendly, and the staff is helpful and attentive. You can rent motorbikes, and they can arrange taxis and tours.
A great place to stay and relax, specially for groups of friends and families.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maxolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

I headed to Kep for a day trip and ended up having to stay there overnight. Arrived at the Boat House at very short notice and was lucky enough to get the last room - 8 USD for a very clean double room (fan) with en-suite (which was also very clean).

The staff were more than helpful with me - I had a non-urgent medical problem while on Kep beach, and decided it was best I stayed there for the night instead of returning to my long term accommodation at Kampot.

So the staff - outstanding care and attention. Unfortunately another traveller snapped the key to my moto while driving it to the hotel.... the staff were so helpful and managed to get a key cutter to come out to the bike early the next morning, which saved me so much trouble (and money).
Breakfast was good - at 4USD I had scrambled egg; bacon; baguette with butter and a lovely thick, chunky jam spread; orange juice (bottled) and good strong coffee (re-fills free). This was all enjoyed while watching my bike being repaired and within great settings.

A tremendous stay, great attentive staff and I very much appreciate their help on getting me back on the road.

Superb!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donnie1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

Could not give us the room we booked as the previous people had decided to stay longer, only options were cheaper and not as nice. No apology so we went somewhere else

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ollie_and_Nicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kep hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge
0.2 mi away
Knai Bang Chatt
Knai Bang Chatt
#1 of 17 in Kep
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rega Kep Ma Campagne Guesthouse & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bacoma
Bacoma
#1 of 29 in Kep
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Khmer Hands Bungalows
0.2 mi away
Q Bungalows
Q Bungalows
#7 of 29 in Kep
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat House

Property: The Boat House
Address: Beach Road, Kep 07503, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Kep
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest house is located between the two hills close to the Kep National Park, 300 meters from the Kep beach. The house is a traditional wooden Khmer style. The restaurant serve a fine and traditional French cuisine made by our French chef with reasonable prices. Ideal for rest and family atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Boat House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boat House Hotel Kep

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing