We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful house with a rich history”
Review of Villa Romonea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Romonea
Ranked #9 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Kep
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful house with a rich history”
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Facing the sea and the rice fields, the villa is an ideal venue for a week end in family, or friends. The nice team led by ms chanty is very friendly and made us feel like at home right from the arrival. The pool and the area around is perfect for a dinner with friends. We all loved it!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Asiadvisor001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Woodland Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

It is hard to describe the depth of relaxation that washes over you sitting by the salt water infinity pool, looking at the ocean, with a Gin and Tonic in your hand. Everything is taken care of, the everyday world seems very far away, and you realize that you are actually on vacation. The villa is run like a private manor with no product placements or arrangements that make you feel like they are just trying to make money. Stephane and his staff keep the place in top shape. With two young children over four days, we had almost no reason to ever leave the place except to hike around in Kep National Park. I am slightly conflicted however as to why I am writing this review: Why would I want anyone else to know about this place?

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TapleyJordanwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We spent Christmas 2013 at Villa Romonea, and everything about our stay was wonderful! I can't think of a negative thing to say about this gorgeous place. Stephane and his staff were so friendly and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. The house and the grounds are well cared for and create a lovely relaxing atmosphere. A delicious breakfast was served up to us every morning and the local food was superb, all of the meals we ordered in were delivered promptly and served up beautifully by Mrs Chanty and the wonderful kitchen staff.
I would definitely recommend this Villa and would go back there again.
My only complaint is that our stay wasn't long enough!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JodeneT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2013

A truly relaxing experience, rewarding for the senses, and delivered professionally by a very friendly staff. Right on the coast, we enjoyed great food, a beautiful white, clean and invigorating villa with a salt water pool looking over the ocean. We were looked after by the very professional and attentive Stephane and his staff, including Mrs.Chanty and her excellent kitchen staff.

We are a musical family and got to play guitar on the deck and also listen to music with the ocean in the background, very cool.

In particular, the property manager Stephane as well as looking after our boarding needs, took his time to tell us about the history of the villa, the region and its development. Each night we had the opportunity of eating in or ordering from a range of possible local foods, all of which were excellent and delivered promptly.

I recommend this villa to all. Next chance we get, we are going back.

Room Tip: There are family rooms, couples rooms, and singles rooms - good for us because we all of these in ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerard t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
119 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights in this superbe villa with amazing view on the sea. The villa has only six rooms, and the concept is that you can treat it like your home. You can easily mingle with other guests in the kitchen during breakfast if you like (or not, up to you) and the remainder if the day. Mrs Chanty is supervising the kitchen, she is very nice and speaks very well English. Stephane, the property manager is very attentive as well and provids lots of information about the villa, its arcitecture, the environment, etc. During dinner he suggested some very nice burgundy wines. The villa works with neighbouring restaurants for dinner in the evening. Depending on your preference, you can dine at a restaurant or just order it and have it delivered. Mrs Chanty and Stephane will arrange a romantic table for you outside on the pool deck or under a tree whatever you want. The pool is very nice, it even has a part where it is 3 metres deep, next to an undeep part. At the poolside there are sun chairs (maybe a suggestion to also provide sun beds) and pool towels are provided. We had the best room of the villa on the first floor with a huge bathroom and view on the large garden and the sea. We enjoyed ourselves and highly recommend this place. Stehane and mrs Chanty (and staff) thanks again for your hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosita_Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is an amazing place to stay. A beautiful restored Khmer villa, with 6 different rooms. It has a homely feel. The room we stayed in was perfect, with a huge bathroom, nicely decorated with a view on both garden and pool. The villa is airy and light. The location is stunning with a beautiful pool in an enormous garden that is running towards the sea. For bird lovers, bring your binoculars, sunrise and sunset are perfect for bird watching in the garden ! Swimming in sea is also possible.
Staff was super friendly and the manager very welcoming. Wealth of knowlegde on the history of this property and on cambodja in general. Enthousiastic and engaged for this special place and towards his guests. Close to the crab market, 5 minutes tuk tuk to kep beach. We would recommend this villa to all our friends! From all the hotels we stayed in during our 3 months travels in vietnam and cambodja, this one we will remember.

Room Tip: You can choose between larger and smaller rooms. They all are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeroen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We went to villa romonea in April 2012 for a weekend with some friends and enjoyed it very much.
The rooms are cosy and as you can't hear any noise from the nearby national road, we slept until 12pm.
The staff is very helpfull too.
At that time, the deck around the pool was starting to be tired but it did not prevent us to spend the evening enjoying the a swim while having cocktails in front of the sea.
The garden is impressive, certainly on of the biggest in Kep. There are even some rice fields in it.
We went back there 2 weeks ago (July 2013) for a friends wedding and had a great time again.
The wooden deck had been rebuilt and I think more outdoor furniture has been added so we really could enjoy the place till the end of the night.
We also had a gargantuan brunch the following day with an amazing choice of dishes.
It's definitely a special place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KoppoKh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kep hotels
0.2 mi away
Knai Bang Chatt
Knai Bang Chatt
#1 of 17 in Kep
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge
0.1 mi away
Raingsey Bungalow
Raingsey Bungalow
#5 of 17 in Kep
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Flamboyant Resort
0.6 mi away
Spring Valley Resort
0.3 mi away
Tara Lodge
Tara Lodge
#3 of 17 in Kep
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Romonea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Romonea

Property: Villa Romonea
Address: Kampot Road | Prey Thom, Kep Thmei, Kep 07503, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Kep
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Romonea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing