We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you go to Kep, stay at Villa Romonea”
Review of Villa Romonea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Romonea
Ranked #8 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Kep
Reviewed December 29, 2013

A truly relaxing experience, rewarding for the senses, and delivered professionally by a very friendly staff. Right on the coast, we enjoyed great food, a beautiful white, clean and invigorating villa with a salt water pool looking over the ocean. We were looked after by the very professional and attentive Stephane and his staff, including Mrs.Chanty and her excellent kitchen staff.

We are a musical family and got to play guitar on the deck and also listen to music with the ocean in the background, very cool.

In particular, the property manager Stephane as well as looking after our boarding needs, took his time to tell us about the history of the villa, the region and its development. Each night we had the opportunity of eating in or ordering from a range of possible local foods, all of which were excellent and delivered promptly.

I recommend this villa to all. Next chance we get, we are going back.

Room Tip: There are family rooms, couples rooms, and singles rooms - good for us because we all of these in ou...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerard t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
There are newer reviews for Villa Romonea
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 50 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights in this superbe villa with amazing view on the sea. The villa has only six rooms, and the concept is that you can treat it like your home. You can easily mingle with other guests in the kitchen during breakfast if you like (or not, up to you) and the remainder if the day. Mrs Chanty is supervising the kitchen, she is very nice and speaks very well English. Stephane, the property manager is very attentive as well and provids lots of information about the villa, its arcitecture, the environment, etc. During dinner he suggested some very nice burgundy wines. The villa works with neighbouring restaurants for dinner in the evening. Depending on your preference, you can dine at a restaurant or just order it and have it delivered. Mrs Chanty and Stephane will arrange a romantic table for you outside on the pool deck or under a tree whatever you want. The pool is very nice, it even has a part where it is 3 metres deep, next to an undeep part. At the poolside there are sun chairs (maybe a suggestion to also provide sun beds) and pool towels are provided. We had the best room of the villa on the first floor with a huge bathroom and view on the large garden and the sea. We enjoyed ourselves and highly recommend this place. Stehane and mrs Chanty (and staff) thanks again for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosita_Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is an amazing place to stay. A beautiful restored Khmer villa, with 6 different rooms. It has a homely feel. The room we stayed in was perfect, with a huge bathroom, nicely decorated with a view on both garden and pool. The villa is airy and light. The location is stunning with a beautiful pool in an enormous garden that is running towards the sea. For bird lovers, bring your binoculars, sunrise and sunset are perfect for bird watching in the garden ! Swimming in sea is also possible.
Staff was super friendly and the manager very welcoming. Wealth of knowlegde on the history of this property and on cambodja in general. Enthousiastic and engaged for this special place and towards his guests. Close to the crab market, 5 minutes tuk tuk to kep beach. We would recommend this villa to all our friends! From all the hotels we stayed in during our 3 months travels in vietnam and cambodja, this one we will remember.

Room Tip: You can choose between larger and smaller rooms. They all are great.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeroen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We went to villa romonea in April 2012 for a weekend with some friends and enjoyed it very much.
The rooms are cosy and as you can't hear any noise from the nearby national road, we slept until 12pm.
The staff is very helpfull too.
At that time, the deck around the pool was starting to be tired but it did not prevent us to spend the evening enjoying the a swim while having cocktails in front of the sea.
The garden is impressive, certainly on of the biggest in Kep. There are even some rice fields in it.
We went back there 2 weeks ago (July 2013) for a friends wedding and had a great time again.
The wooden deck had been rebuilt and I think more outdoor furniture has been added so we really could enjoy the place till the end of the night.
We also had a gargantuan brunch the following day with an amazing choice of dishes.
It's definitely a special place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KoppoKh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I've just stayed five days at Villa Romonea Kep with a bunch of friends for a 40th birthday. We booked the whole villa, so 12 of us staying in the six huge rooms. The resort is stylish, charming as the villa is surrounded by a walled garden and faces the sea. They have just renovated the infinity pool and its the perfect place for sunset drinks and chilling out. The food and service is what really makes staying here special. Stephane and his staff took excellent care of us. The breakfast is world class, and then you can order from any restaurant in the local area and they will deliver, so you have a choice of the best local restaurants food also. Or if you require the Villa can lay on a seafood BBQ for you. Day trips go see the old ruined Royal Palace 1km away, its riddled with bullet holes and if you pay the caretaker $1 you can go in and walk around. For lunch try the sailing club, that's 400 meters from Villa Romonea and where Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie stayed when they were in Kep.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJ32UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed at Villa Romonea with friends in April 2013. They booked first and secured the "best rooms". Sure, they had a sea view etc, but our two rooms were very comfortable, clean and smart & half the price! The bathrooms were clean, tasteful & modern.

Breakfast was a real treat. Freshly cut fruit from the garden, and excellent bacon supplemented a great range of french pastries and breads. Lunch and dinner was available by ordering out, which staff managed for us, and then laid up the tables when food arrived. What a great service and meant everyone was happy with such a varied selection!

Facilities were good; the children loved the pool, the tennis court (when Cambodia's Davis Cup tennis player wasn't practising there!), and of course the TV room had it's uses. Shortly after we arrived a tropical storm hit, and all three families hung out playing games in the "heart" of the villa. That worked really well, and demonstrates the thoughtful design of the original architect.

The grounds are something not to be underestimated. They really are spacious. No building site next door, and even if there were at some stage in the future, the villa and pool are a good distance from the neighbouring properties - something unusual in Cambodia's crowded hotel sector.

This was a great place to stay, and we have no hesitation in saying "we'll be back".

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SR-SHZJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Villa Romonea is a very special boutique hotel sitting along beach in the quiet town of Kep, next to Vietnam border. I was 1st attracted to visit it by its unique architecture design, and listed as the World's Hottest Hotel 2011.

I've stayed there a few times both solo and with groups of friends. It feels like visiting your wealthy friend's private house: deep infinity salt water pool, sea front pavilion where I do my yoga every evening in dream like sunset, int'l quality tennis court, huge garden where I can have massage under cool shade of trees... They recently finished renovation of the deck, outdoor shower, and facade painting. It's a perfect place for 3-4 families rent the entire villa together, very kids friendly. Also good for parties, I joined a wedding there recently with 120+ guests, everyone loves it...

Staffs here are friendly and helpful, the last existing unspoiled beautiful Khmer people. Food can be ordered from best near Kep restaurants, and staff would serve candle light dinner outdoor with style under the mango tree.

As for activities, there's local sandy beach Rabbit island good for day trip, Sailing club next door along the beach, or just simply hang out relaxing in the house and pool side...

I would recommend people looking for exclusive seaside vacation experience to try it!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceciliaxmzhang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kep hotels
0.2 mi away
Knai Bang Chatt
Knai Bang Chatt
#1 of 18 in Kep
557 reviews
0.1 mi away
Raingsey Bungalow
Raingsey Bungalow
#5 of 18 in Kep
348 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Flamboyant Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge
0.3 mi away
Tara Lodge
Tara Lodge
#4 of 18 in Kep
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Veranda Natural Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Romonea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Romonea

Address: Kampot Road | Prey Thom, Kep Thmei, Kep 07503, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Kep
Price Range: $90 - $608 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Romonea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing