We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique”
Review of The Vine Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Vine Retreat
Ranked #20 of 53 Kep B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This must be the most restful place in Cambodia - unless you do the arduous if rewarding ridge trek as my husband did, instead of just lounging by the cool and lovely salt water pool like me. And nothing was nicer than sitting on the airy upper deck with a large glass of wine watching the sun go down over the hills that stretch to Vietnam, waiting for a delicious supper to be ready. Staff were friendly and helpful and organised our onward travel to Phnom Penh. Our only complaint is that, shock horror, they ran out of wine on our last night! We made do with beer...We stayed for three nights from January 1st 2014.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma F, General Manager at The Vine Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. And apologies we ran out wine, we underestimated how busy we would be during the New Year, but we are fully stocked up again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 109 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2014

I loved the Vine Retreat! It was the perfect relaxing getaway that I needed and the lodge itself has a lot of rustic charm; set in beautiful Cambodian countryside. Our room was simple but charming and clean. The staff were very kind and were happy to help with whatever needs we had. The food, which is primarily Khmai food, was excellent & wholesome. A perfect retreat!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 3clareo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma F, General Manager at The Vine Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

We will pass on your nice comments to our cooks in the kitchen about our good food, they will be very pleased.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

This is a lovely place away from the noisy towns. I love the old wooden house and the atmosphere was great! The food was pretty good, although not everything on the menu was available and the prices were a little higher than our usual budget. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the family room was very spacious. The only disappointment with the room is that no toiletries were provided. For that price, I would have expected at least some soap for hand washing!
The staff were very attentive. The swimming pool was great. My kids had a ball. They were very tolerant of having noisy young kids around. I must note that the house is probably not the most ideal place for active toddlers (like mine) as the balconies and eating areas have many easy to climb places that could result in serious injury to un-supervised toddlers. That is not a criticism of the establishment, simply a warning to parents of young children who are looking for a safe place to stay. Our stay would have been so much more relaxing if we did not have to watch our toddler every second to prevent him falling two stories. Our two older kids were a bit better and there was plenty for them to explore.
I really loved the setting at the Vine Retreat and would love to return.....once the kids are a bit older.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Miriam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma F, General Manager at The Vine Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We hope to welcome you back with (or without) the children! They are always welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We Travelled in May 2012. The journey to the Vine is up a dirt road and can seem like you are being led into the middle of nowhere. But the scenary is nice and the trek is well and truely worth it. The place is beautiful. We had the place to ourselves for 3 nights. The rooms are nice, can be a little warm with no air-con. However there is a great pool to cool off in. The food was great, freshly prepared in the kitchen down stairs. The staff were graet also. Sometimes they had a little difficulty understanding our "Aussie" speak. But that's because they are local staff and part of a small local community. One of the staff members took us on a bicycle tour of his village Camcar Bei. And even took us to his house to meet his family, it was a truely unique experience.
The views over the pepper plantation out towards Vietnam border are amazing. If you are looking for a 5 star hotel this isn't for you. If you are looking for very comfortable rooms, great scenary and a very relaxing experience then this is for you. Service was amazing! It was like we had our own private butlers. There were more staff than guests. Just go, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMathews13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma F, General Manager at The Vine Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Thank you for your kind words in your review. We love hearing when customers enjoyed themselves. It makes it all worth while to our team. Hope to see you again some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I LOVED THE VINE RETREAT! it's a beautiful house located among an organic farm of fresh produce and pepper plantations. The house is clean and the food is amazing (very fresh, much better than what you'd get in PHP and Siem Reap). The staff are friendly and attentive. I was here for a yoga retreat and our group absolutely loved our experience there! I WANT TO COME BACK AGAIN!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma F, General Manager at The Vine Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

It was so nice to have you guys here for the yoga retreat and glad you felt refreshed. We hope to see you on another retreat soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

My friends & I stayed for a night here. It is located amidst the many pepper farms in Kep. Natural and peaceful surroundings. The staff is very obliging in providing us with a 5-cent tour of the pepper farm at no additional cost.

They actually do this for free even for those who aren't guests of the hotel, which I felt was really nice of them. However, it is located rather far from the beach and the Crab Market & you definitely require transport. It'll take approximately 35 to 40 mins.

There was a cockroach that manage to sneak into our room, but then it's expected, given the location of the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AsyrafAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma F, General Manager at The Vine Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

So glad you enjoyed your stay at The Vine Retreat. It was a pleasure to have you stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The vine retreat was a fantastic place to relax in a beautiful place with great food. Our room was bright and spacious and came with a fantastic view. The staff are friendly too and kep is a short tuk tuk ride away. Would definitely come back to visit this place again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor, best for a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annabananal2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma F, General Manager at The Vine Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad you were able to find a restful and peaceful spot at our retreat. We welcome you back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kep hotels
4.7 mi away
Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge
4.5 mi away
Tara Lodge
Tara Lodge
#4 of 18 in Kep
154 reviews
4.7 mi away
Raingsey Bungalow
Raingsey Bungalow
#5 of 18 in Kep
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Malibu Estates Bungalows Resort
4.7 mi away
Veranda Natural Resort
4.5 mi away
Khmer Hands Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vine Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vine Retreat

Address: Pepper Road | Phnom Voar, Kep, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Kep
Price Range: $13 - $15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vine Retreat is an eco-conscious yoga retreat centre and guesthouse with an organic garden and pepper farm in Kep, Cambodia. Set on 30 acres of peaceful natural countryside, surrounded by lush green mountains, it's the perfect place for relaxation and rejuvenation. Chill out by our salt water swimming pool, indulge in healthy, fresh, organic food directly from our gardens (we cater to meat eaters and vegetarians) or take a bike ride to explore the local villages. We also have a fully equipped yoga studio which fits up to 25 people. We rent our whole facility for exclusive use for yoga retreat. Please contact us for more information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Vine Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing