We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“adorable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Malibu Estates Bungalows Resort
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Kep
Riga, Latvia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“adorable”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We really loved this place nearby Crab Market in Kep. The bungalow we stayed at had 2 rooms, 2 private bathrooms and a nice hall. The service was outstanding. We have stayed in Malibu for 3 nights, enjoying beautiful garden and nice swimming pool. Would recommend for anyone wishing to explore the area. We also rented motorbikes to visit Kampot and since we were so close to crab market, had great opportunity to visit different restaurants there. Would recommend for groups, couples or families, since Malibu has a number of different rooms to offer.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalja R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    34
    15
    8
    11
See reviews for
20
43
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Though our expectations were not high coming in and though the people here are lovely, so I hate to write a negative review, i simply cant write a good one.

We had an air conditioned bungalow, the room itself was nice. The bed was comfortable (the pillows are unusable though like 1ft tall and hard) the room was clean and large however the electricity was limited, when you use the hot water the lights turn almost off (not joking or exaggerating) the fan didn't work and the airconditioner provided barley a cool breeze, after we brought this to the attention of the manager, we were given a decent portable fan that made all the difference. The bungalow was a little dated, the roof had quite a few small holes and though this would usually not be an issue it let in a rat a lot of geckos a tuk ak which is a very loud small lizard.

The internet is not reachable from the rooms and I could not get it to work around the pool either, maybe it only works in the restaurant which is really only open for breakfast except for sandwiches.

The pool area is just beautiful, breakfast was nice and there is a resident dog called spoon that is good for a pat if you have not seen a animal in a while.

All in all if your here in the cool season and don't need aircon, one of the standard rooms is probably ok, but if its hot and you want aircon, you can definitely get better value elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricdeNimes, Gérant at Malibu Estates Bungalows Resort, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear guest
I have read your observations and I will take care about your comments !! For sure !! When you arrived we had a little problem with electricity, wich is comming in Kep by Vietnam, and was bad that week, but I can promise that we have done everything to change that fact, and hope that it will not happen again !! All my appologise for this inconvenient
Eric and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

So the place looks nice but it not well maintained. Doors dont close properly, generator is noisy, pool water has a weird color. So overall very average. The lack of proper care and maintenance is probably due to the fact that the French 'owner' is renting out the place and running it. It feels like it is not loved or cared for properly. But if you don;t care abt a warm family like welcome and service, the rooms look nice at first, the place is correct (although sheets had some huge stains). Would not stay there as a couple.

Breakfast has great fruits and super sugary crepes but is not top. Found the place a little expensive for what is has to offer.

Overall, as another review mentioned, with a good management, the place can be really nice. but it is not for the moment. current 'owner' said he will refurbish everything next year...

Oh! and the bed mattress was really uncomfortable!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemmayzetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricdeNimes, Gérant at Malibu Estates Bungalows Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Google Translation
Ahh Jeanne d'Arc, quel mal nous as tu fais pour que les Anglais ne nous apprécient pas assez a notre juste valeur !! Décidement, je ne suis pas reconnu outre-manche et j'en suis fort déconfit !!
Mais je m'accroche et je suis sûr qu'un jour viendra ou des Anglais aimeront mon travail !!
J'y mettrais toutes mes forces !! Promis !!
Best regards
Eric et Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Probably the most frustrating aspect of this hotel is that with a bit of investment and good management, it could be a delightful property. The facilities have great potential. . . pleasantly rustic style bungalows that COULD (but certainly do not) rival those in unique upscale resorts. The pool area was lovely with lots of very shady places to sit (very important in the tropics, especially for the fair skinned). The breakfasts were acceptable. . . bread was a bit dry but eggs were OK. We also had very nice food at the one dinner we ate there, although I cannot speak to the price since we were guests of my in-laws.

Sadly, the many shortcomings of the hotel overshadowed the potential positive aspects. The problems can be summarized as poor maintenance and sloppy management. Below is a list of things that we found profoundly irritating:
* Very dim lighting. . . that got even dimmer at frequent intervals. . . possibly when the generator was running the water?? The dimming usually occurred at least several times a minute. . . and was sometimes as frequent as blinking Xmas tree lights. The one reading light in our room was faulty -- it did not make connection with the outlet. . .and when I complained t he staff tried to help me scotch tape the plug into place. . .which didn't work.
* Questionable cleanliness. Our rooms smelled kind of musty. . . and there were quite a few very creepy looking stains on the walls and floors. . . it looked like possibly dripping excrement or blood. . . it probably wasn't, but the overall impression was not good
* No hot water. . .enough said. . .
* Paid extra for air conditioning that did not work. The rooms with AC are more expensive. . . and although our room had an AC unit that turned on and appeared to work. . . it did not put out cold air. . . let alone cool the room.
* Did not accept credit cards. . . which is not clearly stated on web site or at check in.
* Deceptive web site -- no lush gardens as promised
* Extremely sketchy check in and payment procedures. We asked if we needed to check and in and were told no. . . and when paying we were not give a receipt, despite asking. There is no clear office and if we needed help we had to just wander around and randomly ask staff members who happened to be around. We paid what we were asked just to get out of there. . .but think we were probably overcharged
* A "who cares" attitude of owner (manager?). I have already mentioned the reading light. We asked for a second key (we were sharing the "deluxe" bungalow that has 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, and a common area) and were told that there was no second key since families use that room and don't need more than one key. . . so the two couples had to coordinate who had the key when. The armoire in our friends' room was locked (so they had no place to hang anything), management was unable to open it and said that someone must have broken it. . . and never attempted any fix.

We realize that doing business in developing countries and delivering first world quality can be challenging, but this was the only property on our 3 week trip that just did not seem to be trying. We would certainly try to find somewhere else if we ever make a return trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alfiekit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricdeNimes, Gérant at Malibu Estates Bungalows Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hello dear Customers
I would like also to like you better... But it was a little bit difficult, cause your stress, with the weeding was so important, and instead of looking the small details during your staywith us, I would prefer that you've seen all the difficulties we had to check to help you from our best..
Anyway, we will keep a great remember of your ceremony in our garden, with the sings and your emotion
Best regards
Eric and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I stayed here for a weekend ended up leaving one day early as I couldn't sleep in the "bungalow" provided anymore. The bungalow we had smelled musty and the linen was not clean. The pool area is ok,nothing special and the breakfast is some bread with a bit of fruit and coffee. I cannot understand how this can be ranked number 2 in kep. Very underwhelming.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARTillery247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricdeNimes, Gérant at Malibu Estates Bungalows Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Google Translation
Sorry but I'll have to postpone your comment with services Tripadvisor because you have never been in my hotel, know that I will not forget a trip like the one you describe! So you are either malicious and orchestrated by dark malicious ideas that you do not grow, or you make a mistake of establishment and I shall be grateful correct the situation!
This stuff on the net, reviews malicious, jealous (since you talk about my ranking) only rejouter suspicion among consumers who use these honest opinion and I do not congratulate you
greetings
Eric and Alex

Désolé mais je vais être obligé de reporter votre commentaire auprès de Tripadvisor, car vous n'êtes jamais venu dans mon hôtel, sachez bien que je n'aurai pas oublié un séjour comme celui que vous décrivez !! Vous êtes donc soit mal intentionnée, et téléguidée par de sombres idées malveillantes qui ne vous grandissent pas, soit vous vous trompez d'etablissement et je vous serai reconnaissant de bien vouloir corriger le tir !!
Ce genre de choses sur le net, avis malveillant, jaloux (puisque vous parlez de mon classement) ne font que rejouter de la suspicion auprès des consommateurs honnêtes qui utilisent ces avis et je ne vous en félicite pas
Salutations
Eric et Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Nice gardens with a nice pool here. Some of the linen on the mattresses in the sun shelters around the pool could do with an upgrade as they are tired, worn and stained. We found the staff pleasant and Eric was quite friendly. Nice simple breakfast with fresh coffee and fresh fruit.

There was a question over the hygiene and cleaning as we found dog poo in our room from the last guests dog under a table in our bungalow. This was a little unnerving and meant flip-flops were worn at all times including the shower.

Horrible aggressive dog on the property who only responds to Alex one of the owners. Not great when Alex is not on the property. we had the end bungalow which unfortunately is situated quite close to a pump which runs 24-7.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shambills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricdeNimes, Gérant at Malibu Estates Bungalows Resort, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Hello! I take note of your message and I well remember the incident with the dog previous occupants I'm confused! Did anyone notice, these people have done their very late check-out and asked me to return to their bungalow retrieve their bag! Unfortunately the cleaning had been done in the meantime and the dog is forgotten in the entrance without anyone report it! I'm sorry again! Regarding Spoon our watchdog, I can tell you that he does his job as keeper of the hotel, and that is why he sometimes bark when strangers come night to pass the gate, but it's for a good cause and safety of goods and values ​​of all! These are the small uncertainties of life in a hotel in Cambodia, the country and I hope it will not be the only memories you keep
Best regards
Eric et Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this resort for 7 nights and we really loved it.
We were happy with the location as we looked for a quiet place. We enjoyed our lovely bungalow, the breakfasts and the outstanding swimming pool.
The staff was pleasant and helpful.
Nothing bad to say about this accommodation except few other customers who were pretty annoying with their speaker phone and sharing their private conversations with everyone in the common areas.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilouhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricdeNimes, Gérant at Malibu Estates Bungalows Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour a vous et merci de ce gentil petit mot par l'intermédiaire de Tripadvisor !! Ravis que votre séjour vous ait tant réjouis et désolé du manque de savoir-vivre de certains aujourd'hui avec leurs applications Skype qui font profiter a tous de leurs appels !! Je pense que ce n'est jamais mal-intentionné, mais je reconnais que ce peut être agaçant quand on se repose autour de la piscine !! Je serais désormais plus vigilant a ce genre de choses et vous remercie de nous en avoir fait part !!
Encore merci d'être venus chez nous et de nous avoir choisi pour vos vacances !! Nous en sommes fiers si votre séjour vous a comblé !!
Amicalement
Eric et Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kep hotels
1.4 mi away
Tara Lodge
Tara Lodge
#4 of 18 in Kep
146 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge
1.6 mi away
Raingsey Bungalow
Raingsey Bungalow
#5 of 18 in Kep
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Palm House Boutique Resort
1.5 mi away
Vanna Hill Resort
Vanna Hill Resort
#8 of 18 in Kep
207 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kep Lodge
Kep Lodge
#11 of 18 in Kep
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malibu Estates Bungalows Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malibu Estates Bungalows Resort

Property: Malibu Estates Bungalows Resort
Address: 33Main Road, Kep, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Kep
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Malibu Estates Bungalows Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a magnificient garden surrounded by near-sea on a side and hills on other side, Kep Malibu Resort is a gorgeous place to stay and discover South of Cambodia. Great and amazing swimming-pool and king-size rooms and Bungalows with air-con or fan !!! Welcome everybody !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Malibu Estates Bungalows Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malibu Estates Bungalows Hotel Kep

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing