We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Knai Bang Chatt
Nearby Hotels
$47
$31
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$38
$35
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$37
$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$33
$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$31
$27
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kep Lodge(Kep)(Great Value!)
$24
$20
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$28
$24
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$28
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (610)
Filter reviews
610 results
Traveler rating
416
117
54
10
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
416
117
54
10
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssailing clubstrand restaurantbarefoot luxuryblue villalong tablecrab marketfacing the oceanmain restauranthotel groundsinfinity poolphnom penhkhmer massagerabbit islandseafoodwatch the sunsetlovely poollaid back
Filter
Updating list...
340 - 345 of 610 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2014

*Relaxation and tranquillity are the key elements at Knei Bang Chatt.
*An exclusive retreat
*A signature blend of privacy and personalized service.
These three statements are taken from the brochure displayed in the hotel bedrooms.
Having just returned from a few days there following a three week tour of Laos and Cambodia,we have to disagree.

There can be no real tranquillity when children are shouting around the pool all day and running between first floor bedrooms early in a morning.

The hotel looks very attractive and has a nice setting.Service there was very good.Lovely staff and good breakfasts.Sad to say that this does not extend to the Sailing Club next door which is essentially part of the hotel.
We had the most bland meal that we had had during our three week tour.Tasteless soup and crab curry without any crab meat just thin claws.On complaining,I was given a complimentary glass of wine and told that things would be made right the next evening but we had no intention of returning for food.
However one evening,we did return for a drink at 8pm but by 8.10pm no-one had even attempted to serve us so we left.
The service standards in the Sailing Club should take a lesson from Kimlys Restaurant in Kep.An extremely busy place but consistently great food and service.
After staying in five other hotels during our tour,we were disappointed with KNB.
If it is to advertise itself as a haven of tranquillity,it should become adults only otherwise it is just another family hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alibaba105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joffrey G, General Manager at Knai Bang Chatt, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Alibaba105,

Thanks to come back to us regarding your stay with us and your Dinner at the Sailing Club.

I can only apologize regarding your experience at the Sailing Club. Next time please contact Mr Seila our F&B Manager, our Sailing Club Chef Jo or our Guest Relation Fanfan as known of them knew about this issue. They would have been more than happy to help you out with your comments.

Regarding your stay at the Hotel, I understand that where you come from they are Hotel for Adult only as you mentioned to me but this is not one of them.
The family staying with us where extremely well behave as they all are when staying in that kind of Hotel as they are use to it.
We found it extremely difficult to deal with you and your wife. We all tried hard, myself, my Executive Chef, my F&B manager, my Guest Relation and all our staff but your attitude towards us were unfortunately very disappointed.

Our Hotel is welcoming guests from different religion, family status, countries. We are proud to be able to share with all those guests our love of what we are doing.

Mr & Mrs Alibaba105, Thanks again for your comments and wish you all the best back home.

Regards,

Joffrey GRIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

The view at Knai Bang Chatt is spectacular. Most rooms look out on the Gulf of Thailand. The grounds (and pool) are beautifully maintained. Our room was open, spacious and well appointed. The Strand restaurant had great food, but our family (2 teenagers) preferred sitting by the water at the Sailing Club also on the property. The highlight of our stay at KBC was our excursion to Rabbit Island. Dara - our excellent guide- arranged for a delicious bbq lunch on the beach. Can't wait to go back! Almost forgot to mention the incredible massage.. Skip the yoga class though.
A bit expensive... but definitely worth it.

Room Tip: We were in room 16.. upstairs, spacious and fab view
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

this was an absolutely wonderful experience. We were among the few (only) Americans there during our two day visit which was way too short. The service was fantastic, the breakfast wonderful, the ocean side everything (pool, chase lounges, cabanas, hammocks, chairs,...etc) were convenient, clean, spacious and available! and perfectly set. The staff very warm and gracious always. Always smiling and helpful. The massage was just unbelievable ! I have a chronic neck pain and she "cured" it at least for now 3 days!. (traditional Kmer stress release head and shoulder massage). Geoffrey the manager was very attentive and most interesting to talk to about "everything". and he made sure your stay was wonderful. Oh yes, the restaurant at the hotel (the Strand) was delicious and we reserved a table right on the beach!!! it was sooo romantic and the food superb! (squid stuff with shrimp was outstanding). Air conditioner stopped working at night??? a little hot. that needs work but would not deter us from coming back!

Room Tip: we had #4.....super views of the ocean! the one above us had better but I don't know its number
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bodittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We have just returned from this hotel after a five night stay and we absolutely loved it. It is funny to read that someone staying there at the same time as us thought it smug and complacent because our experience was quite contrary.
The hotel was originally three old colonial buildings that have been converted to rooms and restored and an additional two small buildings have been slotted alongside the originals. All the rooms are very different reflecting this is not a purpose built but rather renovated hotel and we loved the quirky relaxed details and styling. To the front is the pool and a huge lawn where beds are spread out under canopies, period furniture comfortable cushions hammocks. It is a place to relax and chill out, because of the hotel we did a lot less sightseeing than we should have done, we loved hanging out there. Even though it was full most evenings my wife and I always felt as if we had the place to ourselves.
The Spa was brilliant, between the two of us we probably had every treatment going and all were the best we experienced.
Breakfast was good and plentiful although the restaurant at dinnertime was not great. It was an awkward muddle of fusion. The best place to eat at the hotel is the adjacent sailing club alongside on the waterfront.
It is well placed in Kep and I absolutely recommend this place, we will go back. I suggest to those who wrote less favourable reviews that they should have spoken to the manager, we found him brilliant and willing and genuinely enthusiastic about his hotel and his guests experience. In fact all the staff were more than helpful.

Room Tip: Seafront rooms. Spend the extra.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We were looking forward to staying here in view of the good reviews we had seen, but found the experience a little underwhelming. Very popular with French tourists, this is a small boutique hotel in a pretty location in Kep very handily-placed for the famous Crab market. Rooms are a good size, but 'styled' rather than functional (by which I mean that a second hanging rail and some drawer space so items of clothing you would rather not have on show could be kept somewhere other than in your luggage would be nice) and the aircon does a poor job of keeping anywhere in the room cool other than the space directly in front of the appliance). Consequently you may find it very hot in bed at night (for some reason, there is a thick duvet on the bed when a single sheet would be more appropriate) although the bed itself and pillows were among the best we have ever encountered on our travels. In the interests of responsible eco-tourism the aircon cannot operate when you leave the room and take your key, admirable but not very helpful when you want to cool your room in the late afternoon after the sun has been shining in directly! We read good things regarding the food here, but didn't find that it lived up to the hype. It is expensive however, personally I have no issue with that if you get what you pay for, but too many of the dishes we ordered at breakfast and dinner were left virtually untouched as they were quite poor. The Friends restaurant in Phnom Penh that takes kids in off the street to train them for careers in the catering industry could show KBC a thing or two about what good food should taste like. Service is very good and all the staff are attentive. In truth, KBC probably rates a 'good' rather than 'average', but I can't give that rating on trip advisor - it's a little too smug and complacent to be awarded a 'very good' rating in my opinion. If you want to come to Kep KBC has probably the best location, and if you set your expectations right you may like it here. We're not sufficiently impressed to want to return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Essexscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joffrey G, General Manager at Knai Bang Chatt, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Mr Essexscot,

Let us on our side share with Tripadvisor readers our point of view.

Mr & Mrs Essexscot stayed with us for 6 nights.
The review appear on Trip Advisor after the 1st night.

With my team we decided to work on some points to make you happy. We offered you to change room and to leave your Aircon 24 hours even if it is not really recommended neither needed.
You turned down our offer.

Regarding the Kitchen, I can only agree with you as we all have different taste. Therefore, our Executive Chef is always present at each meal and have spoken to you. So why not getting the opportunity to ask to cook something special for you? You do know that Chef would love to do so as I have suggested to you.

I have to say that this comments put all of us in a very awkward situation as once again it was after the first night and 5 more were to come.

This is when we asking ourselves the question - why? Is that what Trip Advisor is all about? .....it is sad.

I also can only accept & understand that you do not like our Hotel. We are what we called a Bare-Foot Luxury Hotel and it does not fit everyone taste. We know that and we are always happy to re-accommodate our guest to a property which fit them better.

On the other hand, when I look at your invoice, it seems to me that you have enjoyed more than one time our cuisine. So did it deserve a bad review after your first night with us?

On our side again, even if it was a kind of strange experience. I have to say that we enjoyed having you with us and like the challenge to show you who we are.

All the best back home!

PS: The French guests that you mentioned are....not French.

Regards,

Joffrey GRIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews