We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful sunsets , but average. ”
Review of Knai Bang Chatt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knai Bang Chatt
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Kep
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in four hotels during our 2 week trip around Cambodia (spending 3 nights in each) and it was the most disappointing.

The views and the ambience in the hotel are stunning, peaceful and idyllic - the perfect place to relax and unwind. We felt however that the overall service / amenities that we received compared to the cost was poor (in comparison with the other hotels we stayed in). There were a lot of staff members always bustling about at breakfast and during the day, but it always seemed to take a long time for our requests/orders to be taken and the large majority of the time there were "misunderstandings".

The breakfast / food was distinctly average, and even though the manager and the cook went to great lengths to try and procure a particular type of bread for us (which was greatly appreciated!) we think there could be improvements made in the kitchen. Also when asking for green tea at breakfast we were told we had to pay a supplement for it , which was utterly bizarre considering the nightly rate !

DO NOT do any of the tours that the hotel recommends !! They are insanely overpriced for what you get and you are far better off going to Phnom Schnork / rabbit island on your own by getting a tuk-tuk (20$ to cave round trip and €1 pp entry where a kid with impeccable english will act as a local guide for a small tip) vs the $50pp the hotel will charge. The same is true for the rabbit island trip - where they charge $60 pp to transport you away from the private/idyllic location within the hotel to a stretch of beach that is full of tourists & $5 massage parlours (expectations are set very high by the hotels description of the tour). It's certainly worth going there , but you can do so for $30 round trip. This is a reflection of the poor/in on friend communication and advice given by the hotel.

The spa treatments however were fabulous!!

All in all, there were positives and negatives and the hotel has potential but definitely needs an improvement in its management to make things run smoothly. Would we return there ? Probably not, despite the perfect location to view the sunset ...

Stayed: November 2013
2  Thank Duckneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joffrey G, General Manager at Knai Bang Chatt, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Duckneva,

Thanks for your comments.

Sorry regarding your Green Tea - Our mistake & all well rectified by now.

We wish you all the best for the rest of your trip in Cambodia & all the best of luck back home in Russia.

Best regards,

Joffrey GRIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (570)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

340 - 346 of 570 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013

A beautiful cluster of villas all offering different design and views. This is a place to relax - perfect for a trip with your significant other - we spent last 3 days of our weeks holiday in Cambodia and the atmosphere made us feel like we had a 2 week break. There are great views, many places to sit / lie and enjoy the location. Its a simple hotel in many aspects, barefoot luxury if you like - there are no televisions in rooms, decor is simple easy on the eye and high in comfort. We arrived late just in time for dinner - the food was beautiful. The Sailing club next door is a super add on - great bar and we enjoyed lunch here , excellent music and a really chilled vibe ! sunsets were a highlight . The club offers all kinds of equipment - kayaks, catamarans , bicycles etc we too out bikes and enjoyed a great cycle along the coast taking in the views and a vision of what was once an extremely popular holiday location - with remnants of modernist villas on the hill side being reclaimed by the forest or refurbished. We enjoyed dinner at the Crab market - a short cycle or walk ( take a torch !!) from the hotel its a great and colourful market. We ate kampot green pepper crab at the Kimly right at the end of the market - wow, decor is aged but the food was exceptional and fantastic value. We also hired scooter from the sailing club and headed for the national park - we walked round the full route its beautiful and well worth the walk - take plenty of water , enjoy the views and wild life , the signage is excellent apart from the last kilometre so pay attention and take the top road in the fork passing the temple - unfortunately the led zep cafe was closed so we will just have to go back. We enjoyed lunch at the end of our walk at the Veranda resort - the pavilion restaurant terrace was beautiful and views over the tree tops beautiful. We then headed off along the coast towards Kampot and the Vine Retreat - to see pepper growing in action - lovely ecolodge , and great place to stop after a tour of the vines to enjoy banana cake and refreshing tea ! before heading back on the road to Kep. The views of houses, rice paddys, kids fishing etc was special and well worth persevering on the rough road !
I sincerely can't wait to return to Kep and Kn Bang Chatt.
We arranged pick up from Phnom Penh airport by car via our hotel - it was $80 and took 2.5 hours, we understand via other travellers that it is possible to book a car privately for $ 40 - $45 so if you have time to research your transport it can be worth the saving.

Room Tip: We stayed in room on first floor looking down to the pool and view to sea, with adjacent terrace whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiketyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We spent the final three days of our three weeks' trip to Vietnam, Laos and Cambodia at the resort. Our plan was to wind down after many temples and museums and just relax before flying home. A friend of ours who owns a hotel in Luang Prabang, Laos, had recommended us to book it. What a great decision, we have had such a great time.

The sea views are stunning, the food is excellent, the service is unbelievable.

The hotel consists of several villas with beautiful rooms. Every one is different. There are many different outdoor seating options: around the pool, lounge chairs on the lawn, and cabanas. All with stunning ocean views.

There is a sailing club attached, with optional sail boats and kayaks for rent, and additional dining options.

We took advantage of everything the place offers: we were very happy with the packages the Spa offers. My wife and I took massages, facial treatments, pedicures etc.

And then, the best of all, we had a private dinner on the Sailing Club's pier, enjoying the sunset. An unbelievable experience, one of the best experiences we ever had!

Before leaving at night the Executive Chef, who was like the General Manager visibly present throughout our visit, prepared an early dinner for us, again a waterfront table this time of the main restaurant.

We will go back and recommend our friends to go. When you want to spend 3-5 days in a cosy yet high end hotel to spend high quality time with the Significant Other, this is the place to go!

Room Tip: The hotel consists of several villas and there are different types of rooms. We stayed at first in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wim_van_Acker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in Nov 2013, we booked it very last minute.
The setting of the hotel is very relaxing, but a few things were annoying.
We paid about 180USD for a garden room, it was quite dark and dingy, there was no TV nor tea making facilities!
At breakfast they offered English Breakfast tea, I asked for Earl Grey on two mornings to 2 different staff and both responses were, "no sorry we can only offer Breakfast Tea" if I wanted Earl Grey I would HAVE TO PAY A SUPPLEMENT!!!
My wife and I have travelled all over the world, we have stayed in hotels both cheaper, and more expensive than Knai Bang Chatt, but have never been told I would have to pay a supplement if I wanted a different tea at breakfast.
Curtains were very thin, so light would shine through in the morning. if you get the room near the pool which we were in, you'll have to ask reception to switch off the spot lights around the pool which shone through right into the bedroom.

Overall, it was a nice hotel and environment....would I go back if I were in Kep again? probably not, I'd try somewhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joffrey G, General Manager at Knai Bang Chatt, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Dave,

I cannot agree more with you it is extremely annoying to have to pay extra for Tea on Breakfast.

My new staff was mistaken an information about beverage being taught to him and did not report anything to us to be able to assist you with that issue.

I can assure you that is not happening ever again

Please accept my sincere apology.

Send me a mail at gm@knaibangchatt,com I will me more than happy to having you with us for breakfast

All the best back in the UK.

Regards,

Joffrey GRIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

If you like a big hotel with hundred rooms, where you feel like just another guest... this is not your place.
If you wish to feel like home, in a hotel with only 18 rooms, with all full services like can give you a big hotel, then is that your place. If you're looking for peace, if you want to enjoy with a very modern and austere decoration where nothing is superfluous, but there is all you need, that's your hotel.
I've really enjoy that place. Kep krab marquet is really near, just 5 minutes walking.
Swimming pool is great size, not small at all.
I've been really lucky to stay there in the opening day of their signature restaurant.
The owner Jeff, take some of guest and some other invited people to a tour inside the hotel.
I can say than cook is really clean and laundry... is the best I've never seen, even in my country.
Of course can improve in some things, but my punctuation is 10, because the hotel location, decoration, cleanness, staff... all is really good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barcelonabp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Let me start with the million dollar viewS in this resort. The buildings respectfully brought back to their full (minimalistic) glory, wonderful garden (fallen leafs are picked up from the lawn several times a day), and the breathtaking sundown.
Rooms with character, and all the comfort. We had one of the few rooms with TV, but never felt the urge to even switch it on. Why should we, in such an inspiring environment ? We had dinner and lunch in both The Strand and the sailing club. Each of them with their own identity on food and ambiance. We loved them both, maybe with a slight preference for the seafood platter at the club.
Relaxing at the pool (thank god without chlorine) felt really good after BKK and PNH. It's my fifth time here in ten years, and I'll be back again!
Btw: Crab Market is just a five minute walk, have fried crab with green Kampot pepper at Kimly

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Anton V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

This place is so peaceful and tranquil, may not suit everyone if you like night life, there is none! The hotel itself cannot be faulted, the staff, food and facilities are top notch. For a relaxing end to a busy holiday, this is the place.

Room Tip: As far as I could see, every room is a good room. There are only 18.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenspen59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kep hotels
0.4 mi away
Tara Lodge
Tara Lodge
#4 of 18 in Kep
154 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge
0.3 mi away
Raingsey Bungalow
Raingsey Bungalow
#5 of 18 in Kep
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Flamboyant Resort
0.4 mi away
Vanna Hill Resort
Vanna Hill Resort
#9 of 18 in Kep
214 reviews
0.8 mi away
Spring Valley Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knai Bang Chatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knai Bang Chatt

Address: Phum Thmey | Sangkat Prey Thom, Kep 908, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kep
#2 Family Hotel in Kep
Price Range: $146 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Knai Bang Chatt 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serene and pure, Knai Bang Chatt, an exquisite lifestyle resort, will enchant you. Located in Kep, right on the southern east coastline of Cambodia, the resort gives you a blend of privacy, serenity and exclusivity. Three renovated villas built in the 1960s by protégés of Vann Molyvann, a pupil of the world renowned Le Corbusier, are extraordinary historical landmarks you can now experience as your very own private home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knai Bang Chatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knai Bang Chatt Hotel Kep

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing