We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort”
Review of Knai Bang Chatt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knai Bang Chatt
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Kep
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great resort”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This resort is different to compared to many others. The hotel is rather small, but all rooms are very beautiful and decorated with a minimalistic design. There is no television in the rooms but you shouldn't watch television when you stay in such a nice place. Staff was very helpful and very friendly,. We did like the food in both the hotel restaurant as well as in the yachtclub. Especially the food with Cambodian New Year was great. We also recommend doing one off the trips organized by the Hotel. We did a guided motorbike tour through the fields and through the salt winning, just great. We also made a trip to rabbit island were we were suprized with a delicious sea food lunch. It was al great and very relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GJJSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    106
    49
    10
    13
See reviews for
100
307
43
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed her in October last year, it was magical and a second visit did not disappoint. The location and the understated elegance of the resort makes it a great place to be, the staff are gentle, helpful and make you feel looked after. The rooms are simply appointed, no TV’s or Radios is actually very refreshing and encourages you to relax!! However there is good free WiFi access throughout the property if you need a fix of news or e-mail. We would not hesitate to recommend Knai Bang Chat, it truly is a special place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelbourneMannin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

For a more comprehensive review see when we stayed in November.
In June/July weather was very different with showers and storms. However this does not really
impact on enjoyment and we are returning to Phnom Penh fully unwound and relaxed. Look out of your floor to ceiling windows at the ocean and scultped gardens. The only gripe - 2 nights not enough - next time we will stay 3.

Room Tip: 7 was good - full sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gareth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed at the resort for only one night in June, so my experience is somewhat limited. However, the room and grounds were absolutely lovely, pool was clean, and the staff was friendly and helpful. It is a bit on the expensive side, but I would definitely return for a longer stay in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TREIBS67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Visited Knai bang chatt and agree totaly with the latest reviews of other people ...too expensive for the things they provide ...Instead of staying or eating at the Knai bang chatt hotel , I went to the Knai bang chatt sailing club (just beside the hotel) for diner and this was a good experience ..It was the low season so no crowd ...It is a very nice place to eat and to relax ...the food is very nice and the prices are ok ...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbxl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Knai Bang Chatt can be everything the rave reviewers say on this page, but after my last 2 visits I fear standards are slipping, and the hotel needs some careful attention to maintain the reputation is has built up. The location is unbeatable. But on both of my last visits the pool was noticeably dirty. Staff remedied this by chucking in a load of chemicals which resulted in sore eyes (the kids) and a bleached t-shirt! The coffee in the morning is terrible, the service at the hotel restaurant is extremely slow and they had run out of most of the deserts. The pillows are also of the hard, lumpy and unaccommodating variety. All of these things can be easily remedied and KBC returned to its former glory.
Please?

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank fitzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

At these prices I would have expected a much more professional approach. I came across the Owner bar hopping in Phnom Penh, far enough away to have surely considered a visible management team, to give this resort its full potential

Friendly staff, wonderful seaside setting and a great pool, and I am sure you can read elsewhere about this very stylish resort. Bedroom after my initial complaint, was well appointed, blissfully with out televisions, comfortable beds, wonderful spacious bathrooms.

Started off in a poor single room that you could not swing a cat in overlooking the kitchen office block – called the Garden View. When I complained with the intention of checking out I was given a much more spacious room with more than one window, a garden view and seating outside, all a great bonus. Why could this not have been offered to start with?

Good food, though at this level the service though friendly was sometimes very slow, specially considering the staff to guest ratio, though the pool table seemed a priority for the staff.

The other big issue I had with this so called Private Resort is that when you are paying these sort of prices I expect some privacy. I don’t not appreciate a film crew of some 6/7 people wandering around and filming whilst I was having a swim. They said they permission, as they slunk out of the door after my complaint, and then put up a giro -copter with attached camera to carry on filming ruining an otherwise peaceful morning swim.

None of these faults should have occurred at the standard this resort is setting itself.

Room Tip: don twhat ever you do choose a Garden view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnothernameScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kep hotels
0.4 mi away
Tara Lodge
Tara Lodge
#4 of 18 in Kep
146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge
0.3 mi away
Raingsey Bungalow
Raingsey Bungalow
#5 of 18 in Kep
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Palm House Boutique Resort
0.2 mi away
Le Flamboyant Resort
0.8 mi away
Spring Valley Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knai Bang Chatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knai Bang Chatt

Property: Knai Bang Chatt
Address: Phum Thmey | Sangkat Prey Thom, Kep 908, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kep
#2 Family Hotel in Kep
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Knai Bang Chatt 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serene and pure, Knai Bang Chatt, an exquisite lifestyle resort, will enchant you. Located in Kep, right on the southern east coastline of Cambodia, the resort gives you a blend of privacy, serenity and exclusivity. Three renovated villas built in the 1960s by protégés of Vann Molyvann, a pupil of the world renowned Le Corbusier, are extraordinary historical landmarks you can now experience as your very own private home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knai Bang Chatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knai Bang Chatt Hotel Kep

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing