We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My New Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Knai Bang Chatt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Knai Bang Chatt
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Kep
Certificate of Excellence
Newtown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“My New Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the top, front room of the Blue House for six days in April. Our time couldn't have been any more perfect. The drive to the resort is beautiful, and the first views of the ocean are breathtaking. The rooms are quiet, designed well, and have potable water from all taps. Jasmine stems were kept fresh in our room, making the entire place smell like heaven. A fresh fruit basket was brought in and cleared every day. The drink service was amazing with the staff willing bringing drinks to any location. At one point, I was spotted sitting on the roof of the blue house and was asked if I'd like a beverage. The cabana loungers are perfect for spending an afternoon in but the nighttime scene is next door at the sailing club. I recommend that everyone stay away from the daily set menu as you get a better value for the same food. Breakfast beachside is wonderful. The chef at KBC/Sailing Club is from the Le Royal in Phnom Penh, which if you have ever eaten there, you know is an gastronomical experience of a lifetime. He brings that magic to the SC. The manager was around and would socialize every night. During the day, my husband and I would rent a scooter and explore all around. Our lunches were always spent at the beachside restaurants about a 5 minute walk from KBC. If you are a seafood fan, you will love eating in Kep! Shrimp, squid, crab, noodles...fantastic! I cannot wait to return to KBC.

Room Tip: The blue house has the best views. Ask for a front room. Alternatively, ask for the top room at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NatalieExplores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    100
    49
    10
    13
See reviews for
94
293
43
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Nom-la-Breteche, France
Level Contributor
645 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

If you are after a relaxing few days, a time to unwind then this is the place for you. Superb seafront location with wide views over islands and fabulous sunsets. Breakfast outside at long wooden tables with good selection of fruit, homemade bread and pastries or omelettes and Khmer style food. The rooms are simple but nice. If you can't live without TV tea/coffee/fridge etc in the room then this is probably not for you but the A/C is efficient and quiet, there are mosquito nets and a very friendly staff. Computer, TV, and books are available in a communal little used lounge. As there are only ten rooms nothing seems too busy. A spa is on site and there is a lovely infinity pool. Plenty of space and gardens between the three renovated 1960s villas that make up this delightful tranquil hotel. Next door and owned by the hotel is the sailing club which is open to the general public and therefore more lively. Good bar and cheaper more casual dining if that is what you want. The hotel will arrange trips to local sights with a guide and transport if needed

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JANDDBritinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay at Knai Bang Chatt. As the pictures show, the architecture of the hotel is unique and absolutely beautiful. It was so interesting to see all of the 1960's beach homes around the area, and lovely to see one that has been restored and used like this. If you're spending time in Cambodia in Phnom Penh or Siem Reap, a respite down in Kep is a nice contrast to the more bustling cities. We stayed for two nights, and wished we could have stayed longer. I had noted some other reviewers' concerns about service or management; but our experience with the service was a very positive one. The employees were very attentive and extremely patient with helping us plan our departure from Kep to Vietnam. Little touches like complimentary Kampot pepper were nice. The only other thing we would have done differently is not gone in rainy season!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k5358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlaardingen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

we stayed two nights at knai bang chatt and were very happy. The architecture is gorgeous, the service excellent, the ambiance great. the resort itself is very quiet and pieceful, beautiful wood and antique objects, good food for residents only, so we felt king sihanouk himself.
For playing pool and more brasserie food we went to the sailing club next door, also owned by knai bang chatt. the owner, mr jeff moon, is a very nice guy. From Belgium he lost his heart at this place eight years ago and besides his hotel he is doing wonderful projects for the children in the neighbourhood.
Feel good 360 degrees!!

Room Tip: we had the pink bungalow at the first floor with view at sea. marvellous
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karinkuijpers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

I recently held a birthday weekend at Knai Bang Chatt for family and friends. We booked every room and the whole resort was just for us. Words cannot describe how special and amazing this was. The catering, the venue, the service, the quality of the entire 'experience' was truly sensational.
This is the place for private functions that's for sure. It is also the perfect place to stay anytime !!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodsmen_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Great location next to the sea means spectacular views and a fresh sea breeze. Good and attentive service with tasteful rooms, although having seen a few of them some rooms are definately better than others! Room facilities could be improved. At this price, extras such as docking stations, mini bar would be nice. Beachside candlelit dining is a must for a romantic evening. Breakfast is basic, but fresh bread, pastries, tropical fruit and strong coffee were just what we wanted. Pool is lovely although cold! Spa and massages are great and not over priced if you book in advance and get the discount. Overall - a nice place to get away from it all and in my opinion there are very few hotels in south Cambodia that can compete in this category. I will be back!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B_P10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights in November 2010. The positives: the infinity pool is fantastic and many an afternoon can be spent lazing by it; the nearby town of Kep is a pleasant place to wander around and eat in the evening; the next door sailing club is a good place for food and cocktails. But overall we came away feeling a little cheated. It is very expensive - we had paid the supplement (not an insignificant one) for a sea view, and the room that we got certainly didn't have much of a sea view (unless you peered through the undergrowth) - the staff moved us to a cheaper room without a sea view (we couldn't really spot the difference, to be honest!), but as it was full, we were stuck paying the supplement the first night. Food on site is fine, but again, very pricey. And, generally, just felt the place was a little impersonal. I would've loved to have marked it higher, but in the end found it quite disappointing.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank VicklePickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kep hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge
0.4 mi away
Tara Lodge
Tara Lodge
#4 of 17 in Kep
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.8 mi away
Spring Valley Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Raingsey Bungalow
Raingsey Bungalow
#5 of 17 in Kep
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kep Lodge
Kep Lodge
#9 of 17 in Kep
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Flamboyant Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knai Bang Chatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knai Bang Chatt

Property: Knai Bang Chatt
Address: Phum Thmey | Sangkat Prey Thom, Kep 908, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kep
#2 Family Hotel in Kep
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Knai Bang Chatt 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serene and pure, Knai Bang Chatt, an exquisite lifestyle resort, will enchant you. Located in Kep, right onthe southern east coastline of Cambodia, the resort gives you a blend of privacy, serenity and exclusivity.Three renovated villas built in the 1960s by protégés of Vann Molyvann, a pupil of the world renowned Le Corbusier, are extraordinary historical landmarks you can now experience as your very own private home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knai Bang Chatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knai Bang Chatt Hotel Kep

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing