We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it.”
Review of Rikitikitavi

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kampot
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rikitikitavi
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Kampot
Certificate of Excellence
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loved it.”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed at Rikitikitavi for 4 nights and absolutely loved it. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The bar/restaurant has lovely views overlooking the river. The food is delicious (I HIGHLY recommend the banana and chocolate crepes as part of the complimentary breakfast). From 5-7 the bar has a 2-1 cocktails special, and the cocktails are excellent. The best thing about Rikitikitavi though is the staff; from the moment I arrived they went out of their way to make me feel welcome and comfortable. They helped me organize a few excursions, always asked about my day and were just generally lovely people.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caitlin110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    111
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
113
371
88
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in September. Excellent location overlooking the river. Our room was spotlessly clean, large and decorated beautifully. The food in the restaurant was amazing. My husband is still talking about the Kampot Pepper Prawns he had (on both nights!). Aside from the highlight of the prawns, the other highlight was the staff and management. So friendly, great fun and helpful. They helped book push bikes for us, booked a tuk tuk for a day trip to the surrounding area and to Kep. They made our stay in Kampot one to remember.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simone M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed here two nights a few weeks back and while the lure of Kampot itself as a tourist destination frankly remains a mystery - there is no there there - the Rikitikitavi was great fun. The room was clean and well-equipped and well-maintained, and the Cambodian food in the restaurant upstairs was luscious. The restaurant seems to be one of the most popular places in the town as every night it's filled with guests from various nearby guesthouses. The Cambodian staff everywhere at Rikitikitavi cannot be beat. They are soft-spoken, genteel, very attentive and intelligent!

But I was puzzled by the backpackers around the town, as I found precious little to see. It did rain every second I was there, but I made an effort to find the architectural and cultural soul of the town, and could not. I was also advbised there was a dangeorus area to avoid at night sort of vaugely in the center of the town, which deters any adventurous explorations on one's own. The strongest pull in Kampot has to be the delightful Cambodian residents themselves.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the ground floor and none seem to have any views. My room was comfortable, although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marintraveler076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

You will only find good quality food and drink at the Rikitikitavi restaurant, all at reasonable western prices. Service is very professional, waitresses are polite and the food arrives in good time. The restaurant is set on a veranda overlooking the Kampot river and Bokor mountain in the background. I highly recommend visiting the Rikitikitavi if you are visiting Kampot, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goorney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wongaling Beach, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Rikitikitavi is right on the river front where the cool breezes blow. The rooms are large, spotlessly clean and tastefully furnished with wood and silk and Khmer touches. Upstairs is the restaurant with lovely views of the passing street life and the river and sunsets. The food is really delicious. The manager Lim is extremely welcoming and helpful. She will go out of her way to help you with your travel and sightseeing. All the other staff are also warm and friendly, including lovely Borah who has a beautiful smile. The barman makes the best cocktails I have ever had and I can recommend the Mai Tai!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Rikitikitavi and it wasn't enough. It is the most gorgeous guesthouse right on the river with only 7 rooms and a lovely restaurant and bar. Beautifully decorated rooms with everything you need. The staff though are what made our stay there complete especially Lin, Naigt and Samrong ( sorry if spelt wrong).they spoke great English and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. There is tea and coffee in the room which we like and you don't need an adaptor for electrical appliances which was good as I forgot mine. They also organised a tuk tuk tour for us to Kep and the pepper plantations and we had great driver and a great day. Cannot recommend This place enough. Kampot is well worth a visit and Rikitikitavi the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

i did not stay in the hotel but went to the restaurant 3 times, excellent food, maybe pricier than most in kampot but really is worth it. great desserts including sorbets and apple pie, very nice salads and a very tasty loc lac, would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brickyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampot hotels
0.3 mi away
Mea Culpa Kampot
Mea Culpa Kampot
#2 of 17 in Kampot
310 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Columns
The Columns
#4 of 17 in Kampot
275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kool Kampot
Kool Kampot
#3 of 17 in Kampot
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Two Moons
Two Moons
#7 of 17 in Kampot
290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Good Morning Kampot
Good Morning Kampot
#10 of 17 in Kampot
16 reviews
0.4 mi away
Makk Hotel
Makk Hotel
#5 of 17 in Kampot
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rikitikitavi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rikitikitavi

Property: Rikitikitavi
Address: Riverside Road, Kampot 07000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kampot Province > Kampot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Kampot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rikitikitavi 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small scale, pleasant guesthouse with wonderfully decorated rooms in modern Asian style. Rooms have all the necessary amenities like air conditioning, hot water shower, TV and DVD player and comfortable spring mattresses. The onsite restaurant keeps getting rave reviews from customers and critics. Fully stocked bar with great selection of cocktails, wines and whiskeys. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rikitikitavi Hotel Kampot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing