We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Cambodian staff”
Review of Rikitikitavi

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kampot
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rikitikitavi
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Kampot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed here two nights a few weeks back and while the lure of Kampot itself as a tourist destination frankly remains a mystery - there is no there there - the Rikitikitavi was great fun. The room was clean and well-equipped and well-maintained, and the Cambodian food in the restaurant upstairs was luscious. The restaurant seems to be one of the most popular places in the town as every night it's filled with guests from various nearby guesthouses. The Cambodian staff everywhere at Rikitikitavi cannot be beat. They are soft-spoken, genteel, very attentive and intelligent!

But I was puzzled by the backpackers around the town, as I found precious little to see. It did rain every second I was there, but I made an effort to find the architectural and cultural soul of the town, and could not. I was also advbised there was a dangeorus area to avoid at night sort of vaugely in the center of the town, which deters any adventurous explorations on one's own. The strongest pull in Kampot has to be the delightful Cambodian residents themselves.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the ground floor and none seem to have any views. My room was comfortable, although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marintraveler076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (802)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 802 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

You will only find good quality food and drink at the Rikitikitavi restaurant, all at reasonable western prices. Service is very professional, waitresses are polite and the food arrives in good time. The restaurant is set on a veranda overlooking the Kampot river and Bokor mountain in the background. I highly recommend visiting the Rikitikitavi if you are visiting Kampot, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goorney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Rikitikitavi is right on the river front where the cool breezes blow. The rooms are large, spotlessly clean and tastefully furnished with wood and silk and Khmer touches. Upstairs is the restaurant with lovely views of the passing street life and the river and sunsets. The food is really delicious. The manager Lim is extremely welcoming and helpful. She will go out of her way to help you with your travel and sightseeing. All the other staff are also warm and friendly, including lovely Borah who has a beautiful smile. The barman makes the best cocktails I have ever had and I can recommend the Mai Tai!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Rikitikitavi and it wasn't enough. It is the most gorgeous guesthouse right on the river with only 7 rooms and a lovely restaurant and bar. Beautifully decorated rooms with everything you need. The staff though are what made our stay there complete especially Lin, Naigt and Samrong ( sorry if spelt wrong).they spoke great English and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. There is tea and coffee in the room which we like and you don't need an adaptor for electrical appliances which was good as I forgot mine. They also organised a tuk tuk tour for us to Kep and the pepper plantations and we had great driver and a great day. Cannot recommend This place enough. Kampot is well worth a visit and Rikitikitavi the place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

i did not stay in the hotel but went to the restaurant 3 times, excellent food, maybe pricier than most in kampot but really is worth it. great desserts including sorbets and apple pie, very nice salads and a very tasty loc lac, would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brickyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Apparently it had been raining steadily for more than a week in Kampot before we arrived towards the end of July and the town looked a bit grim. A quick walk around town confirmed that Rikititavi looked the most welcoming, with its twinkly lights outside and beautiful open sided restaurant/bar overlooking the river and the mountains in the distance. We stayed here with our 3 teenagers for 3 nights. The family room is only big enough for 4 people, so we booked an extra double room. Both rooms were very comfortable and beautifully designed. The staff was really friendly, the food delicious (best we had in Cambodia) and the cocktails blow your head off and ensure a good nights sleep.

As well as providing a great place to sleep and eat, the staff was helpful with organising bus tickets, advising what to see and hooking us up with the right people. For $25 we went on a countryside tour by tuktuk with one of their drivers, Chk; salt fields, pepper farm, caves and Kep, as well as taking in the beautiful scenery. Despite the rain we had a great day. The road between Kampot and Kep was horrendous; huge holes and flooded to the point of being submerged in places. Amazingly, Chk and his tuktuk managed it all. It took about 1.5 hours but I would still recommend doing this journey by tuktuk instead of taxi; it's good fun, you can suck up the atmosphere easier, the drivers can stop anywhere and will also tell you about the places. The following day was really sunny so we headed back to Kep again with Chk and went to the beach, Kep national park and, for the second time, ate delicious crab in Kampot pepper at Kymly's. That evening, for $5pp, one of the Rikititavi staff got his cousin to take us on a private boat trip from the hotel up the river to see the fireflies. Word of warning: the boat drivers make sure you get your moneysworth by driving the boat right into the bushes so you can get up close and personal with the fireflies. Poor things. Can't imagine this being very sustainable.
If you want to stay in a small place with character in a prime location in town with good food, then Rikititavi is a good choice. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Family room is lovely, but not big enough for a family of 5 unless one child (under 1.40m) can sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank howie2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Spent 4 days at Rikitikitavi before heading off to Kep, we enjoyed our stay so much we stayed another 2 days before heading to Phnom Penh. All the staff are extremely friendly and efficient. The rooms are lovely and the whole place is really well designed. They arranged onwards bus tickets for us and organised a river trip with 'Bart the Boatman' ......A unique and memorable experience and a 'must do'.
Probably the best hotel we have stayed in during our 4 weeks in Cambodia.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moanariri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampot hotels
0.3 mi away
Mea Culpa Kampot
Mea Culpa Kampot
#2 of 18 in Kampot
347 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kool Kampot
Kool Kampot
#3 of 18 in Kampot
148 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Columns
The Columns
#4 of 18 in Kampot
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kampot Riverside Hotel
Kampot Riverside Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kampot
203 reviews
0 mi away
Bokor Mountain Lodge
Bokor Mountain Lodge
#14 of 18 in Kampot
200 reviews
0.4 mi away
Makk Hotel
Makk Hotel
#5 of 18 in Kampot
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rikitikitavi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rikitikitavi

Address: Riverside Road, Kampot 07000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kampot Province > Kampot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Kampot
Price Range: $40 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rikitikitavi 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small scale, pleasant guesthouse with wonderfully decorated rooms in modern Asian style. Rooms have all the necessary amenities like air conditioning, hot water shower, TV and DVD player and comfortable spring mattresses. The onsite restaurant keeps getting rave reviews from customers and critics. Fully stocked bar with great selection of cocktails, wines and whiskeys. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rikitikitavi Hotel Kampot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing