We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for us”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rikitikitavi

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kampot
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rikitikitavi
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Kampot
Certificate of Excellence
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect for us”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Could not fault this place which felt like a home away from home except with fantastic food. Our hosts, Dom and Denise made the booking process and getting there from Phnom Penh effortless. Dom arranged an English speaking driver for a very reasonable price. Upon arrival, we were met by the lovely, gentle and funny staff who took us to our room and told us to go upstairs to formally check in when we had settled in and freshened up. Meals were all fabulous along with the happy hour cocktails. Great coffee too. All our tours were arranged there and nothing was too difficult. Our room was beautifully decorated and well appointed. Our windows and fly screens all worked fine and we paid a tiny bit more money for a large room with 2 sleeping areas, a lounge area and a small private courtyard. We are looking forward to our next visit as soon as possible and we wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janman1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    110
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
108
364
87
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Admittedly, my husband and I only stayed in Kampot for 1 night, but we've been to Cambodia several times, so have a pretty good idea of what you can get for your money. We agree that Rikkitikkitavi is a"nice," comfortable hotel, with very clean, nicely decorated, if rather small, rooms and lovely, cheerful and friendly Cambodian staff, all of whom seem to be able to speak reasonable English. The rooms have all the amenities you should expect for a place that is primarily targeting Western tourists, including bar-fridge, safe and coffee/tea-making facilities, and an exceptional collection of free DVDs to play in your room, which you really need to do if you're needing a fix of the box as TV reception, even for cable channels is pretty poor across the south of Cambodia. The cocktails really are yummy and well-priced and the food is quite nice (except for the eggs at breakfast, which were virtually cold), but the menu selection is rather limited. The pressure and heat of water for showers was also good, but, although the decoration of the very compact bathroom is also very nice, there are some major floors in spatial design...the toilet has been placed so close to the shower cubicle wall that the toilet roll holder cuts into you when sitting down...and we're both only small people (God knows how a larger person would squeeze in!); there is also a very nice timber shelf above the very nice vanity basin, but in a position that you are at major risk of dinging you head when you bend over to clean your teeth...the craftsmanship around the bathroom door is also quite shoddy. issue is that the window cannot be closed due to Another issue is that the way the insect- screen has been fitted to the window means it cannot be closed, which allows the cold air from the air-con to escape out and the sounds from the street to come in....there are slatted shutters which help, but mostly to cut out the light, rather than the sound! (I'd hate to be paying for the extra electricity that must be used by the aircon having to work so hard) There is WiFi, both in the rooms and in the restaurant, but this kept cutting out. Finally, although we had been in email contact with Dom and Denise (owners) before checking in and they seemed like genuinely nice people, they made no attempt to introduce themselves to us, although they WERE on the premises in the evening...rather impolite...what does it take, 2 minutes of your life to say hello to guests? I was also slightly surprised that while the fabulous DVD collection included Jungle Book and the Compendium includes Kipling's lovely story of Rikki Tikki Tavi (which, for Management's information is now part of the Year 8 English Curriculum across Queensland in Australia), there is no copy of the animated movie of Rikki Tikki Tavi...yes, it is rather difficult to get, but, if I had named my hotel after this story, I would be making a point of having at least one copy in my collection. Overall, Rikkitikkitavi is a nice place, but so are many others!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gandke54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rikitikitavi-kampot, Owner at Rikitikitavi, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Hiya,

We are really sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us at Rikitikitavi. We all strive to the best of our abilities to make every guests stay as perfect as we can, obviously we failed in this regard towards you, and for this you have our apologies. We are chuffed you found so much to like here though.

The bathroom in room 3 is quite compact, as Rikitikitavi is located in a converted historic barn some aspects of layout were forced upon us that are less than ideal. Thanks for the compliments about the decor in the bathroom, and your issue with the placement of the toilet roll holder is well founded, but it was the best option available to us.

I have just checked the window in the room, and am somewhat confused by your comments. If you slide the glass in the frame across to close it, the heat will not escape. If this was causing an inconvenience to you then we could have happily remedied it immediately if informed.

We saw from your guest feedback form, as well as from this review, that you were very put out at not being welcomed by us personally and that seems to be the crux of your disappointment here. We did respond to you before you posted this review to clarify and apologize for the situation, but you saw fit to proceed anyway. I was, very provably, in Phnom Penh when you were here and Denise was hyper busy getting the new web site on line (Its fab, by the way!). While she was in the restaurant for quite some time in the afternoon, in the evening it was only quite briefly. I believe you have confused us with an expat couple eating here,who the staff are very friendly with, and taken offence to them not knowing who you were. While I fully respect your point of view, I am a bit sorry for you that being welcomed by the owner of hotels you stay in is so important to you, virtually all our other guests are enamored by meeting the fabulous, charming and funny Khmer staff here far more than a fat, bald Englishman like myself.

We love meeting people, especially our guests, it is why we run a hotel in Kampot. People who choose to come to Kampot are by their nature interesting, adventurous folk, and its one of the great joys of my life to hear their stories. We are genuinely sorry we did not get to see you when you were in town, but please pop on in for a chat when next passing this way.

We all hope the rest of your time in this fabulous country is amazing,

Toodle pip
Dom -Owner at Rikitikitavi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olbia, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed only 1 night on the way to Phnom Penh but this is definitely a place where you can pause and enjoy for some time. The room we had was just amazing, so was the included breakfast. The curry I had in the restaurant was too European for my taste(for others it might be perfect)but the view across the river made good for that.
The staff was very friendly and made us feel welcome. Late check-out was no problem as well.
All in all we had a pleasant stay and the next time I’m in Kampot I won’t hesitate a second with checking into this place again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tscheruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Almost feels unnecessary to do a review of a place which so clearly has been for everyone (except Augustus) an absolute highlight of their visit to Cambodia. But quality should be rewarded. We had great hotels across Cambodia - but the combination of Denise's attention to detail, wonderful staff who genuinely seemed to be enjoying their jobs and open air terrace made this the perfect place to relax for a few days before flying back home. Got young kids? Ours are still talking about their time at Rikitikitavi.

Augustus' reference to the "larger louts" appearing" for the 2 for 1 happy hour is curious - Rikitikitavi is about the only GH on the river that doesn't do 2 for 1 happy hour beers - strictly cocktails only. Very friendly for families and others enjoying a drink with a view over the river

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FiStu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

When arriving at Rikitikitavi we had a warm welcome. Staff showed us to our room and we were blown away! The room was beautiful, the best beds ever and the shower was amazing too! We were made welcome from the moment we arrived until we left. I would have loved to have stayed longer!! All of the staff were friendly,attentive and always willing to help. The food we had there was amazing and the breakfast included was tasty and filling. I cannot rate this hotel highly enough and if I ever return to Cambodia I would stay again. Thank you all for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welshcake1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I'm not sure what AugustusBrisbane was on about either.

The rooms were beautifully furnished with an amazing vibe, with all the mod cons needed. They even had a massive DVD library ranging from Documentaries to Kids shows to Sci-Fi probabaly exceeding 400 titles.

The staff were amazing, especially both owners who were both lovely along with all the young Cambodians they employ. Bori - made the BEST cocktails ever and was a lovely host.

Both their 1st tier and 2nd Tier chefs had gotten married and were on their honeymoon when we arrived and we were treated to their 3rd Tier chef...we were not disappointed, the food there rates a 5/5 from my wife and I, with a grand menu catering to local style cuisine all the wy through to an extensive western menu. Try the Cambodian Saraman Curry, it was so good!

Yes there were a few power outages but that's what happens when you are in the middle of nowhere and it was across the whole city not just the hotel, also Augustus mentioned that thy didnt have credit card facilities - nowhere does only the big banks, not a single hotel or bar in the town does because it doesn't exist yet.

I can't recommend this place highly enough, we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Not sure what AugustusBrisbane (previous contributor) is on about but EVERYTHING negative that was commented on was for our two families entirely the opposite experience. The hotel is well located with pleasant views across the river. The rooms we had (1 & 6) were spotless. The beds were perfect and the rooms well appointed, clean and quite spacious. The bathrooms were clean and well lit. No mould on walls and standard toiletries were provided. Denise who is one of the owners of the hotel is simply delightful and could not do enough to ensure our stay was comfortable and relaxing. She has a bright, bubbly and friendly demeanour and we felt at home the minute all five of us hit their doorstep.

The menu is a combination of local flavours along with generous Western style offerings. Personally you must try the Sariman curry. Seems like a combination of Indian and Khemer but the flavours and texture was stunning.

What really appealed to me was not so much the hotel and its offerings but the contribution I felt it was making to the local people. OK, the service is not really fast but for goodness sake these young people are being trained to work in this growth industry. What Ricki is doing is much, much more than meeting a tourist need. It is building a community and giving the people a future. The staff were all smiles, extremely friendly and believe it or not seemed to enjoy working there. Always happy for a chat and to help. Just be patient and reflect on the level of service you have received from those back home who received full time training at a vocational college.

As for power blackouts. We have been staying at the Raffles in Phnom Penh for 3 nights and we have already had three blackouts. For goodness sake this is a country that is growing. Have more power problems back in Australia anyway. As for the louts, other than a table of Australian nurses volunteering in the town and several families with toddlers we found the bar and meals area very family friendly.

My only criticism is that we did not stay longer to relax and fully appreciate the region. Would we go back? In the blink of an eye.

Dom & Denise keep up the good work. We will certainly be telling our friends to stay and have reinforced this with our guide for future tour parties to consider. THANK YOU

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MelbourneSeeTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampot hotels
0.3 mi away
Mea Culpa Kampot
Mea Culpa Kampot
#2 of 17 in Kampot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Columns
The Columns
#4 of 17 in Kampot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kool Kampot
Kool Kampot
#3 of 17 in Kampot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bamboo Bungalow
Bamboo Bungalow
#8 of 17 in Kampot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kampot Riverside Hotel
Kampot Riverside Hotel
#6 of 17 in Kampot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.5 mi away
Two Moons
Two Moons
#7 of 17 in Kampot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rikitikitavi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rikitikitavi

Property: Rikitikitavi
Address: Riverside Road, Kampot 07000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kampot Province > Kampot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Kampot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rikitikitavi 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small scale, pleasant guesthouse with wonderfully decorated rooms in modern Asian style. Rooms have all the necessary amenities like air conditioning, hot water shower, TV and DVD player and comfortable spring mattresses. The onsite restaurant keeps getting rave reviews from customers and critics. Fully stocked bar with great selection of cocktails, wines and whiskeys. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rikitikitavi Hotel Kampot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing