We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - a lovely surprise!”
Review of Rikitikitavi

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kampot
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rikitikitavi
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Kampot
Certificate of Excellence
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent - a lovely surprise!”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I stayed here with two friends earlier this year, and right from booking was very impressed with the service. As there were three of us, the owner suggested the family room, which I kind of presumed would be a double and maybe a fold down single bed. When we arrived, we had to ask the staff to double check that they had shown us to the right room as we were sure the suite we were shown couldn't possibly be so reasonably priced! A beautifully-finished (with attention to the small details that make a difference) room with huuuuge bed, sofa area with large tv, tea and coffee making facilities, wardrobes, a separate section for two single beds and a modern, well-fitted shower room. For those rainy days in kampot, they have a huge selection of dvds to watch for free. The room had fans facing both sections, but only one air conditioner, which took a long time to ool the large space. The single bed section of the room stayed pretty warm.

The staff were great, always greeted us by name and made sure everything was as it should be. I had visited Rikitikitavi previously to enjoy a happy hour cocktail as the sun sets over the river, and this was a delight as always. The food, from what I remember, was good. Breakfast too, pretty standard breakfast fare (tea/coffee, eggs, fruit etc).

I would thoroughly recommend staying at Rikitikitavi. In a town with so many pretty basic guesthouses, this offers a little luxury for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katew912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    112
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
115
374
88
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Only stayed for one night as had to move on to Vietnam but wished we had more time. Friendly satff, large and interesting room. Superb bathroom. Big breakfast and good value. Location is perfect on the river. Ate in the restaurant in the evening and very imressed with quality of food.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We travelled a lot, stayed in hotels great and small. Simply the best you can wish for a small hotel full of atmosphere. All we read about the staff, the rooms, the food, the view from the restaurant, excursions... its all true. Don't miss the river and the pepper plantations. Not to forget the DVD collection, dozens of interesting movies and documentaries enough for weeks to stay there, were it not that Kampot city is overtly overrated in tourist guide books.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EasynJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Rikitikitavi in Kampot is one of the best hotels we have stayed in Cambodia on a 3 star journey. For the price, the rooms are great and much better than equivalent money in Phnom Penh. The hotel is right across from the river, with a restaurant upstairs with the best food in town. Our room was really clean, with a 4 post bed, decent mattress and good size TV. The bathrooms is really new and well styled, featuring wooden boards for the shower recess, with the drain hidden underneath the boards. It gives the room a very different appearance to most bathrooms. There is a table in the corner which you can easily get room service from the restaurant. Plus the staff are more than helpful, responding to booking via email very promptly and going out of their way to help when you arrive. If you need a car, bicycles, tours, whatever, its no trouble for them, and they are not looking to make commission by increasing prices like many hotels do. We hope you enjoy it, we will definately be back sometime!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie0145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Awesome place to stay. Great staff, very helpful and totally dependable. Food is fantastic too... Not an enormous menu but there's a full range of Khymer and other cuisines represented, all prepped and served expertly. Denise and all of her staff are very traveller/tourist/whatever you want to call yourself orientated and nothing is too much bother for them. They can arrange motorbike hire, get your washing done, sort out a boat trip, cycle hire, even suggest places to go for a run. Rooms are excellent, with a gret shower, air con and a fan. Beds are comfy and big with good pillows. Everything is cleaen and tidy and in good condidtion. The decorations are tasteful, calm and stylish without trying to be uber-chic or overly ethnic. Some people rave about places for fun, but this is the real deal. If you're in Kampot, stay here. Theres a very good reason they have so many excellent reviews.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nige10868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco ca usa
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I saw this hotel in LP but couldn't find it on the "big" travel sites ie. Booking.com but reviews were so good went the extra step and called hotel. That turned out to be a great choice, Wonderful hotel with awesome staff. Since this hotel is really small, only 7 rooms a swimming pool is out. Would recommend to anyone

Room Tip: no fitness centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pisco47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We spent 4 nights at this lovely small hotel in July. Booking was extremely easy via email. We had a pleasant room with a small courtyard. The bed was really comfortable and the room had everything we needed and was a good size. You can borrow DVD’s to watch as well (not that we did as we were too busy looking around Kampot). The hotel is in a great location for getting around and seeing the sights. A Tuk Tuk I always easy to find out the front.

The restaurant up stairs was just perfect with very yummy food. Happy hour was always fun as we watched the amazing sun sets. But I think the best feature was the staff. They were happy, friendly and always smiling. Nothing was too much trouble. It was a shame that Denise was away while we were there as it would have been nice to meet her but Dom greeted us and gave us lots of information about the room and hotel and made us feel welcome. A special and huge thanks to Dom for retrieving my partner’s iPad which he had left in the taxi that took us to Kep!

We will definitely return one day to explore more and to enjoy the hospitality of the Rikitikitavi

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgetteCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampot hotels
0.3 mi away
Mea Culpa Kampot
Mea Culpa Kampot
#2 of 17 in Kampot
315 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Columns
The Columns
#4 of 17 in Kampot
277 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kool Kampot
Kool Kampot
#3 of 17 in Kampot
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Two Moons
Two Moons
#8 of 17 in Kampot
297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Good Morning Kampot
Good Morning Kampot
#10 of 17 in Kampot
18 reviews
0.4 mi away
Makk Hotel
Makk Hotel
#5 of 17 in Kampot
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rikitikitavi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rikitikitavi

Property: Rikitikitavi
Address: Riverside Road, Kampot 07000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kampot Province > Kampot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Kampot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rikitikitavi 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small scale, pleasant guesthouse with wonderfully decorated rooms in modern Asian style. Rooms have all the necessary amenities like air conditioning, hot water shower, TV and DVD player and comfortable spring mattresses. The onsite restaurant keeps getting rave reviews from customers and critics. Fully stocked bar with great selection of cocktails, wines and whiskeys. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rikitikitavi Hotel Kampot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing