We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge dorm rooms”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kampot
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blissful Guesthouse
Ranked #69 of 92 Kampot B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Considering the $2 I paid (with free beer for the first night), I would rate this as excellent. The dorm beds were a lot better than $7 dorm beds I have paid elsewhere. It's not even bunk beds, but individual beds that are bigger than most dorm beds in other countries (although I think this is the same in most of Cambodia). The staff are helpful. There were a lot of mosquitoes in the garden area but this applies to most of Kampot anyway, so bring a spray. The lot itself is spacious and the location is an easy bike ride to everywhere.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 85 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Paid $5 for a double room with a fan and private bathroom (very cheap). Room was a decent size, bathroom was full of mozzies when we arrived but after a good spray we didn't have any issues. The nets over the beds could be replaced but did the job. We found the prices at the restaurant were a bit expensive considering how cheap the rooms were but the beer was cheap and the first one was on the house. All in all its an ok place to stay if you're going shoestring but for a few extra dollars you could do a lot nicer.
The staff are approachable and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katetaiaroa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

For 2$, you get a bed (no light/outlet) in a big room. The whole hostel feels like it's still under construction and isn't paved or anything, which is uncomfortable when it's rainy and muddy.
No hot water but that's true for most of Cambodia.
Staff was friendly and they do bus services all over at a decent price.
Location is ok, a few minutes from the water front.
The Magic Sponge next door had a better restaurant, bar and rooms (hot water and everything!), but at triple the price (still really cheap).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michal s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I was recommended Blissful from the Rough Guide of SE Asia. The location is perfect, it's far enough away from all the noise but within walking distance of the river front and other bars. The gardens at the location are very relaxing with lots of hammocks. When we arrived we were greeted by a very friendly female staff member who gave us advice on where the best places to go were and also an amusing local guide book with a map of the town. Rooms are basic but well worth the money. The quiz night is a must as well if you are staying there at the time. I would definitely recommend Blissful to any backpacker on a budget.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The main building where most guests were staying looked rugged and nice however, if you're staying in the $2 dorm room you do get what you paid for. Beds consist of very thin mattress on a wood base that feel like you are just sleeping on the wood. The pillows are surprisingly big and fluffy though. Above my bed was a massive damp spot in the roof that looked like it was about to cave in. Unfortunately the mould growing in the damp made to whole room smell of mould spores. Mosquito nets were good and also the fans. Toilets were usually flooded and weren't very clean. Location is relatively close to the action but out of ears reach from noise pollution so I guess it was "blissful" in that sense.

Room Tip: $2 dorms are basic, you get what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. Rooms are as basic as can be. Toilets could not be any less convenient.
While having a cold shower is to be expected at these prices as well as having a toilet-bathroom with no separation, there's not even a proper flush system, which means there's constantly standing water in the toilets resulting in the all familiar accompanying smell of such scenarios. To top that, the toilets are not even connected to the room area, so you have to go outside and if it's raining it might not be so pleasant making an effort to dry yourself after the shower only to be reacquainted with the water on the way to your room.

Another issue is the staff and the common area. The later being an empty space with 2 pillows and an atmosphere of a cemetery while the former is simply unwelcoming. It's not that they create an unpleasant feeling, but more so that their reaction to any requests by guests (at least to this one) is as if it's not worth the effort. I felt as if I had to beg for them to turn on the fans in the bar (the only place where you can get internet other than the common room-cemetery). While all the fans seemed to be working properly in the previous evening when I asked for them in the following morning apparently there was only one still functioning. They made me a huge favor (sarcastically obviously) by turning it on, and when it broke, I mean literally shattered into pieces with most of them flying in my direction, they smiled, not sympathetically but rather in spite, as if to make fun of me.

In short this place could use some renovation as well as some staff orientation. The source for fault is most likely rooted in the owner that probably doesn't care that much about how his place is run. Until such reforms are carried, I would not stay here not recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Ahh, can I first say we loved this place, both Blissful guesthouse and Kampot. Blissful Guesthouse itself is located a few streets back from the main river road. I would say possibly around a 20minue walk from the main river bridge. This turned out to be a little bit of a challenge when we arrived here with backpacks, but afterwards getting about was easy due to the cheap bike hire service facing the guesthouse. Our double room in Blissful was nothing more than 4 tall white stoned walls. Very basic and hate to say it but slightly ‘cell’ like. Nevertheless we had no reason whatsoever to stay inside. Kampot is lovely to explore and the guesthouse also had a lovely bar and cafe area and pretty grounds with various hammocks and seating areas where we could relax. The shared toilets and combined showers left a lot to be desired but given the price I guess it was relative. When we arrived, the woman at the bar was very friendly and we were given a drink voucher and a guidebook (leaflet) to Kampot which proved to be amusingly helpful. During our stay at Blissful, the guesthouse held a quiz night that was attended well by many expats and travellers from other guesthouses. Despite the questions being difficult, it was a lovely night where we socialised with others and the night continued on after the quiz and the closing of the bar to an Irish bar on the river front. Overall the guesthouse proved to be relaxing, sociable and staff were friendly and helpful. They also arranged our bus from Kampot to Phnom Penh. P.s make sure you try the best ribs in SE Asia, ask anyone & they will point you in the right direction. You will not be let down.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0veablePresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampot hotels
10.1 mi away
Nataya Roundhouse Coral Bay Resort
0.4 mi away
Mea Culpa Kampot
Mea Culpa Kampot
#2 of 17 in Kampot
330 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kool Kampot
Kool Kampot
#3 of 17 in Kampot
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kampot Riverside Hotel
Kampot Riverside Hotel
#7 of 17 in Kampot
194 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Vedici
Villa Vedici
#11 of 92 in Kampot
367 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Columns
The Columns
#4 of 17 in Kampot
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blissful Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blissful Guesthouse

Address: Near Saltworker's Circle | Kampong Kandal, Kampot 07000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kampot Province > Kampot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Kampot
Price Range: $4 - $8 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuesday:Quiz night 8pm Wed+sat: poker 8pm Thurs:killer pool 8pm Sunday:BBQ 4pm ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blissful Guesthouse Hotel Kampot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing