We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Charm of Champa...”
Review of Champa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Champa Lodge
Ranked #9 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Kampot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I was blessed to spend 7 nights at Champa Lodge with Stephane, his wife Yan and family. I was absolutely sublime. I stayed in the Sugar Palm House and the view of the rice paddies is one I still reflect on. The deck is just lovely to sit and chill and watch the canvas in front paint itself. The storm clouds moving across, the turkeys and chickens busy picking away in the fields, the sugar juice man climbing the tree; there is so much life yet simplicity in its finest form. This is rural Cambodia and REAL Cambodia...

The food prepared at Champa Lodge is fresh and gastronomically delightful. Yan's spaghetti Bolognese rivals any Italian...The menu features variety and reflects international flavours, with the Khmer chicken curry, Cha Kdau w/ beef and the Belgium Beer stew being my highlights. There are lovely wines to choice from and a unique selection of Belgium beers. The fresh lime juices are divine.

Poised between the rice paddies and the river, the location is spectacular. Kayaking on the Kampot river and around the loop was for me, therapy...on leaving, I felt like I was leaving home and family. Champa Lodge is just charming :)

Room Tip: The Sugar Palm House has a lovely view of the rice paddies
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Genine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for Champa Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 154 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

Champa Lodge is easily one of the most memorable places I've stayed in Asia. Stephane and his wife are absolutely fantastic hosts (his wife is a wonderful cook as well), the views from the lodges are incredible, and there are many, many places around the area to explore either by kayak, on foot, or by tuk tuk.

Champa Lodge feels like it's right in the middle of the Cambodian countryside: traditional Khmer fishing boats pass by on the river a couple times a day; cows, chickens and turkeys can be seen and heard in all directions; a lively local neighbourhood is just about 5 minutes away on foot. But although it does not feel like it, Kampot town is just a 15 minute drive away. We went into town just one night, and I felt so glad that we were staying outside of town instead of inside the city itself: although it might seem like the town would be livelier, the best night we had during our stay was at the Lodge itself, enjoying a Khmer-style barbeque.

Besides the views, the hosts, and the general atmosphere of this place, the housing itself was great as well. The houses themselves are authentic Khmer stilted houses, and come equipped with a great shower with good water pressure, a very nice mattress, a mosquito net and a fan. There is no A/C in the houses because they really don't need one. The nights here are cool, and the fan was more than adequate for us. Surprisingly, although the Lodge has plenty of animals, they do not wake you up in the morning – neither does the sunlight, unless you want it to. The lodges stay cool and dark until you turn on the lights.

Given the open style of the lodges themselves, there are a few bugs that make it around and occasionally inside the living space. But for me, the Lodges were a place to get back into nature, not avoid it, and although I am a person who does not particularly like bugs, I did not find them troublesome at all here. They pretty much mind their own business if you mind yours.

You have a perfect view of the sunset every night from the Lodge's dock, the kayaks are great fun... I just can't say enough great things about this place. I am so appreciative of Stephane and his wife for making my family's stay in Cambodia so special.

Room Tip: The Boat Lodge features a wonderful view of the sunset over the river. The Palm Lodge faces beautifu...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had a family reunion in Kampot and found the Champa Lodge a picture perfect retreat. A few Belgium beers, a paddle on the Kayaks with the kids on the Kampot River, a spectacular sunset over the mountains all washed down with a seafood BBQ. We loved the turkeys and the free range chickens too. Highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Lyndon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I love it, everything about it. it is a beautiful peaceful place. the views, especially the sunsets, are amazing. you can enjoy during dinner, while swimming, every moment of the day.
also the location is great because you live between the locals who are also very friendly.
but the greatest thing about the lodge are the hosts, Yan, Steph and Yan s mother . they are very friendly and helpful. they cook the best food and they know everything about the kampot and everything around it.

I m traveling for a while now and this you must see!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Willem H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The attention to detail of the place by Stephan, the owner, is amazing. Everything is very well thought out and the place is in an amazing location on a bend in the river. Food is great, excellent Belgian beers and great hospitality. I'll be back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScoobusB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

An amazing place to relax in awesome traditional but fully modern Khmer houses. Stephane provides a warm welcome to this amazing location with Belgium beer and traditional mango rice wine. Enjoy all that Kampot and Kep have to offer from this beautiful river location.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grimlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We spent two nights at Champa Lodge, staying in the river house. Its worth going just for the moment of having a drink on the jetty as the sun sets behind bokor mountain and the fishing boats chug down the river for a night's fishing. What a beautiful spot! But there are also three lovely houses which have been done up really tastefully and are really comfortable to hang out in. And very good home cooked food. We had the best couple of days there and a big thank you to all at Champa Lodge.

Room Tip: All are nice. River house has the better views
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonsiourRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampot hotels
2.7 mi away
The Columns
The Columns
#4 of 17 in Kampot
279 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mea Culpa Kampot
Mea Culpa Kampot
#2 of 17 in Kampot
320 reviews
3.1 mi away
Kool Kampot
Kool Kampot
#3 of 17 in Kampot
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Villa Vedici
Villa Vedici
#7 of 88 in Kampot
357 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sabay Beach
Sabay Beach
#3 of 88 in Kampot
59 reviews
1.7 mi away
Samon's Village
Samon's Village
#4 of 88 in Kampot
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champa Lodge

Address: Wat Teuk Veul - Kampong Kreang, Kampot 07000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kampot Province > Kampot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Kampot
Price Range: $29 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Champa Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique and relaxed family-run resort with stylishly furnished traditional Khmer wooden houses in an exquisite setting. Relax in the luxury of your own house with its stunning veranda views across the river and the sugar palm studded rice paddies that surround Wat Tuk Veul. Or enjoy our private beach access for swimming, kayaking and traditional boat tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Champa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing