We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Up in the clouds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thansur Bokor Highland Resort
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Kampot
Paradise Point, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Up in the clouds”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had an amazing time set amongst the clouds and a drastic contrast to the city. The views constantly change as does the weather ( bring a sweater). You need to remind yourself how high up you actually are. The staff may have limited English but were very friendly and eager to please. The food is very good with a good buffet selection and extremely cheap. If the kids didnt like what was on the buffet, staff were very accommodating in making our special orders. Whilst some parts of the mountain are still under construction ( a French villa being renovated ino a boutique hotel and the residential areas being layed out that we saw) you can still appreciate the spectacular views. If you just want to relax you can do that here. You can visit the giant statue on the hill or the waterfalls. As I was there with my children we didn't go into the casino but we did check out the kids zone which was in final construction with plenty of arcade games for the kids. We drove down to Kep for a day visit which was approx an hour to the coast and a pleasant day trip from the hotel. I enjoyed a massage every day! You can enjoy a 20 minute foot massage for just $4 usd. Overall a nice trip and another interesting part of Cambodia that you may not have necessarily known about.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    28
    26
    10
    9
See reviews for
25
23
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

After about 30 KM of magnificent, newly paved, large road, we arrived on top of the mountain, on a rainy day, and on top the fog was so intense it remembered the day when I landed in Frankfurt with ZERO visibility, many years ago. We could not see our hotel !!! When we arrived at the toll booth, we asked for direction, and the employee was courteous and spoke a good English, but we got lost after the giant statue dedicated to Yey Mao, the protecting deity of the whole Coastal Area. Luckily there was plenty of rangers around, many of them English-speaking, so , in the mid of an impenetrable fog, proceeding at 20 miles/hour, after a dozen of minutes we reached the yellowish structure of the Thansur Bokor Highland resort. I soon understood why they painted the walls of the buildings with brilliant yellow and light blue colors a few years ago an Antonov crashed not far from here prior of landing in Sihanoukville. That meant the sudden end of a local airline.
Well, the hotel was under construction works, but the management gave us a room far from noise or disturbance of any kind. The staff at the reception was very polite , fast and well-trained.
The room was spacious and the temperature control worked at perfection. Yes, the bed sheets were a bit damp, but after around 5-minutes the sensation of dampness disappeared. LCD TV set, safe-in-room , a big shower and a toilette perfectly equipped with any sort of toiletries, two pairs of slippers, a coffee-tea making boiler, a fridge and a big cabinet gave the room that sort of home-away-from-home everybody is looking for when traveling.
The food was delicious: an Asian Buffet Restaurant and a Noodle Shop ( serving a la carte full western and Asian menus) , together with an Ice cream parlor in the lobby and a snack-bar on the first floor were a gourmand paradise.
Included in our deal were : one free hour at the newly built karaoke plus entertainment center, free use of sauna, gym and swimming pool...just for 55$/nite.
We enjoyed some hours at the two casinos , then the next day we went to a tour using a detailed map the reception had given to us, we visited the old casino, the remnant of some French villas, the Catholic Church, abandoned since the Khmer Rouge got hold of the whole place, we visited the tea plantation, the japanese garden, the Popokvil waterfalls, and, surprise! no papers, no plastic bottles, not plastic bags, so common view on the Sihanoukville beaches ! Km of jungle, birds, monkeys, exotic plants and trees were the most common view.
A couple of days to remember !

Room Tip: first building, absolutely, otherwise your view will be the other rooms' windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PietroH725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerd B, General Manager at Thansur Bokor Highland Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Pietro
thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed not only your stay but also the amenities, restaurants and many other attractions.

I have since used your feedback as a motivational and training tool for the entire team to demonstrate that attention to detail, focus on guest needs and a warm and friendly welcome does make a difference.

You might be interested to know that during this period we are in the process of upgrading the resort facilties and are developing many new attractions in readyness for the upcoming dry season.

This included activities on our mountain top lake, additional jungle trekking, improved signage and extended facilities at our latest nature site - 500 rice field.

We are currently also working on introducing camping facilties on some of the mountain sites.

If you are a runner, you might be interested in joining the first international Half Marathon and cycle race at Thansur Bokor in late October this year.

I encourage you to sign up to our facebook page where you will find regular updates of all our events.

Thank you again for your positive feedback and I do hope we are able to welcome you back to Thansur Bokor Highland Resort in the near future.

Kind Regards
Gerd Beurich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

We thought we would be in the national park. We were, but stucked in this crazy huge resort with 1,000 rooms and casinos lay out everywhere. Obviously the resort carter for asian. In the showroom they show the 20 year plan (and they have 18 years to build left). Right on the lobby is a children area with a mix of dance and kid's music, weird since they have a lot of spaces.

The room was very very very damp that we couldnt have a good night sleep. Tried to turn on AC all evening but the bed was still so damp. Very uncomfortable. Water was kinda yellow and definetely do not use it to brush your teeth. We felt trapped in a place like this, had nothing to do and construction everywhere surroundings.
However, plus point is the food is really yummy. Both dinner and breakfast were very satisfied and the price is decent (3$ main course).
We booked the tour walking 20$/person (4-4,5h with lunch included) to visit some places. Torguide barely spoke english, and skipped the walking so we ended up only spent 2,5 hours out instead 4 as promised.
There is no point spending the night here, if we had known better, we will stay in kampot and do the day trip to the national park only, or rent a motorbike to go cause the road uphere is well paved and nice views at some parts.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kampot hotels

2 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This resort is built to cater to Asian holiday seekers and as a past reviewer mentioned there are differences. We were going to go for 2 nights but a family member mentioned that there was nothing to do once your there. She was right. The kids room and spa were still under construction. The casino was open and in the early evening the lobby was packed with families everywhere. Considering you are on a beautiful mountain top with some killer views, it's disappointing that this resort doesn't take advantage of that. The room windows all face each other, the architecture is horrible and after 11pm thing get uncomfortably quiet. It took a walk outside and the fog was like soup and there was not a soul around. Pretty creepy so I went back to the room and tried to forget images of "The Shining". There was some crazy rain earlier in the evening that closed the outside bar and even had the power go off in the entire place for a few seconds.
On the plus side, the lobby bar has great coffee, pastries and cakes. The buffet breakfast was very good and the staff are attentive and well trained. There is free wifi in the lobby.

I've been to Bokor a few times over the last decade so I was interested to see where things have developed. I admit I miss the days where it was mostly a few locals who dared the 2 hour treacherous road up and the free reign one could have once you made it to the top. It really was one of the most unique places I've ever spent time at. So if you are nearby do go and see it before the place is paved over. The plans for Bokor are massive and I question if its even feasible to develop. But it seems the developers are moving forward as work has begun on a huge convention centre down the road from the hotel. The hotel is busy enough it seems and the locals who stayed there seemed to enjoy themselves.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We live in town, so get plenty of visitors, and going up to Bokor is still a must do, just to marvel at the grand plans they have, and moreso just to escape the heat.

This trip we were pleasently suprised after finding decent curry chicken/beef pies at the cafe in the lobby ($2.50) with spot on pastry - haven't had a pie in this country that nailed the pastry aspect. Filling was reminiscent of Singapore/Malay curry puffs (which I love).

Also a new kids club has opened up with a decent indoor playground which isn't too bad for those with kiddies ($1) There's even a few arcade machines up there. Ask for the Kids Club as it's a seperate building out the back/right of the main casino eyesore.

The lunch Buffet is better but now $10 a popup (that was on a Sunday though) - a tour guide (not ours) gave us $8 vouchers.

We just went for a day visit, we didn't stay overnight.

If you have kids and they are driving you crazy - bring them up there, eat a pie, while they wear themselves out.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deejman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

After a 45 minute scenic drive up to the plateau of Bokor, you arrive to find a terribly ugly, windowless monster of hotel sitting in the middle of nowhere. Rooms are without balconies, facing each other, not much privacy. A separate building called spa features a small indoor pool, massage parlours (no windows, again), beauty salon - yet, everything is quiet liveless. Staff in public cafe/bar area try to speak a bit of English and be helpful, yet are not overly motivated. All in all, this hotel is solely aimed at Asian gamblers, nothing there to please Western taste. And if you want to get an idea of what the developers of Bokor Mountain have in mind, stop at the first building on top on the right hand side after checkpoint, you will find an enormous model depicting development plans which will make you gasp for breath!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HamburgSusanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We paid to go in to what we thought was a National Park and discovered quickly that the only area you can access is one big resort complex, so therefore there is very little to do. No nature trecking, and in general the area is an environmental disaster due to the massive commercialisation. It might be cool and a relief to get away from the heat, but the resort itself is really only a casino, no other resort features. No swimming pool and not sure if the fitness centre exists. The poker machines have had the collect buttons disabled, so if you want to collect your winnings you need to get an assistant and they will round down to the nearest dollar. I spent about 20 minutes discussing this issue with the supervisor / manager, but to no avail. I would not recommend this place for gambling, and there is little other reason to come here. Hotel room was clean and comfortable, I don't think the air conditioning worked, but it was cool anyway.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vin_Dowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampot hotels
0.0 mi away
Kool Kampot
Kool Kampot
#3 of 17 in Kampot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Columns
The Columns
#4 of 17 in Kampot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bamboo Bungalow
Bamboo Bungalow
#9 of 17 in Kampot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kampot Riverside Hotel
Kampot Riverside Hotel
#6 of 17 in Kampot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mea Culpa Kampot
Mea Culpa Kampot
#2 of 17 in Kampot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bokor Mountain Lodge
Bokor Mountain Lodge
#12 of 17 in Kampot
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thansur Bokor Highland Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thansur Bokor Highland Resort

Property: Thansur Bokor Highland Resort
Address: Bokor Mountain, Kampot 855, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kampot Province > Kampot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Kampot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thansur Bokor Highland Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 564
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thansur Bokor Highland Resort is situated on the top of the Bokor Mountain, 1,075 metres above sea level, offers cool climate whole year round. Amid pristine jungle wilderness and pleasant cool weather, the resort provides 564 rooms and suites decorated in contemporary Khmer style and equipped with modern facilities. All guestrooms are comfortable served with world-class standard service. Each room comes complete with natural air-flow system, Internet access, cable TV, IDD line, mini bar, a kettle with complimentary tea and coffee making facilities and personal safety box.The resort offers exquisite four dining options to choose from; guests can enjoy the complete selection of buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner at the Asian Buffet Bar or popular Khmer and Chinese cuisine at 24-hour service Noodle Bar. Guests also can get pleasure from the cold cocktails, light snack and pastries at the lobby bar, Voir Lounge. Thansur Bokor Highland Resort features an up-to-date entertainment centre (casino) and extremely flexible multi-purpose convention hall, equipped with the latest audio-visual amenities which make it ideal conventions and trade shows. The resort is 45 minutes drive from Kampot Town; 90 minutes away from Sihanouk Ville and 170 minutes drive from Phnom Penh. Shuttle service between the resort and Phnom Penh city is also available at a charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Thansur Bokor Highland Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing