We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thansur Sokha Hotel - Kampot
Nearby Hotels
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Vedici(Kampot)
$24
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$10
$8
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$20
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ta Eng Guesthouse(Kampot)(Great Value!)
$5
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Magic Sponge(Kampot)(Great Value!)
$16
$10
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The River Lodge(Kampot)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bohemiaz Resort & Spa Kampot(Kampot)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveler rating
31
31
26
10
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
31
26
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscatholic churchbuffet breakfastfront office managerbokor mountainluxury resortthe general managerphnom penhthe room was nicecomfortable stayrooms are cleanvietnamesefoyer
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 107 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

We thought we would be in the national park. We were, but stucked in this crazy huge resort with 1,000 rooms and casinos lay out everywhere. Obviously the resort carter for asian. In the showroom they show the 20 year plan (and they have 18 years to build left). Right on the lobby is a children area with a mix of dance and kid's music, weird since they have a lot of spaces.

The room was very very very damp that we couldnt have a good night sleep. Tried to turn on AC all evening but the bed was still so damp. Very uncomfortable. Water was kinda yellow and definetely do not use it to brush your teeth. We felt trapped in a place like this, had nothing to do and construction everywhere surroundings.
However, plus point is the food is really yummy. Both dinner and breakfast were very satisfied and the price is decent (3$ main course).
We booked the tour walking 20$/person (4-4,5h with lunch included) to visit some places. Torguide barely spoke english, and skipped the walking so we ended up only spent 2,5 hours out instead 4 as promised.
There is no point spending the night here, if we had known better, we will stay in kampot and do the day trip to the national park only, or rent a motorbike to go cause the road uphere is well paved and nice views at some parts.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This resort is built to cater to Asian holiday seekers and as a past reviewer mentioned there are differences. We were going to go for 2 nights but a family member mentioned that there was nothing to do once your there. She was right. The kids room and spa were still under construction. The casino was open and in the early evening the lobby was packed with families everywhere. Considering you are on a beautiful mountain top with some killer views, it's disappointing that this resort doesn't take advantage of that. The room windows all face each other, the architecture is horrible and after 11pm thing get uncomfortably quiet. It took a walk outside and the fog was like soup and there was not a soul around. Pretty creepy so I went back to the room and tried to forget images of "The Shining". There was some crazy rain earlier in the evening that closed the outside bar and even had the power go off in the entire place for a few seconds.
On the plus side, the lobby bar has great coffee, pastries and cakes. The buffet breakfast was very good and the staff are attentive and well trained. There is free wifi in the lobby.

I've been to Bokor a few times over the last decade so I was interested to see where things have developed. I admit I miss the days where it was mostly a few locals who dared the 2 hour treacherous road up and the free reign one could have once you made it to the top. It really was one of the most unique places I've ever spent time at. So if you are nearby do go and see it before the place is paved over. The plans for Bokor are massive and I question if its even feasible to develop. But it seems the developers are moving forward as work has begun on a huge convention centre down the road from the hotel. The hotel is busy enough it seems and the locals who stayed there seemed to enjoy themselves.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We live in town, so get plenty of visitors, and going up to Bokor is still a must do, just to marvel at the grand plans they have, and moreso just to escape the heat.

This trip we were pleasently suprised after finding decent curry chicken/beef pies at the cafe in the lobby ($2.50) with spot on pastry - haven't had a pie in this country that nailed the pastry aspect. Filling was reminiscent of Singapore/Malay curry puffs (which I love).

Also a new kids club has opened up with a decent indoor playground which isn't too bad for those with kiddies ($1) There's even a few arcade machines up there. Ask for the Kids Club as it's a seperate building out the back/right of the main casino eyesore.

The lunch Buffet is better but now $10 a popup (that was on a Sunday though) - a tour guide (not ours) gave us $8 vouchers.

We just went for a day visit, we didn't stay overnight.

If you have kids and they are driving you crazy - bring them up there, eat a pie, while they wear themselves out.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Deejman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

After a 45 minute scenic drive up to the plateau of Bokor, you arrive to find a terribly ugly, windowless monster of hotel sitting in the middle of nowhere. Rooms are without balconies, facing each other, not much privacy. A separate building called spa features a small indoor pool, massage parlours (no windows, again), beauty salon - yet, everything is quiet liveless. Staff in public cafe/bar area try to speak a bit of English and be helpful, yet are not overly motivated. All in all, this hotel is solely aimed at Asian gamblers, nothing there to please Western taste. And if you want to get an idea of what the developers of Bokor Mountain have in mind, stop at the first building on top on the right hand side after checkpoint, you will find an enormous model depicting development plans which will make you gasp for breath!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HamburgSusanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We paid to go in to what we thought was a National Park and discovered quickly that the only area you can access is one big resort complex, so therefore there is very little to do. No nature trecking, and in general the area is an environmental disaster due to the massive commercialisation. It might be cool and a relief to get away from the heat, but the resort itself is really only a casino, no other resort features. No swimming pool and not sure if the fitness centre exists. The poker machines have had the collect buttons disabled, so if you want to collect your winnings you need to get an assistant and they will round down to the nearest dollar. I spent about 20 minutes discussing this issue with the supervisor / manager, but to no avail. I would not recommend this place for gambling, and there is little other reason to come here. Hotel room was clean and comfortable, I don't think the air conditioning worked, but it was cool anyway.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vin_Dowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews