We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top spot for coffee!”
Review of Kampoccino - CLOSED

Kampoccino
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Kampot, Cambodia
1 review
“Top spot for coffee!”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

What was suppose to be a quick breakfast turned into a delightful +3hr relaxing social.

Staff are exceptionally friendly and take pride in their menu. The maltese and biltong (dried meats) is a refreshing change from the many Khmer/pub restaurants.

Although seating is limited (15-18 max) the open gives it a very welcoming feel for coffee and bites at any time of the day.

Bonus: the flock of chirping birds nesting in the top floor of an empty building across the street gives this cafe a far away feel!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Banbury
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely time”
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We wanted chocolate brownie and we got delicious chocolate brownie, the menu looks great and we liked the atmosphere, the owner and his daughter were great hosts too
Thank you and maybe see you next year

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BanburyDiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHS009, Owner at Kampoccino, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Excuse me it was Double chocolate brownie ;) - But jokes aside - our brownies seem to be very popular as they are really packed full of chocolate and delicious as you so kindly mention.

Now we have the chilled cheese cakes as well which are going down a treat, so something to look forward to upon your return!

Many grateful thanks for the generous review, it is customers like yourselves that make us keep baking and serving the delights we do. Travel safe and see you next trip round.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Well priced, tasty breakfast”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Popular with tour groups (or so it appeared for there were two groups present whilst we were there) it offers a decent breakfast at a reasonable price.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MsSunday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHS009, Owner at Kampoccino, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Every customer is special at Kampoccino and we do not actually get tour groups as we prefer to focus our service, time and attention on our customers. The day you came I think we happened to have a couple of groups of families visiting one of which is a regular group down from Phnom Penh... Our menu has recently changed and been updated with more sandwich bar items and baked goods and pastries now which customers are enjoying.

Thank you very much for your positive feedback and for taking time out to write us a review, which greatly helps us. Your custom is valued.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Come to relax. Remember you're on vacation.”
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were warned not to visit Kampot. We were told it was boring and there wasn't much to do. Sounded perfect.

We're so glad that we made to trip to Kampot. It's beautiful! More importantly it's clean and relaxed.

We read somewhere that Kampoccino had some of the best coffee in town so we wanted to check it out.

Once we arrived we were met by an affable Zimbabwean. This gentleman happened to be the owner. Honestly, you could not meet a nicer fellow. He told us all about Kampot, what was going on, where to visit, he was a one man welcoming crew.

He also took great pride in his shop and what he was turning out. The day we arrived he was training a new employee. She anxiously took our order and brought us exactly what we ordered - two delicious coffees.

One final note, I am glad we were encouraged to order a sea salt and chocolate muffin. So good.

Lovely staff, great owner, stop by if your in Kampot and relax.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHS009, Owner at Kampoccino, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for the thumbs UP on Kampot as a great destination - which we agree with - and this brilliant review of your time and experience with Kampoccino! We're so happy you enjoyed your visit and that you didn't leave disappointed :) Hope we can treat and spoil you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“No more of Same Same with Kampoccino - outside the norm”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

when walking up the street from the riverside the first thing that was different was the look and feel of the place. Tidy, fresh and the design has been thought out rather than as too often in Cambodia slapped together.

We were surprised to be offered an unusual range of freshly baked cakes, muffins and more - not your normal cakes. NO. We tried the German cake named 'cold dog' which was delicious and my wife had the double chocolate brownie with chocolate sauce, to die for she said. Other guests there at the time said they come for the coffee - I think they were expats, because it was full of real flavour without the cocoa powder taste of many local coffees.

I had the Foot long baguette with mixed salad and my choice of filling but it was simply too much. The combination was refreshing and a great easy to enjoy lunch on a hot day. Worth the walk up the street for I say.

I don't drink coffee so had the fresh orange juice with my baguette which was the best I have had in SEA. My wife had a latte and she said it was real strong fresh coffee and was extremely happy with it.

Kampoccino is not like the rest of the cafes we have visited and is certainly well worth popping in to enjoy their coffee or fresh bakery goodies - they have an interesting menu although time did not permit us to try anything else, it was certainly appealing and different.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TaCAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHS009, Owner at Kampoccino, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for these encouraging words!!! We are always working on being that little bit different and we are delighted you enjoyed the Kampoccino experience! Wishing you and your family a great time in Cambodia! Thank You again for taking time to write us a review. Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kampoccino also viewed

Kampot, Kampot Province
Kampot, Kampot Province
 
Kampot, Kampot Province
Kampot, Kampot Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing