We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So much fun”
Review of Naga House, Kampot

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Naga House, Kampot
Ranked #18 of 83 Kampot B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So much fun”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Naga house is tight! The boys on staff are friendly, easy going and super generous with the mekong whisky. I met so many interesting people who either stayed in the bunkies or came to Naga parties, sometimes their's a theme or live band. Make sure you catch a sunrise while you stay (haul it out of bed or hold out and stay up all night) and their is Chloe the sweetest most gentle old dog who loves all day. Definatly worth your while, book ahead of time, get out on the river in a tube with a beer, kayak about, flip from the dock or jump off the old train bridge, up to you, so much fun

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    30
    6
    4
    16
See reviews for
2
35
57
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I loved this place. I have to disagree wholeheartedly with the reviewer(s) who complained about the music or anything else for that matter. It's funny because I remember having a conversation with a fellow traveller on the first night at Naga specifically about how much better the music was than any other hostel we'd been to in our combined 12 months or so of travel in SEA. It was laid back, funky, internationally palatable music, perfect for conversing with new friends by the river. I know music is a matter of personal preference, but I had to get that off my chest. Either way, the music is not "blaring" or in any way offensive. I mean, just meet the owner/partners and you'll know they're not into that sort of thing. Maybe something weird was going on when that traveller was there, I don't know, but don't let that dissuade you from this place.

I echo the sentiments of other reviewers, it's a place you feel at home very quickly. An easy place to relax and a difficult place to leave. I was there for Halloween, and Johnny, Jit, and everyone staying there really pulled together to throw a great halloween party complete with a costume contest and some spontaneous open-jam live music.

Couple of pieces of advice:
They'll encourage you to run a tab... consider closing it or at least tallying it at the end of each day. It's easy to lose track of how much you're spending. They have beer on draught. You know what I'm talking about.
Swim in the river, it's awesome and clean.
Eat the chicken burrito, it's delicious and filling.
Rent a motorbike and ride up Bokor Mountain... just gorgeous.
Most of all, just prepare to relax and make new friends. This was one of my favorite places I stayed in all of SEA.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

this place was a great rest stop for 4 nights and was very relaxing through the day.
We had a motor bike whilst we were here and just headed in & out of town we pleased to eat & drink abit cheaper. The staff were really great and had plenty of helpful ideas.

I would recommend booking in advance as we saw a lot of people being turned away as there was no room left. Also get a bungalow as opposed to the dorm as the dorm is right ontop of the bar and can sometimes get abit loud

Room Tip: book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noelofvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
141 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

The reviewers who gave bad reviews and complained about the loud music did not do their homework. This place is unique. The music goes late into the night, but as we went to bed at midnight, it did not really keep us awake beyond that.

Here, you really feel part of a group of friends. The place is quite new and the owners, Delly and Jono love chatting about how they made the place and talk about ideas they have to improve it. The gardens are new and looking good already.

If you want quiet relaxing 'me' time, look elsewhere. If you want to have fun and meet and talk to interesting people, give it a go.
The pool (river) is open 7/11 and 365 days and is just a short plunge off the plank at the end of the deck. The river is clean and refreshing.

Good luck for the future guys, hope the place does well.

Cheers

Richard and Lowanna

Room Tip: Bungalow 1 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Galvo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Well out of all the reviews here I can't believe that no one has written about the one obvious blaring problem with Naga, loud music around the clock, and not very good music at that. Who wants to goto Kampot relax on the river and listen to loud music all day and most the night\morning? Not me... The guy who owns this place needs to re-evaluate and take his guests,the setting and neighbours sanity into account, awful. If it wasn't for the music I think it would have been nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Perthteamtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kampot
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Naga House- a diamond in the rough...

This place has the feel of your front room, the nicest staff and beautiful location do make it hard to leave. After staying by the river for a whole week I have made many friends and splashed around in the river. The bungalows are clean and have some of the best mosquito nets i have come across in south east asia and there is absolutely no problem with security, everyone is family here.

The owners have built this place from top to bottom and it truly is a great achievement. thanks for having me guys :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vikki_leese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The worst place in 5 months travelling in Asia. The beds are damp smelly and horrible. We've stayed in numerous jungle shacks and the beds were fine, these were gross. There is stagnent water everywhere in non functioning water features and so there are millions of Mosquitos. I don't get bitten normally but even with 90% deet I got mauled. There are huge Spiders, probably fat from eating Mosquitos. They blast music until 4 am at night club sound levels, sleep is impossible. Idiot drunk people try and get in your room and shout because they're so wasted. There are no locks in the rooms, sone rooms dont even have doors- like seriously. They attract the Wrong type of travellers, the ones that go from tourist town to tourist town getting drunk with a bunch of white people whist congratulating themselves about how theyre seeing the world. Clueless staff moved us from a door-less tree house room to another room for some made up reason, this new room was even closer to the truly awful blaring music. The toilets / showers have big vents where people can see in. If you can't get a room in Bodhi which is the good place next door stay on the other side of the river, this place is truly awful. I can't work out why other people have given excellent reviews as it has so many faults...,. suspicious!
I've never complained before about a hostel but this has to be said.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wanderingsouls1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampot hotels
1.6 mi away
Kool Kampot
Kool Kampot
#3 of 17 in Kampot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bamboo Bungalow
Bamboo Bungalow
#10 of 17 in Kampot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.2 mi away
Samon's Village
Samon's Village
#3 of 83 in Kampot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ramo Resort
Ramo Resort
#13 of 83 in Kampot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ganesha Kampot Eco Guesthouse and More
1.2 mi away
Kampot Cabana
Kampot Cabana
#10 of 83 in Kampot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naga House, Kampot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naga House, Kampot

Property: Naga House, Kampot
Address: Teuk Chou Rd | Kampot, Kampot 07000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kampot Province > Kampot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Kampot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly riverside bar, guesthouse and restaurant. With great music, drinks, food and views. Hosting live music events with a warm and welcoming atmosphere. We have dorm beds, tree top and garden bungalows surrounded by native flowers and fruit trees in a natural, jungle setting. We can arrange tours and boat trips to the surrounding lakes, rivers, beaches, mountains and kampot pepper farms. Come to Naga House and take it easy by the river.Happy hour from 4-7pm 75c draft and cheap cocktails!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Naga House, Kampot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing