We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a Look” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phnom Chhngok Cave Temple

Phnom Chhngok Cave Temple
Book In Advance
More Info
$179.00*
and up
4-Day Kep and Kampot Tour by Motorbike
Ranked #5 of 41 things to do in Kampot
Attraction details
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Well worth a Look”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

We did the day tuktuk tour from Rikitikitavi like many others. The countryside on the way to the caves is simply gorgeous. Lush green rice fields, friendly locals and an opportunity to see suburban countryside life. The caves are a small climb and done in conjunction with the salt fields, pepper plantation and the town of Kep make for a great day out.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kerryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    104
    48
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
516 reviews
180 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“Walk through the village as well”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

We were a small group of 8 adults and started our visit by walking about 3 miles through the village to get to the caves. It was very interesting be able to see village life, most people were happy to try and communicate with us especially the children. Access to the cave is a little longer as a bridge has collapsed and if wet wear walking boots as it can be muddy. The cave is worth seeing, take a torch so that you can see the stalagnites that have formed in the temple.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Warks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
170 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very interesting & a worthy day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We booked a tour from kampot, first visiting the salt fields and pepper plantations, and then on to to caves. The caves are in a beautiful location surrounded by rice fields and beautiful countryside. We climbed to the top with our guide and it's possible to be guided back to the bottom by either going down through the caves, or taking the stairs. Our guide was willing to guide us down through the caves and I was initially keen to go that way but then thought better of it, as with no helmet, rope or protection it simply didn't seem worth the risk! The stairs seem like a much more sensible and safer option. Nevertheless, the views are stunning and the area is well worth a visit. Our guide informed us that it's only been possible to visit this area since 2000, as the land mines in the area were only cleared then.

Helpful?
Thank Pete F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Out in the middle of no-where”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Well hidden in the middle of the country-side, down dusty lanes, through fields and a walk over a single pole bridge to get to these caves. We were surrounded by the local children offering advice and hoping for a tip. A steep climb and a steep decent in the cave, which is fairly small. It was obviously used for religious purposes, but you will need a torch to see any detail. I probably would not bother, but the setting was pleasant and the kids were a delight and polite.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank FWWing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Scary experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Rented scooters from our hotel and got lost but eventually found the right way with the help of a local kid who turned into a guide for $1.

Be warned it's a very muddy path to access the caves in wet season so wear sturdy shoes/boots!

The cave itself is very nice and it was good to see the Pre-Ankgorian "temple" within and the various formations in the shapes of animals.

You can return to the cave entrance by the steps from which you came in or you can take an alternative way out. Our young guide took us through one of these other exits and I strongly recommend you use the steps unless you value your life! I had two near death experiences, by the time I realised this was too dangerous it was too late to climb back out, all the while our guide hopped bare foot from one rock face to the next!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kiwi_dude_39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phnom Chhngok Cave Temple also viewed

Kampot, Kampot Province
 
Kampot, Kampot Province
Kampot, Kampot Province
 

Been to Phnom Chhngok Cave Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing