We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel on riverside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kampot Riverside Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Kampot
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel on riverside”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Really lovely hotel. Quiet and convenient. My room was large, light and airy. Bar lovely at breakfast.

They recommend Buffalo tours - who I used after some rummaging about for 3 days - I can recommend them. I don't recommend the bokor tour - not the tour guides fault at all he did a good job but the area had change since the Lonely Planet had been written in 2012 - it is not a beautiful green national park with trees and a small red brick ruined casino to visit. It is a sprawling grassy hill (1000m up from sea level) with new casinos and hotels popping up all over it and the casino is cast in concrete - no doubt for H&S but it isn't a sensitive protection.

I'd recommend asking Buffalo to take you to a pepper and salt farm and drop you at the Kep national park for a walk - it's steep but lovely and your surrounded by trees the entire time. Butteflies, birds and monkeys - (not every step but they were lovely to see!)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank averagej0anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    68
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
22
74
41
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Have just spent 7 nights at this great hotel. Directly across the road from the river it is in a great spot and close to restaurants and bars. The rooms are spotlessly clean and a good size with everything you could want, even a iron and iron board!. Breakfast is great, plunger coffee and a delicious cooked eggs, bacon, tomato and warm crispy baguette not to mention the fresh fruit salad. Can't recommend this place highly enough and will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidaymadAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Recently refurbished the Riverside is a lovely hotel next to the river and old French bridge in Kampot. Rooms are large and airy and host Ray is helpful and always on site. We were on the top (third) floor with partial river view. Shared veranda space on each floor fronts the river for sunset views and the bar on the street front is also a great location for an adult beverage and the huge breakfast included in the price. Tip - if you're heading to Phnom Penh from here, don't fly. The nearest airport to Kampot is over an hour away by cab for $30 and then you have to hang around and pay for the flight. Ray can get you a taxi for $40 and its just over two hours to Phnom Penh by car.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angetom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Very nice and clean Hotel. The view is nice over the river. Staff are friendly with good English skills. Highly recommended for all type of travelers. Good breakfast and also cheap $3. Great location with only 15 minutes walk to the main market

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Creek, Colorado
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This was a great, clean place right on the river in Kampot. Rooms were spacious and comfortable. The restaurant downstairs was really good and a great place to have some beers looking out on the river. Ray, the owner, and his staff were really chill, friendly, and helpful. In looking back, the biggest downside I can remember is the towels felt like sandpaper...

Overall, just a pleasant, relaxing place to enjoy Kampot. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Request high floor and on the river. Views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcaffrey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KRH_32, Owner at Kampot Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
We have instructed our laundry people to try a different kind of fabric conditioner.
Thank you for drawing our attention to this issue!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We only stayed 1 night but would definitely return. Large room, very clean & great views over the river. We had read comments about the noise from the karaoke over the river but we were lucky & it was a quiet night.
Ray was very helpful & assisted us with booking a car to take us to the Thai border. Would return.

Room Tip: pay extra to have a river view - lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Di-Syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

This hotel would have to be the cleanest we have stayed in. Wonderful large rooms. Try to get one with balcony facing the river. The staff were very helpful. The owner Ray, is always around making sure things run smoothly. Top hotel, can recommend.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampot hotels
0.7 mi away
Kool Kampot
Kool Kampot
#3 of 17 in Kampot
112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mea Culpa Kampot
Mea Culpa Kampot
#2 of 17 in Kampot
308 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Columns
The Columns
#4 of 17 in Kampot
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Good Morning Kampot
Good Morning Kampot
#10 of 17 in Kampot
13 reviews
0.8 mi away
Two Moons
Two Moons
#7 of 17 in Kampot
290 reviews
0.7 mi away
Makk Hotel
Makk Hotel
#5 of 17 in Kampot
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kampot Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kampot Riverside Hotel

Property: Kampot Riverside Hotel
Address: 32 Riverside Road, Kampot 07000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kampot Province > Kampot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Kampot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kampot Riverside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eighteen new, clean and well equipped rooms to make you feel right at home. Idyllically located on the elegant Kampot Riverfront Boulevard. We strive to provide our guests with a service second to none so as to make your stay as memorable as possible. Swiss/Australian owned and managed with a team of attentive and hospitable Khmer staff always at your service. Nearby attractions and towns include Bokor Mountain, Sihanoukville, Kep and Rabbit Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kampot Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing