We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't give them your passport!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of NYNY Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
NYNY Guesthouse
Ranked #25 of 79 Kampot B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't give them your passport!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

This guesthouse is very clean, nice, and we get a double room with hot water, tv, fan, towels, water, soap, etc for 6$.

The stuff is nice as long as you don't expect anything else from them than a good morning in the morning, and a good night later.

We rented a motorbike through the guesthouse. They ask you to keep your passport until you returned it (that's common in asia).

The thing is that when we rented it, we wanted to check any existing damage on the bike, but they just say: no, no, no, don't worry, no, no, no. And they didn't let us do this checking with them.

So when we return the motorbike, the real owner (first surprise: it didn't belong to the guesthouse), saying that we broke the fender. It was, actually, broken, but for sure we didn't do it. Maybe someone passing by when we were parked? We don't know. But the thing is that we complained to the recepction, 'cause they didn't agree to list the existing damages, so, how could we know that it was not broken when we take it? We asked them to give us back our passport, as we didn't do anything, and they didn't do things propertly when we rented it.

So... second surprise!: they couldn't give us our passport, 'cause they give it to the motorbike owner!

So when you rent your motorbike in there, and you trust them to keep your passport, they just give it to a complete stranger!

Of course, the nice owner asked us to pay 16$ to replace the piece. He even offered us a discount if we changed it at his garage (thanks). He said it was the best price you can get.

We finally agree to change the piece ourselves. We went to the oficial suzuki garage, and being tourist it costed, in total, 5'5$ (so probably for a cambodian is like 3$ or less... it's a piece of plastic).

And while all this was happening, the guesthouse stuff was just agreeing with the owner, saying "I don't know", and shrugging.

So if you are not in a hurry, just walk around the city, and rent your motorbike at some other place.

By the way, this nice owner has a shop with a big yellow 1 (Maybe called top one? I don't remember). All the motorbikes has a stiker on the fender with the yellow one. Just in case you want to avoid some problems ;)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    54
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
7
55
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blenhein
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

NyNy was a great place to stay for our six nights in Kampot. The room was spacious and very clean. Staff was friendly. Because of our longer stay the price per night was reduced, unbelievably inexpensive! A very short walk to the city center and water front area.. Would definitely stay here again.

It is a 50 meter walk from the bus station.

It is across the street from that flea pit, popular with young fools, the MAGIC SPONGE.

Book directly by e-mailing nynyhotel@yahoo.com.

Room Tip: Go for room 16, 26, 36
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartGreif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

NyNy was a great place to stay for our four nights in Kampot. The room was spacious and very clean. Staff was friendly. Because of our longer stay the price per night was reduced, unbelievably inexpensive! A very short bike ride to the city center and water front area. Nice restaurant right next door. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had front side room and it was very bright and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenSarah123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week. When we 1st arrived we thought the staff rude but as we got to know them I think this was their normal attitude so I didn't take it personally. Our 1st room smelt of gas when we turned the A/C on, when we informed them they said they couldn't smell anything and this was normal... We don't like to cause a fuss, our attitude is usually stay the 1 night and leave early the next morning but at smelling gas we drew the like and insisted they move us. They seemed a little put out by this but eventually agreed. Our second room smelled of cigarettes but we didn't bother to say anything... The A/C was working! And the smell of cigerettes went wen the linen was changed the next day. The room was spacious and clean. Beds comfortable. Shower/bathroom very good, if one criticism could do with more lighting. At only $13 a night we couldn't complain. We had a very pleasent stay and the staff were lovely. We'd also like to say a big Thankyou to the staff who, when we had an accident on a mo-ped, were very helpful and kind and looked after us. They were very matter of fact and calm. Offered thier main shower to clean the dirt off for hospital and had a tuk tuk waiting to take us to hospital and wait to bring us safely back, they told us not to worry about the mo-ped until we had sorted ourselves out then after they helped us with the mo-ped and damage etc. Overall I'd say this is the best value hotel I've stayed at and would definitly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beela123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were walking to another guesthouse when we passed this and decided to check the price. the price was so good we stayed here. The room was huge and very clean. It seemed like a new hotel because everything seemed new. There was a lot of stairs to get to our room but we didn't mind. Bathroom was huge and we were each provided with a bath towel and hand towel. We didn't expect that for the price. It was a little stroll down to the river where there are restaurants and bars. We also hired a scooter here and got advice on where to go from a lovely lady at reception. Would stay here again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
197 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We made the mistake of booking into NyNy online before we got to Kampot to be sure we had somewhere to stay...you really don't need to do this...especially in lower season.
NyNy is on 'guesthouse street' where 5-6 really great guesthouses are location so you can just stroll between them and see what takes your fancy.
NyNy is the most uninspiring of the whole street - it is clean with good sized rooms but it lacks any personality or character plus the staff are pretty curt and bordering on rude.
We on,y stayed one night then moved over the road to Magic Sponge which is a touch cheaper but has bags more going for it - large rooms, great people, good food and fantastic staff!
My recommendation would be to only stay at NyNy if you want a bland 'holiday inn' type hotel - if you want something more stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
544 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

I spent one night here because the more characterful Magic Sponge across the street was full. My $6 fan room was reasonably spacious and very clean. The double bed was comfortable. Wifi did not work in my room, although they did have a single computer downstairs for the use of guests. In style this is more of a hotel than a guesthouse.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BallardBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampot hotels
0.0 mi away
Kool Kampot
Kool Kampot
#3 of 17 in Kampot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kampot Riverside Hotel
Kampot Riverside Hotel
#6 of 17 in Kampot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sebana Guesthouse
Sebana Guesthouse
#9 of 79 in Kampot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ganesha Kampot Eco Guesthouse and More
0.0 mi away
Kampot Manor
Kampot Manor
#2 of 79 in Kampot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Vedici
Villa Vedici
#7 of 79 in Kampot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NYNY Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NYNY Guesthouse

Property: NYNY Guesthouse
Address: 1 Oussphea Village | Kampong Kondal Commune, Kampot 07000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kampot Province > Kampot
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Kampot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — NYNY Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your NYNY Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing