We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place from which to explore Kampot”

Hour Kheang Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hour Kheang Guest House
Ranked #59 of 85 Kampot B&B and Inns
Hove
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great place from which to explore Kampot”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Hour Kheang Guest House is in a great location, near the river close to the old bridge. It is run by a lovely family, Thear and his family were very kind and helpful, going the extra distance to make our stay comfortable and arranging excursions for us. It's altogether a great budget option as a base for exploring Kampot.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilburygang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    35
    13
    8
    9
See reviews for
5
35
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

One or the cheaper AC options in kampot and smack in the middle. Good beds, sheets, towels etc. Flat screen tv and fan in the twin AC room we had. Nice and clean too.

Wifinin the room, nice seating area upstairs to read. staff hired us a motorbike for $5 and gave us instructions to get to Boker hill on our own.

Booked our bus to sihanoukville for $5 so not taking any extra commission compared to booking at the bus station.

Easy 5 min walk from the bus station too.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johncampbell1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
100 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Clean, great location, nice staff. The rooms tend to be windowless boxes but for the price I don't think you could really do any better in Kampot. Would stay here again.

Very close to the Rusty Keyhole too, so convenient to go and eat your body weight in ribs.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank zipfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambodia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Have stayed at Hour Kheang a couple times now and will continue to stay here during my monthly trip to Kampot for work. It is centrally located, very close to the riverside. It's very new (as of Feb 2012) and the rooms are clean and much better construction that other similiarly priced Khmer guesthouses. Each room has a small flat screen tv, the bathrooms are tidy with hot shower, the air con is new and works well and there is free, decent wifi. The rooms are basic, but again, must better quality than your typical Khmer run guesthouse.

The owners are very friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank li0ntamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

This guest house is in a good location near the river. It seems to have a fairly classy off-license attached to it (sells wine).

Some of the staff don't speak English, but there is always someone there that does. The staff are great.

They hire bikes and have free wi-fi, which works in the rooms. They also sell Kampot Pepper.

The stairs up to the rooms are fairly steep. There is a nice outdoors lounge/patio area on the 2nd floor.

I got a room that was a great price with fan (not AC). The room was great and was clean, but had no window. Good bathroom and furnished well. Great value.

I came back later and realised that I needed AC. The heat was unbearable. I asked for the remote control for the air con and paid an extra $6 per night for that. The room was still great value.

The air con worked well and I had a good night's sleep.

The place had a nIce bar that appeared to do good coffee.

I have no photos but you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jheastville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

I was taken to this place by a tuk tuk driver and remained slightly skeptical to his recommendations after my recent experiences with trusting tuk tuk drivers... ;) but after I saw the room and talked to the staff, I decided to stay and it was certainly a good choice :)
The guesthouse is a new, really nice, neat and peaceful place, my room and bathroom were PERFECTLY clean (probably the cleanest I have seen in Asia in a room under $15 ;), everything was working as it should, and the price was very reasonable. The owners and staff were very nice, hospitable and helpful, so I can strongly recommend this place to everyone :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kattepus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

I stayed at this friendly family-owned guesthouse just a month after it opened (January 2012), and it had the cleanest rooms I saw in all of Cambodia.

Pro:
Great location, half-block from the riverfront.
Clean rooms and bathrooms.
Free wifi.

Con:
Not all rooms have windows (but the AC units work well).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ga8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampot hotels
0.0 mi away
Nataya Roundhouse Coral Bay Resort
0.0 mi away
Mea Culpa Kampot
Mea Culpa Kampot
#2 of 17 in Kampot
308 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kool Kampot
Kool Kampot
#3 of 17 in Kampot
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Two Moons
Two Moons
#7 of 17 in Kampot
290 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Columns
The Columns
#4 of 17 in Kampot
273 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Vedici
Villa Vedici
#5 of 85 in Kampot
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hour Kheang Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hour Kheang Guest House

Property: Hour Kheang Guest House
Address: Old Market Street just off Riverside Road, Kampot 07000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kampot Province > Kampot
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Kampot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hour Kheang Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Hour Kheang Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing