We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere”
Review of Samon's Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Samon's Village
Ranked #4 of 86 Kampot B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

When we arrived in Kampot having read some amazing reviews about Samon Village we were expecting something special, and thats exactly what we got. This is a tranquil, peaceful setting next to the riverbank, with an amazing set up of buildings that included our $8 a night bungalow. The food is beyond exceptional, it was actually some of the best food we tasted in the whole of Cambodia, and you eat in the relaxing setting of the restaurant. I cannot recommend this place any more, spend some time here and you will leave a person more at peace with themselves. We had booked one night but ended up staying for a week. Also the owners are just fantastic, but then pretty much everyone we met in Cambodia was fantastic.

The only negative was that our bed was a mattress on the top floor of the bungalow, which was made from bamboo and a bit uneven, so after a few nights our backs were a little sore. Other than that we absolutely loved it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuffyoureyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    98
    24
    11
    4
See reviews for
27
112
59
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had a reservation just down the river which was not honoured so we finally made our way to Samons where although he was very busy made room for us. What good fortune. It turns out the place we had a reservation for was a party hang. Samon's was what we had been looking for. A place to chill, read, share stories and best of all we met Samon a truly wonderful character. Great food, great culture and our best stay in Cambodia. Just kept on staying. As did many others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nibor2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Despite they missed our booking I would recommend the place. We had to leave our room and ended up spending the 1st night in a tiny dorm. However the owner didn't make us pay and offered meals and drinks on the 1st day. Mistakes happen, and despite we were pretty annoyed, he managed well.
I recommend you take one of the bungalows with private bathroom. They have an outdoor shower which is fabulous! Bungalows are rustic but very nice. The location along the river is just super chilled.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelMicPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Moved here on New Years eve from another guesthouse and was disappointed not to have been here all along! The raised bungalow was really lovely and good value at only $8. Yes it's basic but what makes this place is the lovely atmosphere and helpful, friendly staff. The owner was only too happy to recommend places for me to visit in the next town I was visiting and even offered to email me some contacts. Having eaten at most of the guesthouses along the river I can also confirm that the food at Samon is by far the best!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lottewLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed at Samon's village last year and had such a fantastic time I decided to come back for more. It is a super relaxed place with kayaks for rent, good internet, and amazing food. There is always an option to jump into the river if it's getting too hot! The staff is very friendly and the bungalows are very comfortable. If you are looking for a chilled out place with a cottage feel, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Very nice place near the river and the staff is very very friendly.
The negative thing is the price, if you go there take the bungalow without bathroom, the price is just 6S. There was not enough place so we took a delux bungalow for 15S and I think is too expensive for the value, there was a hole in the roof and one night we wake up at midnight because of the rain and the room was not very clean.
The restaurant is very good and not too expensive unlike the drinks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

The bungalows at Samon's Village are very clean and private. They are made of wood with thatched roofs and have hammocks on the porches. The coconut shower was really unique and the beds were comfy and bug proof with a good fitting mosquito net. The restaurant that is on the river has great food and reasonable prices. We rented bikes from the resort for a nominal fee and enjoyed a nice ride on the road to the right of the resort. Not the Ritz and rather funky, we thoroughly enjoyed our two nights there. For the price you can't beat it. It's in a quiet area about 2 km from city center.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uper2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampot hotels
1.6 mi away
Mea Culpa Kampot
Mea Culpa Kampot
#2 of 17 in Kampot
315 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kool Kampot
Kool Kampot
#3 of 17 in Kampot
118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bamboo Bungalow
Bamboo Bungalow
#9 of 17 in Kampot
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kampot Cabana
Kampot Cabana
#9 of 86 in Kampot
60 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Vedici
Villa Vedici
#7 of 86 in Kampot
353 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ganesha Kampot Eco Guesthouse and More
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samon's Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samon's Village

Property: Samon's Village
Address: Touk Chou Rd, Kampot 07000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kampot Province > Kampot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Kampot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at Samon's Village we strive to give you a truly authentic Khmer experience. Our aim is first and foremost to promote and share Khmer culture. Our relaxing atmosphere will help you find the space to unwind and really feel the pulse of Khmer life. Our village has been built and designed to recreate the feeling of a Khmer village from the past. Each of our bungalows is unique and built entirely from locally sourced materials using traditional techniques. Our kitchen uses only local sourced produce and organic free-range meats to prepare delicious typical Khmer home food. We have regular music and dance events to share our artistic traditions with you. You will have the opportunity to experience our tours or activities and have an authentic insight of Khmer daily life. In doing this we hope to reinforce our cultural identity while giving you an opportunity to experience Khmer life first hand. You won't find a better place to experience the joyous and peaceful philosophy of the small towns and villages that define this country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Samon's Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing