We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location and bungalows”
Review of Samon's Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Samon's Village
Ranked #4 of 88 Kampot B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Despite they missed our booking I would recommend the place. We had to leave our room and ended up spending the 1st night in a tiny dorm. However the owner didn't make us pay and offered meals and drinks on the 1st day. Mistakes happen, and despite we were pretty annoyed, he managed well.
I recommend you take one of the bungalows with private bathroom. They have an outdoor shower which is fabulous! Bungalows are rustic but very nice. The location along the river is just super chilled.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelMicPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
There are newer reviews for Samon's Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 299 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

Moved here on New Years eve from another guesthouse and was disappointed not to have been here all along! The raised bungalow was really lovely and good value at only $8. Yes it's basic but what makes this place is the lovely atmosphere and helpful, friendly staff. The owner was only too happy to recommend places for me to visit in the next town I was visiting and even offered to email me some contacts. Having eaten at most of the guesthouses along the river I can also confirm that the food at Samon is by far the best!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lottewLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed at Samon's village last year and had such a fantastic time I decided to come back for more. It is a super relaxed place with kayaks for rent, good internet, and amazing food. There is always an option to jump into the river if it's getting too hot! The staff is very friendly and the bungalows are very comfortable. If you are looking for a chilled out place with a cottage feel, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Very nice place near the river and the staff is very very friendly.
The negative thing is the price, if you go there take the bungalow without bathroom, the price is just 6S. There was not enough place so we took a delux bungalow for 15S and I think is too expensive for the value, there was a hole in the roof and one night we wake up at midnight because of the rain and the room was not very clean.
The restaurant is very good and not too expensive unlike the drinks.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

The bungalows at Samon's Village are very clean and private. They are made of wood with thatched roofs and have hammocks on the porches. The coconut shower was really unique and the beds were comfy and bug proof with a good fitting mosquito net. The restaurant that is on the river has great food and reasonable prices. We rented bikes from the resort for a nominal fee and enjoyed a nice ride on the road to the right of the resort. Not the Ritz and rather funky, we thoroughly enjoyed our two nights there. For the price you can't beat it. It's in a quiet area about 2 km from city center.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Uper2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We headed to Samon's Village as Olly's place was full. We were glad of this fate. We were met at a clean, Khymer owned bungalow village. With a wide variety of bungalow choices (more than their internet page advertises) a set of dorms, shared bathroom double, ensuite double on the ground of stilts etc. We spent a couple of nights in a shared bathroom double bungalow. The bungalow was a good size however thre are only two shared bathrooms which when originally buit was fine, but now with dorm rooms and people using the bar/ restaurant you may find yourself waiting for the toilet whilst someone showers! for an extra $2 we upgraded to a ensuite ground bungalow. Much more comfortable and alot bigger than the shared bathroom bungalow.

The restaurant produces excellent food, I highly recommend the spring rolls! note like with the whole of Kampot food appears to be cooked by one chef in the order it was placed. Don't order hungry, there were the odd times food was forgotten or mis-ordered. Again this was rife in the whole of Kampot. If Samon can speed up food orders and get it right 100% of the time this would put it above the rest of all other restaurants in the area, easily!

The bungalows are very peaceful with the exception that music at night from other hotels (a different one each night) travels well, so your bliss bungalow experience may be marred with the sound of bass till midnight, if this will bug you bring some ear plugs to keep the dream!

Overall a very nice set of bungalows, with a chilled mature minded clientel, located on the river with the option to swim straight off the restaurant/ cafe, good wi-fi, coils provided at night (in restaurant) to stop you being bitten, mosquito nets on bed, 20 min walk into town or tuk tuk, no comission added to book transport out of Kampot, laundry service provided. Reccomended we came to stay 2 nights but ended staying a week to leaving refreshed after 3 months on the road.

Room Tip: Shared bathroom bungalows are good value but you may end up waiting for only one of two loos/ bathro...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

we didnt stay but our friends did & they loved the place. We did however eat there & also enjoy a Traditional Khmer Celebration & buffet there for the Chinese NY! WOW. The food was amazing, the band amazing & the whole night was just fantastic!

We ate there a few times & everything was really good. It was my favourite spot to sit & relax in Kampot. We stayed a few bungalows away at Naga House so we'd walk there to eat.

I highly recommend this place for the restaurant!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisachematravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampot hotels
1.6 mi away
Mea Culpa Kampot
Mea Culpa Kampot
#2 of 17 in Kampot
320 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kool Kampot
Kool Kampot
#3 of 17 in Kampot
122 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sabay Beach
Sabay Beach
#3 of 88 in Kampot
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kampot Cabana
Kampot Cabana
#9 of 88 in Kampot
60 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Vedici
Villa Vedici
#6 of 88 in Kampot
356 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ganesha Kampot Eco Guesthouse and More
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samon's Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samon's Village

Address: Touk Chou Rd, Kampot 07000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kampot Province > Kampot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Kampot
Price Range: $10 - $22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at Samon's Village we strive to give you a truly authentic Khmer experience. Our aim is first and foremost to promote and share Khmer culture. Our relaxing atmosphere will help you find the space to unwind and really feel the pulse of Khmer life. Our village has been built and designed to recreate the feeling of a Khmer village from the past. Each of our bungalows is unique and built entirely from locally sourced materials using traditional techniques. Our kitchen uses only local sourced produce and organic free-range meats to prepare delicious typical Khmer home food. We have regular music and dance events to share our artistic traditions with you. You will have the opportunity to experience our tours or activities and have an authentic insight of Khmer daily life. In doing this we hope to reinforce our cultural identity while giving you an opportunity to experience Khmer life first hand. You won't find a better place to experience the joyous and peaceful philosophy of the small towns and villages that define this country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Samon's Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing