We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax!”
Review of Samon's Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Samon's Village
Ranked #4 of 90 Kampot B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The best:
*Khmer food
*Beautiful bungalows
*Great porch where to relax, read, listen to Khmer music...
*Staff
*Great place to sleep
*Near a beautiful little village
*Close and far from Kampot at the same time :-)

The worst:
*Food and drinks are too expensive
*They didn't tell us they had dorms available when we got there, they would only show us the most expensive rooms and only after we asked many times they told us about cheaper rooms.
*Do not buy tickets there, the guy was trying to sell us a ticket to Phom Phenn for $20 when the real cost is $8!
*The bike that we rented for $5 was dangerous to drive, better to get them in town in a place where you can choose and try them ahead
*When we were there 2 people got things stolen from them
*Dirty public toilet (they didn't empty the bin for 3 days, it never had toilet paper...)
*Bring a flash light if you go to the town and return walking :-)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CVidal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 304 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at Samon's Village in one of their beautiful bungalows. Staff were vey friendly and helpful, everything was very clean, and the location is gorgeous. Great value as well. Location is great as well, right on the river, perfect for a quick dip. Lovely lounge area, very peaceful. LOTS of mosquitoes at. Night though!

Room Tip: Bungalow with e suite is spacious and good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CheryPi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Being very well received by Samon , we could enjoy the peace and beauty of this great village. If you are looking for getting close to nature , learn about Cambodia`s culture , music and food this is the right place. Pretty reasonable prices also !
Thanks Samon for providing us this great weekend !

Virgilio (Brazilian)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank virgilio l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samon_Village, Gérant at Samon's Village, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thank s a lot for your comments,

We enjoy you appreciate this place and our culture. Before business, we try to share the beauty of our life style.

Keep smile and enjoy,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay at this beautiful place.. peacefull environment, great staff. They organize kmer original partys on saturday with traditional and pop music and grest food. Zeker de moeite waard! Tevens kregen we goede tips om de omgeving te verkennen.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mknapen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samon_Village, Manager at Samon's Village, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thanks a lot for the staff, he will be proud of this compliment.
And we hope all the peoples will enjoy the next concert than you...
Have luck and keep smile :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights, the bungalows are basic with a bed, fan and we had an ensuite bathroom with cold water. They are very clean and basically all you need for your stay and at only 15$ per night who can complain. There is a commual area with wifi and great food. We had breakfast, lunch and dinner here most nights and it was great. On Saturday they have Khmer family that come and play music and buffet for 7$ plus games and dancing which was great. At night everyone hung out and chilled with a few drink in the commural area and by day you can rent kayaks or swim in the river. We loved this place and can not wait to come back and stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kezzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samon_Village, Manager at Samon's Village, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thanks a lot. We will try to continue our music buffet every saturday for our and your pleasure. Come back soon, we will enjoy to meet you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

we were staying in a hotel in kampot and just went out for a walk one day and came across samons village , how lucky . we asked samon if he had any bungalows available but he said he was fully booked but if we wanted he could set up a bed for us outside in the communal area, we thought about it for a moment and said yes.
what a great decision , we had a fabulous night under the stars and waking up with the sun . the following day samon got us a bungalow so we could stay an extra couple of nights they are very basic but all you need . we spoke at length with samon who told us his plans for the place which involve very much keeping the khymer lifestyle alive . overall its a great place with superb staff great food great traditional music would definately like to go back in a couple of years and see the place the way he wants it .because i can see it evolving all the time .
well done samon .

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rtdmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samon_Village, Manager at Samon's Village, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Hi,
Thanks a lot for this description of our place. It s great.
We will continue to share our khmer style life and of course, improve this place too.

Have luck, keep smile, and see you again...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was a lovely little gem of a stopover. Following the really soul-less sejour in Sihanoukville, Kapot was a very welcome anti-dote. This charming place on the river was a perfect place to just swing in a hammock, read, eat, fall asleep etc. The communal area is a covered deck over the river. The bar and restaurant is good with lovely staff. The bungalows are excellent value. I had to share a bathroom and had no air conditioning but for $6 a night, that was not a problem! You have to be prepared for the fact that this place is rustic and is in a jungle setting so you are likely to share your bungalow with some wildlife but that's all part of the experience!
Samon, the owner, was incredibly helpful and provided lots of tips for things to do.
Oh, and the breakfasts were delicious!

Room Tip: My biggest tip would be to bring ear plugs, Dogs and cockerels wake up early! Plus, the bungalows ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samon_Village, Manager at Samon's Village, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Hi,

Thanks a lot for your comments. We are really happy of your feeling with our place and hope you will remember this experience for long. We already know we have to improve the bed of our place and it will be the next step.
We hope meet you again; but if not, have fun, keep smiling, and have fun.

Best Regard,
The Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampot hotels
1.6 mi away
Mea Culpa Kampot
Mea Culpa Kampot
#2 of 17 in Kampot
323 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kool Kampot
Kool Kampot
#3 of 17 in Kampot
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bamboo Bungalow
Bamboo Bungalow
#9 of 17 in Kampot
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Sabay Beach
Sabay Beach
#3 of 90 in Kampot
62 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Vedici
Villa Vedici
#7 of 90 in Kampot
360 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ganesha Kampot Eco Guesthouse and More
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samon's Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samon's Village

Address: Touk Chou Rd, Kampot 07000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kampot Province > Kampot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 90 B&Bs / Inns in Kampot
Price Range: $10 - $22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at Samon's Village we strive to give you a truly authentic Khmer experience. Our aim is first and foremost to promote and share Khmer culture. Our relaxing atmosphere will help you find the space to unwind and really feel the pulse of Khmer life. Our village has been built and designed to recreate the feeling of a Khmer village from the past. Each of our bungalows is unique and built entirely from locally sourced materials using traditional techniques. Our kitchen uses only local sourced produce and organic free-range meats to prepare delicious typical Khmer home food. We have regular music and dance events to share our artistic traditions with you. You will have the opportunity to experience our tours or activities and have an authentic insight of Khmer daily life. In doing this we hope to reinforce our cultural identity while giving you an opportunity to experience Khmer life first hand. You won't find a better place to experience the joyous and peaceful philosophy of the small towns and villages that define this country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Samon's Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing