We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”
Review of The Columns

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Columns
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Kampot
Certificate of Excellence
Regenbsurg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Columns on our way back to Phnom Penh Airport. The hotel is very good located in a quiet road. There is not much traffic and to take the breakfast in front of the hotel is really relaxing. Breakfast is simple but good in quality. The hotel staff is very helpful and the owner is trying her best that her guest feel happy. The rooms are nice furnished with everything, or even a bit more, you need. We had a room with a small terrace in the third floor. Nice place to sit outside in the morning or late evening. Back in Kampot we will stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enzo_fiati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    78
    17
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
133
48
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Great place to stay.... many people travel to places like Kampot thinking the $20 room is the way to go. I encourage you to pay and stay at The Columns, there will be no regret.

Kampot is good for one night if you are on a tight schedual, two nights if you need to relax - and this is why The Columns is the absolute best.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteinOfOrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambodia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Stayed for two nights as a break from Phnom Panh and liked it very much - we felt at home. Very quiet and nicely renovated, the rooms are spacious and simply decorated but nicely done. We loved the rain water shower - lots of hot water and good pressure. Breakfast was simple but adequate. Staff were very sweet, especially Thavy, the manager, who is always willing to help. Well located just back from the river. We would stay here again! Tip - try the fairly new Cafe Espresso for great coffee - which is not easy to find in small Cambodian towns.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Circa51Mger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Overnighted in Kampot on my way back from Sihanoukville. The Columns Hotel Pleasantly suprised me, spacious rooms, well appointed, and a HOT shower. Staff was warm and friendly. Best coffee i had in Cambodia. Well worth it.

Room Tip: Room number 8 rain head shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Columns hotel is a real gem in Kampot. Set just back from the riverfront, this newly refurbished hotel has lovely rooms with modern open plan bathrooms and lovely furnishings. The staff are delightful and nothing was too much trouble for them. We would warmly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEClarkson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2012

A huge, beautiful room in this restored colonial hotel was $35, which is a great price. The staff are friendly and helpful. But the included breakfast was rather paltry, the eggs and baguette and INSTANT COFFEE comparable to the lower-end bungalow spots we stayed at on some of the beaches.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TakeMeToBuenosAires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed 2 nights and it is a really nice place, nice staff, good rooms, a fine base to explore Kampot region, absolutely! They call themselves however hotel which leads to wrong expectations. The place consists of 2 shophouses, not next-door but with 2 houses in between and the only service they provide is a breakfast consisting of bread with Jam, 1 egg, coffee and juice which is not freshly squeezed. That made the rate we paid not in line with what you can get elsewhere in town. But a again, nice and brand new rooms.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiltdorfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampot hotels
0.3 mi away
Mea Culpa Kampot
Mea Culpa Kampot
#2 of 17 in Kampot
308 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kool Kampot
Kool Kampot
#3 of 17 in Kampot
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kampot Riverside Hotel
Kampot Riverside Hotel
#6 of 17 in Kampot
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Makk Hotel
Makk Hotel
#5 of 17 in Kampot
69 reviews
0.5 mi away
Two Moons
Two Moons
#7 of 17 in Kampot
290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Good Morning Kampot
Good Morning Kampot
#10 of 17 in Kampot
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Columns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Columns

Property: The Columns
Address: 37 Phoum 1 Ouksophear, Kampot, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kampot Province > Kampot
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Kampot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Columns 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Columns is located on a quiet tree-lined street in the heart of old town Kampot. Our historic French Colonial houses have been restored to their original charm but with the addition of modern functionality and comforts. The relaxing atmosphere and central location make for an ideal place to stay while exploring the town and its surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Columns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing