We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option in Kampot”
Review of La Java Bleue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Java Bleue
Ranked #12 of 87 Kampot B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good option in Kampot”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The hotel is only 5 minutes walking to the riverside. We stayed two nights this september. The room was spacious with a confortable bed, AC and two electronic "anti-mosquito" in the wall sockets. The breakfast was really good and they did it in the ktichen. We didn't eat in the resaturant. The only objection was that the room was a little dark and with few ilumination, but when you opened the windows the light came in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonimo Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    36
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
17
88
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

La Java Bleue is a lovely little boutique guesthouse just one block back from the river front. The location is important as it means the rooms are less impacted from the incessant karaoke noise that screams across the river every night. We stayed in the Chinese Room which was terrific. We didn't dine but the menu looked good & b'fast was tasty. Manageress Donna was very helpful from check-in through to departure. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jprjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Haven, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My friend and I booked this hotel for one night. We were greeted by the owner, Donna, who took care of all our wishes. She organized a tuk tuk for us the following day to take us to visit some interesting caves, enjoy the beautiful countryside and the beach town of Kep. We also ate a delicious dinner at the hotel that first night. Donna and her staff were extremely helpful and made our stay very pleasant. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patriciadlhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We reserved and got confirmed in writing the deluxe roof top room with balcony and a second deluxe double room. When we arrived we were told that the rooms would be in 2 different buildings but no mention that the balcony deluxe room had already been taken by someone else. We left for a little walk and when we came back to get to our rooms we found out that one room was a little dark room across the street and the deluxe room was a twin rather than one queen size bed.
More than disappointing especially Donna should have mentioned it when we arrived. She was not available for an apology when we checked out.
Avoid the rooms across the street unless you like being chased by roaming dogs when trying to find your room during the night.
Rooms are expensive compared to better options directly at the river front.
Breakfast was with nice personal service.

Room Tip: Avoid tiny dark rooms across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dullyjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roosdaal, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We met some a traveling couple in Battambang which recommended 'La Java Bleue' as a very good address.
We enjoyed it very much.
We felled like old friends indeed when being welcomed by Donna, Jean-Claude and the other staff.

We rented a motor bike (at the hotel) and the second day we had a flat tyre: no problem, one of the staff arrived to help us when the motor bike was being repaired.
Jean-Claude prepared delicious food every night and taking care of our personal input.
Eg I like seafood but no fish: he made a splendid dish with a lot of seafood, without fish :-).

If I have one remark: keep up this warm welcoming and FRIENDly service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KoSer1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for two nights summer 2013 and had a wonderful time. Comfortable and very nice rooms. We liked it so much in fact that we returned for another two nights on our way back from rabbit island. The food wasnt as great as the rooms but service was excellent and very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

From the moment I entered La Java Bleue, I was treated more like an old friend, than a guest! I was immediately offered fresh juice as I checked in. The service was excellent, the room was beautiful, everything was perfect. Breakfast was lovely. The fish barbeque was wonderful. It's very obvious that Donna and Jean-Claude care about their guests. I can't say enough nice things about La Java Bleue and highly recommend this hotel. Thanks Donna and Jean-Claude for making my stay in Kampot super.

Room Tip: They're all great, even the ones not attached to the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyfromKailua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampot hotels
0.0 mi away
The Columns
The Columns
#4 of 17 in Kampot
277 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mea Culpa Kampot
Mea Culpa Kampot
#2 of 17 in Kampot
316 reviews
0.5 mi away
Makk Hotel
Makk Hotel
#5 of 17 in Kampot
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kool Kampot
Kool Kampot
#3 of 17 in Kampot
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Good Morning Kampot
Good Morning Kampot
#10 of 17 in Kampot
19 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bokor Mountain Lodge
Bokor Mountain Lodge
#14 of 17 in Kampot
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Java Bleue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Java Bleue

Property: La Java Bleue
Address: 27 Road | Phoum Ouksophear, Sangkat Kampong Kandal, Kampot 07000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kampot Province > Kampot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Kampot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Java Bleue 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to La Java Bleue. This old colonial house can be yours for a night or a few days in your life. Travel back in time to a comfortable, friendly place for a unique experience. Open the door. The melody of La Java Bleue drifts your way as you're greeted with a Khmer smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your La Java Bleue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing